We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Planters Inn. The room was spacious and comfortable. There were two comfortable chairs for reading (and napping). All of the staff was very personable , helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Just ask Carolyn - her recommendation was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Josh D,
Allowing the staff to help guide you in selecting the perfect room of your choosing is the essence of the personal attention our staff offers during the reservation process. We are pleased you found the professionalism and attentiveness of our staff simply continued once you arrived at the hotel. Tastefully elegant guests rooms and comfortable accommodations are the hallmark of Planters Inn and we are grateful for your recent comment s and hope to see you again soon for a return visit!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
224
1,061
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A fine quality hotel in every aspect. The rooms are large, light and perfectly appointed and comfortable in every aspect, spotlessly clean without any odor of chemicals, fine linens and soft bath towels. The guest services are professional and personable. The hotel restaurant is one of the top in the country. Stay here! It's a jewel.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandhome3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Mary H,
Your comments are very complimentary across the board from our superior location, lovely guest rooms, to our attentive staff, and the award winning Peninsula Grill. We take great pride in providing warm and thoughtful guest service while welcoming guests into the charm and character of our circa 1844 Relais & Chateaux property. We are pleased you were able to experience firsthand what many repeat guests have come to look forward to on each and every visit. From all of us, we are ready to assist you in planning your return visit to Planters Inn!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fearrington Village
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of Planter's Inn due primarily to inn's location and the comfort of our room. Although our room was located on the ground floor (facing Meeting Street) it was very quiet. The lounge was always stocked and ice and vending machines were readily (but discretely) available. The only issue was the timing of our wake up calls. They always came at 8:30AM, no matter what time we requested.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilAxlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Gil Axlander,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and selecting the Planters Inn for your recent visit to Charleston. We appreciate your comments and especially enjoy hearing your view point regarding your “…ground floor room (facing Meeting Street) it was very quiet”. This comment reinforces our efforts to sound proof our guest rooms and we are pleased to read you enjoyed a restful stay in what are some of our largest and most beautiful rooms. We researched your wake up difficulties and offer a humble apology for the call coming prior to your requested time.
On behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Charleston.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and stayed at the Planters Inn for 2 nights. The first night wer were in room 107, which faces the street. At 5 am a service truck parked directly outside the window and for one hour unloaded supplies and created load noise. We were kept awake for over an hour. The front desk did not seem surprised, as this seems to be an issue with this room The staff was very kind and apologetic and ultimately switched our room to the second floor or the second night of our stay. However, the hotel should warn guests of this issue if they rent this room or should offer this room at a deeply discounted rate. The property is great and the front desk staff extremely accommodating. Nonetheless, the primary function of hotel is for sleep and this was a problem.

Room Tip: stay away from room 107 which faces the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highendfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear highendfun,

We have reached out to the city regarding the abnormally early noise derived from your recent restless morning. As you mentioned, we were happy to promptly address your concerns and find an alternate room for your second evening. In our urban setting, in the heart of Charleston’s historic district, we benefit from the best location to experience all the city has to offer. We take our location in consideration and take great strides to soundproof our guest rooms in order to provide our guests with the a comfortable, calm and peaceful setting.

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased to hear you appreciated our efforts to make you more comfortable.

Kind regards,

Nick Saltmarsh
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had room 305 a corner room, very spacious & quiet..well kept property. Little things like beverages & goodies in the lounge, loved the cheese crackers! minor housekeeping issues..nothing to spoil our stay. VERY VERY helpful staff...front desk & bell staff..
We opted for the dinner package/breakfast package...don't bother...we had 4 breakfasts there and were very disappointed with the poor quality of the food, eggs benedict were tasteless, basic scrambled eggs were watery...shrimp & grits awful...the dinner experience was excellent..our waiter Patrick was the best, food delicious...what a contrast to morning service. We would return but perhaps go out for breakfast....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Napafoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Napafoodlover,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your accommodations, our superb location, and the charm of our property. Thank you for acknowledging our bell and guest services staff; as their warm smiles and knowledge make the Charleston experience at the Planters Inn most enjoyable.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at the Peninsula Grill and your server Patrick. We appreciate your comments and look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Nick Saltmarsh
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Planters Inn is one of two five- star hotels in Charleston that satisfies the lodger who likes things on a smaller, more intimate scale. We spent two nights at each and I will review the Charleston Place Hotel in a separate review.

The Planter's Inn has everything you could ask for:
Attentive service
Spacious rooms with every amenity (except a refrigerator)
Wonderful bath products
Top of the line restaurant (The Peninsula Grill)
Perfect location across from the market and at the center of everything

This hotel is part of the distinguished European Relais Chateau chain and does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Market Street to avoid any street noise. An inside room is best as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suddrethks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Suddrethks,
As you mention, we are proud to provide our guests with “…everything you could ask for” as a member of the esteemed collection of Relais & Chateaux properties. Our award winning Peninsula Grill, offers the ultimate in service and superior regional lowcountry cuisine in one of Charleston’s most coveted dining rooms. Our high service standards, warmth, and professionalism from the staff continues throughout the hotel from the valet, guest services and room attendants. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and appreciate your time and comments. Please join us on your next visit to Charleston and allow us the opportunity to serve you again.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel which captures the essence of old southern charm, warmth and friendly service. Spacious rooms and baths, beautiful appointments and a comfortable bed. This was our first visit to Charleston. Next time we visit, we will definitely return to the Planters Inn.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Gary P,
Your time and patronage is appreciated and we humbly accept your compliments. Our team offers the personalized and professional service which is found at the world’s best hotels; however it is our “southern charm”, warmth and sincerity which allow us to stand above the rest in Charleston. We thank you again for joining us and sincerely look forward to assisting you again on many return visits to the Planters Inn!
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing