We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planters Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$219
$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,984)
Filter reviews
1,984 results
Traveler rating
1,555
265
110
40
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,555
265
110
40
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeninsula grillcoconut cakerelais chateauxteddy bearplantation kingsouthern charmsweet teaturn down servicefour poster bedsitting roomperfect locationsmall hotelmarket streetlovely roomcharming hotelhistoric districta wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,365 - 1,370 of 1,984 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

When we visit Charleston, this is our "go to" hotel. I love the ambience of the entire property. The fact that you can park your car and walk to everything is also a plus. The staff has always been helpful in suggesting the newest restaurants to try. My biggest complaint is that on several occasions when driving back from Florida or Georgia, we can not get a room for just one night. I understand their reasoning for this but it sure prevents an opportunity for us to stay in our favorite
Charleston property.

Room Tip: First floor, street side is not the best location. Noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCCLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear SCCLane,
We appreciate your continued patronage and loyalty to your favorite hotel on your travels north and south each season. Thank you for taking a moment to share your views on your “GO TO” hotel and spread the word regarding our “helpful” staff and our central location. As you mention, our busier seasons do allow for minimum stay restrictions that typically surround a special event or peak demand periods in Charleston based upon the increasing popularity our #1 city. Do not hesitate to call me directly should you travel plans include such a date and I’d be happy to review our availability.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Bradely Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Inn is located in the heart of the tourist district in Charleston, right across the street from the market and within walking distance of King St, the waterfront and all of the carriage/walking tour offices. Many of the city's famous restaurants such as HUSK, Hank's Seafood and Magnolia are within the radius of a few blocks or less.

Service is quite good, matches the price tag.

Complimentary coffee, tea and the occassional apple is available in the parlour room by the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the market might be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningwiththepugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear runningwiththepugs,
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for your recent posting. Planters Inn offers guests the best location in Charleston to enjoy the area’s finest shops, attractions, and dining. Our service is the one of the reasons our guests continue return year after year; to experience the warm genuine hospitality our staff provides each and every guest.
Until next time…
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is exactly what I was looking for in a Charleston hotel. It is quaint, beatifully decorated and you instantly feel like you have been transported back in time. There is a communal room which is very inviting where they put out coffee, tea and snacks each day.

The location is perfect. All the major sights (rainbow row, king street, city market) are easily walkable and there are many great restaurants nearby.

The staff is very helpful and were able to offer advice both in advance of our arrival and during our stay.

If I find myself in Charleston again, I will definetly stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDFNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear JDF Newyork,
We appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking a moment to share your views following your recent visit. Thank you for pointing a few of our favorite attributes such as our superior location in the heart of Charleston’s historic district as well as our charming lobby and parlor that welcomes guests into our circa 1844 Inn. We look forward to assisting you on many future trips to Charleston and the Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Planters Inn is located on the corner of N. Market and Meeting St and it makes most every location downtown walkable. We found the location very safe any time of day or evening. All of the historic downtown sites are walkable and so are a wide variety of restaurants. I don't think you can find a better location. The service is here is incredible! From the guys who help you with your luggage like Josh to the people behind the desk-everyone will help you. A special note about Kara. She works behind the front desk and was able to get us a private tour guide to see the sites we wanted to see. She said she'd take care of it and she did! The rooms are good size and so is the bathroom. Usually in properties that are in older buildings the bathroom is on the small size but these are good size. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: King Deluxe are great rooms and lower in price
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear SPDV,
On behalf of the entire team, Josh and Kara especially, we offer a sincere Thank you for your kind words and wonderful summation following your recent visit to the Planters Inn. “Perfect Combo of Location and Service” could very well be our calling card and something we are very proud to hear. Historic attractions and the City Market are steps from our front door. Your keen observations and comments regarding our spacious guest rooms and bathrooms are much appreciated. The charm and character of our circa 1844 property can be felt throughout the Planters Inn while our guest rooms offer vast array of configurations and options that are sure to accommodate most any preference. We are thrilled to represent the finest collection of small luxury properties of the world as a member of the esteemed Relais & Chateaux and are pleased to read you “would stay here again in a heartbeat’. Terrific news and tell us when you are ready to return!!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It was a perfect choice: everything was just right--no more, no less. The location put everything in walking distance, the room was great, the price was not cheap but justified by the quality. I rate it tops in every category but most of all the brightness and likability of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughJardon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear HughJardon2014,
Living up to expectations is a noteworthy accomplishment in any business; and in ours, we are very pleased to read your recent visit to the Planters Inn was “Exactly what you hoped for.” Thank you for taking a moment to share your experiences and views. Our superb location, spacious and luxurious rooms and service are second to none in the city. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Charleston and visit to our property. Please call on us when your travels find you returning and we will be happy to assist you in planning the next trip to Planters; as we are a short direct flight from NYC.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews