We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Charleston where we celebrated our 25th anniversary. I spent a bit of time researching the inns/hotels in the area and kept going back to Planters Inn. I'm happy to say that it exceeded our expectations on every level. Some other reviewers mentioned problems with noise from the street and market area, but we didn't experience that at all. We stayed in a Plantation King room overlooking the outside dining area of Peninsula Grill. The room was spacious with a seating area, absolutely spotless and quite comfortable.

This inn is just lovely; perfect location, very well-maintained, and truly felt like home to us. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. It's obvious they've been trained to provide excellent service and that providing a positive experience for their guests is top priority. Sarah at the front desk was always cheerful and helpful. She helped us secure a last minute dinner reservation at Peninsula Grill. Thanks, Sarah!

We had breakfast and dinner at Peninsula Grill. Breakfast was very good. Dinner also was very good, but I found the jus too salty for my taste. Everything else was very fresh and delicious. I'm not a fan of anything containing coconut, but I sampled my husband's coconut cake and it was as delicious as they claim.

We had one minor glitch on the morning that we were preparing to check-out. We decided to order the continental breakfast from room service before heading out to visit Drayton Hall. I don't know what caused the delay, but after waiting for over an hour, my husband had to call the front desk to inquire about our breakfast. In any event, breakfast was brought to our room shortly thereafter and with apologies. Although we were slightly annoyed by the long delay, we decided not to dwell on it and let it tarnish our wonderful stay.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Planters Inn and can't wait to visit again. We recommend it to others looking for upscale accommodations in the historic district. The location alone can't be beat. We left our vehicle with valet when we arrived and didn't need it again until the morning that we departed. We loved our visit to Charleston and staying at Planters Inn definitely made it extra special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Rita V,
On behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we are pleased to read of your recent 25th anniversary trip and the fond memories you have of our property, staff and amazing city. We appreciate your time and wonderful comments and the suggestions you offer as well. Our team strives to exceed guest expectations on a daily basis and the fact that you report a slight hiccup and still offer a superior five star review is simply another indication our staff is keen to the guest experience and we are grateful you considered the your overall experience as such a positive note. Now that you have found us and Charleston, we hope to share in your future anniversary trips on a much greater regularity and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes and Happy Anniversary once again!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    227
    94
    34
    11
See reviews for
244
1,107
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After attending our daughter's wedding in Baltimore, my husband and I drove to Charleston and stayed at The Planter's Inn. The staff, location, gorgeous rooms, outstanding cuisine (The Peninsula Grill), and location couldn't have been better. We loved our stay and hope to return someday. HG

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear HMG1952.
Upon occasion, it is rewarding to read of a reviewer that may have elected to stay at the Planters Inn by recommendation or perhaps by a chance discovery. It is our distinct pleasure to have the opportunity to shine and allow our award winning attributes to enhance that discovery process. We are pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised and are already looking forward to a return trip to Planters Inn. Our superior location, award winning dining room are paired perfectly with our comfortable guest rooms and excellent service. It is our pleasure to have helped you experience Charleston and the Planters Inn during your recent visit.
Please call us to secure that follow up visit as soon as your travel plans allow.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a recent visit to Charleston - we were delighted to experience an unsurpassed level of service at The Planters Inn. Literally unsurpassed - in that as travelers we have stayed at some of the world's most high-end hotels and resorts and found that the quality of service at The Planters was every bit as high-end as anywhere we have stayed. Personable, a high level of attention to detail, quality accommodations and a high-end restaurant - Peninsula to match. The Planters Inn is appropriately at the center of Low Country highlights from Kiawah and Seabrook Islands on the
South to Mt. Pleasant and I'On to the North. The Planter Inn is a gem.

R Robin

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear RobinReview,
We are pleased to read of your recent praise following your visit to the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. As avid travelers we appreciate your keen observations and comments regarding our “..high level of attention to detail, quality accommodations, and high end restaurant..” It is rewarding for our staff and property to be recognized for our high service standards as this is a true indication of our superior quality and a benchmark of our operation. On behalf of our entire team, we are grateful for your review and happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. Please join us again on your next trip to Charleston!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was adequate. As small as a standard hotel room. But we paid almost $300!!! It was really insane! Grateful we had a place to sleep though. The breakfast was NOT included. As we are accustomed to. The breakfast was really good but again, we had to pay about $15 or more on top of our hotel fees - I think that's expensive. Staff were cordial at best. The grounds/ interior was very beautiful. Only stay here if you truly have money to burn. It was nice to be in walking distance to everything downtown. That part was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdwardElinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear EdwardElinor,
As Charleston’s premier boutique hotel and South Carolina’s only member of the prestigious collection of Relais & Chateaux we are confident our property with its vast array of accommodations and world class dining at Peninsula Grill is a step above most of the areas options. We regret to hear you did not feel your September 2012 visit was not worth the money. The Planters Inn service team is dedicated to providing our guests with friendly, accommodating, and unobtrusive service that rivals any property. We are pleased you found our location appealing in the heart of the historic district and thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Planters Inn should be on your list of possibilities if you're looking for a luxury hotel in Charleston. A large, beautifully decorated room (ours was a King Deluxe), friendly staff with a can-do attitude and an unbeatable location in the historic district all combined to make for a very pleasant base from which to explore Charleston. The front desk was especially helpful in making our local arrangements and they provided very candid, and useful, opinions on which local establishments to avoid as tourist traps. While not in the very top tier of all luxury hotels...this is a very solid offering... and we'd happily stay again. BTW...the room rate isn't top tier either - making this a good value.

Room Tip: Room 214 is an interior King Deluxe overlooking the courtyard (but with a partial view of a roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinerfromStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear DinerfromStuart,
Visiting Charleston in the summer months can be a perfect opportunity to enjoy the history and charm of this amazing city while benefiting from a little less traffic. We are pleased you found our guest services team accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly. Our Relais & Chateaux Planters Inn is one of the best small boutique hotels in the southeast and a premier destination in the heart of Charleston’s historic district as recognized by the likes of many travelers and industry leading publications. On your next visit, please be sure to allow us to secure a dining reservation at our famed Peninsula Grill to enjoy the amazing regional cuisine of Chef Graham Daily and his team. You will not be disappointed! Until then,
Best Wishes and thank you again,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belin Center, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Planters Inn twice, once was for my daughters wedding last year when we stayed for 5 days and then this June for (3 days) our 40th anniversary and our daughters 1st. We love this Inn the rooms are very comfortable and decorated in the period of furnishings we love. The staff at the Inn are very friendly and helpful. They always do the little things that make this Inn special like remember your name when you walk in the front door and are always ready to help you with any of your needs. I would like to thank Rachel Snead for a great job setting up the wedding reception at the Peninsula grill and also for helping us setup our trip this year. I can't say enough about this young lady what an asset to the Planters Inn. My wife and I will be back again. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and I was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Dino52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear 1Dino52,
It is with great pleasure we read of another successful anniversary visit to Planters Inn for your family and this year a DUAL anniversary made the occasion that much more special. No doubt about it; our event planners in are the best in Charleston and continually go above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome and at ease during the planning of special occasions. Now that you have two anniversaries to celebrate at the Planters Inn; we definitely feel as though we have almost become a part of the family and THANK YOU for sharing your time and memories with us.
On behalf of entire staff, we look forward many Anniversary trips in the future!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've stayed at Planter's Inn for business and family trips. They always have flawless service from the front desk to the maids. Fantastic location. An outstanding restaurant on site. Try the shrimp and grits. For desert, the coconut cake is a must!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purdayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Purday Family,
A true testament to any businesses success is the loyalty of its customers. Thank you for your continued patronage of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill for both business and leisure travel. We have been known to become a home away from home for many repeat guests that have become fond of our charming circa 1844 property.
“Impeccable service, outstanding restaurant” are wonderful compliments to our dedicated team of professionals. Flawless service, as you point out, is a critical element to our success that also creates a sense of welcome and an almost infectious desire to return for yet another visit from the minute our guests leave the front door. We thank you for you kind words and especially our thoughtful posting as one of our regular guests.
Best Wishes until next time,
Bradley Dickerson,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing