We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this really the best Charleston has to offer !!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

For a city recently given the #1 US destination I simply cannot understand why there is no top class hotel here. Orient Express have Charleston Place that goes there until you enter the rooms. Across the road is the quant Planters Inn and that's about the best you can say for this southern belle... A rickety elevator takes you to your floor and while the rooms are adequately furnished when you're paying near on $1000.00 per night, admittedly for a suite, to not have a mini bar or room service is something out of the dark ages...staff try very hard to please and are willing and courteous but when a place doesn't click it just doesn't click !!

The dichotomy of this place is the presence of an extremely top class restaurant in The Grill.

An abundance of locally sourced ingredients treated with invention in the kitchen go to make up a sterling menu.

Clearly, they have hired an interior designer who would do very well to be let loose upstairs and make this place somewhere you'd like to go back to !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear RGold,
We are pleased you able to visit our #1 city and to enjoy the award winning cuisine of our famed Peninsula Grill. Our charming circa 1844 Planters Inn is a proud member of the small luxury collection of Relais & Chateaux properties of the world. Our character and southern charm are evident from the moment you enter our grand old building; you are transported into a gentile old house that is bustling with service staff that anticipate your every need. Our spacious room and suites are classic Charleston in their décor and furnished with an array of period pieces, historic reproductions, oriental rugs, and furnished with the finest interior touches that are both subtle in their rich tones and soft color palate; but also include such truly unique Charleston touches such as our sweet grass baskets found in every room.
We appreciate your suggestions and thank you for your ideas. Although we are confident we are one of Charleston’s finest small boutique hotels; we always welcome guest input and thoughts to help improve our operation.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Great central location, friend and helpful staff, fine dining in the hotel, and very comfortable room. This hotel is right next to the market area, an easy walk to fine restaurants, close to a variety of carriage tours, and convenient for upscale shopping. A good choice for a pleasant stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekkerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Trekkkerstwo,
Superior location, luxurious and comfortable accommodations, and award winning service combined with an exceptional dining room and you have the unique combination of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. Charleston is home to many fine lodging and dining establishments; but none that combine the charm and character our Relais & Chateaux Planters Inn and renowned cuisine of Peninsula Grill. We are pleased to hear you were able to experience and enjoy both on your recent trip and hope you will join again on many future visits to our city. On behalf of the entire team; we offer a sincere Thank You!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

our first time to Charleston and could not have picked a better place to stay. In walking distance for the historic parts of Charleston. Staff was friendly and helpful. The Peninsula grill meal we had was delicious. The famed Coconut cake was huge and delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Jeff2061,
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. We appreciate your time and comments and are pleased to read you were happy to have selected the Planters Inn for you first visit to our amazing city. You point out our hotel is centrally located in the historic district and within walking distance to the best of Charleston’s shopping, attractions, and dining. Peninsula Grill is culinary experience that is truly worth a return visit. Join us again for you next trip to the city and we look forward to helping you plan another “GREAT STAY”.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This experience was outstanding! The staff was so very helpful with every detail from helping plan our tours tailored to our interests, to assisting with dining suggestions, to providing directions. The Peninsula Grill experience was divine, the bar experience was great, the courtyard, turn-down service - we looked forward each evening to our treat and then picking a cocktail with it and enjoying the rooftop setting overlooking the gardens.

Room Tip: piazza area was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky_Conley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear_Conley,
Thank you for your comments appreciation our staff and our beautiful facilities. Our charming courtyard offers a welcome retreat to relax and enjoy after a day of touring the historic district and enjoying the areas attractions and shops. Your tip to suggest a courtyard piazza room simply confirms we provide such a distinct variety of room choices. Our Deluxe King rooms share the piazza veranda overlooking the center of our property and offer a perfect location to enjoy a morning coffee or continental breakfast from Peninsula Grill.
We look forward to your return. Please call us when you are ready to secure your favorite location and room of choice.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What an incredible experience! This hotel is in the perfect location in Charleston. Close to King Street, the shopping hot spot, close to the water, the market is right across the street.... surrounded by amazing restaurants. You will not go wrong choosing this hotel!

We arrived very early, and although our room was not ready- they stored our luggage and suggested an excellent walk for us to do to orient ourselves to Charleston. Kara at the front desk was incredible. Amazing suggestions about the area, and could not do enough to make us feel welcome.

It was our anniversary, and a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room. Our room overlooked the courtyard, but was in the main building.... Perfection!

This is a wonderful boutique hotel. It has history & charm, but it is spotless! The staff cannot do enough for you and you will find it hard to leave.

We ate at the Peninsula Grill, their tasting menu. WOW! This was quite the culinary experience. Paired with various wines, we were full after 1 course...still 3 to go! Our server was so hospitable. I had to make a change to the menu due to allergies, and he could not have been more pleasant/accommodating. His suggestions were incredibly delicious, and the whole experience made our anniversary very special.

You will not go wrong staying at this hotel. They uphold such high standards, with an amazing team of people.

Thank you for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear TSN,
…… “You will not go wrong staying at this hotel. They uphold such high standards, with an amazing team of people.”
Although this may be your closing comment, it is the one phrase in your review that stands out in a series of compliments and observations that we are humbly grateful. On behalf of our entire staff at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us and are happy to read it was full of such memorable and momentous occasions. Our dedicated team of professionals takes great pride in maintaining this grand old dam while providing the thoughtful and hospitable service you would expect from a Relais and Chateaux property. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you celebrate many anniversaries and other such special occasions for years to come.
We look forward to your return!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Planters Inn did not meet my expectations for a Relais & Chateux hotel. Though there was nothing terrible about the experience, there was also nothing exceptional. When paying a premium price for a hotel, I expect to be delighted in some way. The decor of my room was bland and lacking in charm. The decor is traditional, but the two premium rooms that I saw felt very 1980s and dated. The main guest lounge looked tired and the self-serve drinks were infrequently replenished during my four day stay. Some of the public spaces such as the stairs actually were unkept. The exception at this hotel is the restaurant that serves a great breakfast at a low price and a wonderful dinner in a very appealing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steveeddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Steveedc,
As with all forms of feedback, we not only appreciate the observations and suggestions from our guests but take each and every comment under consideration and discuss with our staff and management team. We are disappointed to read of your “below expectations” and hope you have the opportunity to consider us for another visit should you return to Charleston. As frequent traveler to Relais properties we are sure you appreciate the unique character, charm, and unique individuality each Relais posses; which is a hallmark of these beautiful independent properties. As a 64 room property, Planters Inn has a vast array of rooms and suites that offer a variety of views, layouts and configurations. Our circa 1844 building offers s classic Charleston interior design touches as historic Baker collection furnishings, spacious guest rooms with high ceilings and are decorated (and updated annually we might add) with both period pieces and local touches that are truly characteristic of Charleston and Planters Inn.
Should you elect to join us again, call on us directly to discuss the numerous choices and allow us to help guide you thru or our amazing collection room options.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have traveled and lived around the world so we have become very fussy when it comes to hotel stays. The Planters Inn blew us away on all accounts. Every staff member was delightful and helpful. Our room was beautifully equipped. Dinner at The Peninsula is out of this world. We will call this "home" when we are back in Charleston!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dantesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Dantesfamily,
A very simple, concise, and well worded review from your recent visit. A self proclaimed “fussy traveller" is a moniker we are pleased to hear was met with flying colors of appreciation. However, the best compliment of all in your review is the most important tip of all…. “WE WILL CALL THIS HOME WHEN WE ARE BACK IN CHARLESTON”.
We can ask for no better compliment than this and thank you from our entire team.
Tell us when you are ready to return!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,466 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $246 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston’s famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city’s iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There’s also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city’s foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world’s most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing