We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Gracious”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We really enjoyed Planters Inn. It is a great Inn right in the center of downtown across from the Marketplace. The staff is very gracious and work very hard at pleasing their guests. We would highly recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Andy R,
Short, simple, and very succinct. Thank you on behalf to the entire staff of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill for taking a moment to post your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of Charleston and welcome the opportunity to assist you on your return travels.
Best Wishes, Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,355 - 1,361 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel in the middle of all things tourist in Charleston. We sincerely enjoyed the location as we were no more than a dozen blocks from anything in Charleston. Our concierge, 'Tristan' gave really great recommendations and the rest of the staff was very friendly. I found the night manager to be a little pretentious but, I also recognize I don't have to like everyone's style.

My only complaint about the experience is that Deluxe King rooms are not part of the historic hotel and were built about 15 years ago. Although totally secure, you don't actually ever go into the charming main building, where the delicious coffee, snacks, said friendly staff, and historical building are. The so-called terrace balcony overlooking the courtyard feels a little on the motel side of things and I was a little disappointed to be thinking I'm staying in a historic building to be led into another more modern facility.

With that said, the rooms are fairly large, the bathrooms are built for one and half people (single sink in same room as toilet but there's a large jetted bathtub), which I found a little bit of a bummer. However, the service has some really nice touches. The teddy bear on the bed is surprisingly charming and was the highlight of our room (although you don't get to keep him!) The turn down service was amazing as they left home-made deserts from the 4-star restaurant on our pillow every night. Yes, this was a very nice hotel, perhaps a great hotel, had I felt like I was part of the charm and not just occupying the overflow room...

Room Tip: Try to avoid the terrace over looking the courtyard rooms. They are detached from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevelefeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Stevelefeev,
Thank you for selecting the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill to share your honeymoon in Charleston. We are pleased you enjoyed our property and the services provided by our housekeeping, turndown, and concierge (Tristan) staff during your recent celebratory weekend. We appreciate your comments and would like to point out our piazza rooms do offer some of the quietest locations on property and are quite popular with those who wish to relax and enjoy the fresh air. The architectural style is reminiscent of the classic Charleston single house; designed to catch the afternoon breeze over looking our beautiful garden courtyard. We would be more than happy to assist you with suggesting and offering you one of the many other room options we provide on your next trip or anniversary visit to Charleston. With seven various types of guest rooms, we are sure to find one that offers the historic character and charm you were seeking.
Until then, Best Wishes from the entire team and Charles T. Bear!

Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

my wife and i recently stayed here as part of 5 day group bike trip. very upscale place. room immaculate with all the usual, including a very comfy bed. great breakfast (x2). free wifi, worked well. the highlight was the dinner we had in the dining room our last night...absolutely fantastic.
would highly recommend, and would stay here again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: make sure to eat dinner here at least one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Joe 94553,
We appreciate your comments and the acknowledgement of our team following your recent Backroads trip to Charleston. Fall in Charleston is the perfect season for outdoor activities and the biking and kayaking in the area is yet another way to enjoy the low country with the prime temperatures of the autumn. We are pleased you enjoyed your “comfy bed and great breakfast” and a memorable dinner at Peninsula Grill is always a great finish to any visit to Planters Inn.
Thank you for joining us and please call on us for your return trips to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed this beautiful inn right in the heart of downtown Charleston. Located right off the corner of Market and Meeting the location couldn't have been better. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly from the valet to the people you would pass in the hall. It makes a difference. There is a living room area in the front furnished with antiques and has a buffet that is laid out with coffee and tea service. We stayed in the Governor's Suite and it was really wonderful. There was a large sitting area with fireplace, sofa and chairs decorated with mixed period pieces. Romantic and cozy. The separate bedroom with king bed was pretty, well furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom was updated with marble and pedestal sink and of a good size. All in all the room was beautiful. We dined in the Peninsula Grill and it was a fabulous experience. The room is elegant and sexy with brown velvet walls and period portraits. Service was outstanding and the food was amazing! Great evening. Hate to rave on and on, but it was all well deserved. This is a great choice for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaluca04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Jaluca04,
“It makes a difference”….is so true! The service provided by our team of dedicated professionals is courteous and helpful without pretense or intrusion and we are very pleased you found our “Romantic little Gem”! Thank you for the kind words in summary of your recent Governors Suite visit. Please, never apologize for “Raving on…” about your appreciation of the staff, our beautiful rooms, and the sublime dining experience at Peninsula Grill. We simply enjoy reading what a pleasure our guests have during their visits to this amazing City. On behalf of the whole team, we humbly thank you for your review and look forward to your return.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Planter's Inn for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we walked in, we felt very welcome. They allowed us to check in early. The valet, Josh, was very helpful. He took our bags, parked our car and told us the hotel was chilling a bottle of champagne for us and we could have it at anytime.

Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The little details meant so much - from the champagne to the bathrobes provided to the little sweets on our bed that was turned down while we were out. All of this added up to a marvelous experience.

The reason we did not give it 5 stars, was 3 out of the 4 mornings, the room service forgot something for our breakfast. They always made it right though. The continental breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sciencerules03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Scienceerules03,
Thank you for sharing your anniversary celebration with us on your recent visit to Charleston. We appreciate the city offers many options for lodging; and we are pleased you chose to stay with us during your special celebration. Our property is a common destination for anniversaries, birthdays, and honeymoon guests that enjoy our prime location and award winning restaurant. On behalf of Josh at the door and the entire staff of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we hope you join us for many future visits to Charleston. Your comments and suggestions for improvement will allow us to focus and achieve that 5 star review on your next trip!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a nice property, but I was slightly disappointed in it. Our room, a deluxe king, was very average in size and decor. I booked the room on the Internet and thought I was getting something different. I thought it opened up to a shared balcony and overlooked a courtyard but our room overlooked the street. I did ask the the front desk about it but they said that was what I booked. They showed me a different room (in the same category) but it was worst than the one I had. I also thought the bathroom was upgraded but it was not. Overall the room was not as nice as what we are used to. On a positive note, the front desk was very helpful in recommending attractions and restaurants. And, the hotel is conveniently located.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Knspr,
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear you found our service and staff attentive to your concierge related concerns and guest room inquiries. As you describe, our Deluxe King rooms offer the “shared piazza”; some of which include a courtyard location, while others offer views of the historic market with entry doors that share the piazza terrace. These rooms are popular for enjoying the mornings for breakfast and evenings for an afternoon beverage. The second floor of our piazza includes an even larger shared space that many utilize to simple read and relax. We are happy to offer seven other room categories and perhaps we can help you find a location that best suits your preference on your next visit to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Planter's Inn is located at the corner of Meeting and Market Streets, a great location. Staff is very attentive and excels in trying to please you. The furnishings and decor are definitely in the flavor of old Charleston, and are well done. In house restaurant, Peninsula Grill, is fine. We were in main building, but there is another building attached. This is a quiet, non-business place which is a great plus, compared to the larger hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear James H,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent comments as we appreciate your view point and are pleased to read you enjoyed our “boutique Inn” and “great location”. As you suggest, our 64 rooms offer a perfect respite in the heart of the historic district and a very comfortable size property that offers the warmth and charm not found in many of the areas neighboring properties. Peninsula Grill and Planters Inn offer the ultimate combination of superb dining and luxurious accommodations. Thank you for acknowledging our “attentive staff that excels in trying to please...” as this is the extra layer of service that offers that memorable experience you mention.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,027 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,155 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $313 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Travel + Leisure magazine’s #1 Best U.S. Small Hotel Award, PLANTERS INN is South Carolina’s only member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of renowned boutique hotels in the world’s most romantic destinations. This AAA Four Diamond Historic Hotel is beautiful to behold with high ceilings, silk window dressings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a four-poster bed with luxurious Italian linens in every room. Thanks to the best location in the very heart of the Historic District, guests do not need a car while at Planters Inn. Complimentary amenities include refreshments in the parlor throughout the day and evening, macarons delivered with turndown, Gilchrist & Soames spa-quality bath products, Pivotal Fitness Club access, and wifi. What’s more, a hidden garden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides an enchanting sense of arrival to Charleston's most romantic restaurant: Peninsula Grill, home of the famous 12-layer Ultimate Coconut Cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing