We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Charleston Hotel”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in Charleston, but we find Planters Inn to be our favorite. It's location is perfect, right at the corner of Market and Meeting. Once you valet your car, you are done driving. Everything is right there. The rooms are big and comfortable. They might lack some of the newer amenities, but they more than make up for it in pure charm. It's proximity and association with the Pennisula Grill, one of Charleston's finest, is great as well. Beyond this, the staff will know your name 5 minutes after you check in and are always at your beck and call. If you are looking for a classic, quaint Charleston hotel, this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSP-HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear KSP-HHI,
As a frequent traveler and visitor to Charleston, we are humbled by your praise and acknowledgement of our property as your “FAVORITE” place to visit in our city of many options. Our quaint size, amazing location, spacious and comfortable luxury accommodations, and superior service staff make for an incredible combination that allows us to live up to such a claim as a “favorite” to many regular guests. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are the ultimate Charleston experinece for those searching for a charming old world hotel and superb dining and we are pleased to hear your loyalty to our operation is as strong as ever. Call on us to secure your next visit so may help continue to offer you the “Classic Charlestona and Quaint Planters Inn experience” you’ve come to enjoy time and time again.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
There are newer reviews for Planters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent five days at Planters Inn in Charleston and were thoroughly satisfied and charmed. The Inn is located on a corner of the three block long market and a pretty busy street, Meeting St,. but still manages to maintain a relative calm. We were located on the fourth floor in a room with multiple large windows overlooking the market and experienced no significant noise. We were able to close inside shutters and heavy curtains each night to shut out any possible excessive noise and morning light. The king bed was very comfortable and well appointed with good linens. And the room itself was large and comfortable enough to read for extended periods if so inclined. I was also impressed with the staff from the housekeepers, the bellmen, the front desk personnel all the way to management. They were all friendly, helpful and very willing to go the extra mile to accomodate us. All in all it was a truly relaxing, comfortable stay. Additionally, the location is perfect for a convenient visit to many of Charlestons restaurants and historic sites as well as the College of Charleston. They are all in easy walking distance. We definitely look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldold25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Goldold25,
Thank you for taking a moment to describe the “calm” our property and your guest room were able to offer with the “heavy curtains and interior shutters” that allow guests to experience a restful sleep and awaken to the BEST location the city has to offer. As a frequent TripAdvisor reviewer, you can appreciate our efforts to create a relaxing and comfortable environment within our spacious guest rooms and we appreciate it when guests share the little details that make a good hotel--Great! Charleston is an amazing destination that offers world class dining, shopping and historical character unlike most cities and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you and we are always ready to assist you on the next trip to Charleston and The Planters Inn.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our decision to spend New Year's Eve in Charleston, and our fortunate "discovery" of Planters Inn, was well rewarded. From the pre-visit assistance of Carolyn Stout through the warm and eager to please assistance of Tristian, Josh, and every other member of the staff, our visit was an exceptional experience. And New Year's Eve dinner in the Peninsula Grill was all that we could have wanted. Definitely a "must go back to" venue!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Michael L,
On behalf of Carolyn, Tristan, Josh and the entire team at Planters Inn, we are happy to hear you “discovered” our little property in the heart of the #1 tourist destination in the U.S. It is always a pleasure to read of guests that not only enjoyed our property and city, but especially gratifying when the process involves a first time visit and a declaration of future return trips. Our little 64 room historic property in the heart of Charleston is an oasis of southern hospitality and we all look forward to assisting you on many future visits.
Best Wishes and Happy New Year!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas, week at Planters Inn, what a wonderful experience. Our room on the second floor, new portion of the Hotel, was warm, charming, and spacious. We loved the jacuzzi tub. From the Parking attendant to the Hotel mgr. all were so very friendly, and accomidating. We ate breakfast every morning at the Hotels restaurant, the Pennisula. And we can only say WOW. The food, and chef, that prepared our delicious breakfast everyday, was out of the world. We also had dinner one evening. So delicious, and prepared perfectly.
The Hotel staff is to be commended for a group of gracious, professionally, and an all out wonderful experience.
We planning on making many future stays with the Planters Inn, in Charleston, SC. A wonderful experience. Please try it out.

Bob and Elizabeth, Kuhn
San Clemente, ca.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section, have walkout veranda areas, with wonderful views. A bit quite, than...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Bob K,
We appreciate your comments and terrific feedback from your Christmas visit to Planters Inn. Our piazza location rooms offer spacious Deluxe King rooms over the shared courtyard and are popular selections with many of our repeat guests. Thank you for recognizing our service and team hospitality efforts. It is rewarding to read of our staff making such a memorable impression. As you point out, one of the best kept secrets of our Peninsula Grill is the amazing quality of our breakfast; a meal that is often looked over, but worthy of a mention. You’ve already informed us that you look forward to returning, so please call on us when you are ready to secure you next reservation!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend Christmas in Charleston this year as our children are grown and all busy doing there own things. While searching for a hotel I was fortunate to find the Planters Inn on a web site that included guest reviews. We were not disappointed in anyway with our choice. The entire staff from front desk to maintenance and housekeeping were the most accommodating I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a frequent business traveler usually logging 80+ nights annually for the past 15 years, this ranks as my number one hands down. We will be returning to visit the beautiful historic city again soon and there is no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Ken L,
Thank you for naming us your #1 travel destination and hotel! As a frequent traveler, you understand service and hospitality are what brings guests back to a property time and time again. Although our property offers a premier Charleston location, superior quality of furnishings and décor and an award winning dining room…it is the service that allows us to stand out in the crowd. We sincerely thank you for your comments and look forward to having you join us for many a future visit.
Another belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and have truly been delighted each time. The staff is amazing! ... personable, polite, attentive, efficient, knowledgeable, frriendly ... I can't say enough. The property is beautiful (don't miss the courtyard) and the location could not be better (@ the corner of Meeting & Market). The attention to detail is impressive: from the gold wall covering in the hallways to the fire in the fireplace in the lobby to the understated elegance of the rooms to the very comfortable mattresses and the four post beds, thread count of the sheets, perfect weight of the white cotton blankets and firmness / softness of the pillows ... no detail overlooked. Also, The Penninsula Grill is without a doubt the best restaurant in town. The Oyster Stew we had as an appetizer was the best thing I've eaten in some time and the Wreckfish with Lobster and Pea Rissoto special was a close 2nd. ... We'll be back many more times !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Robert B,
The Staff! Enough said…. We agree! Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill make for the premier combination in a city full of options. We are very appreciative our guest feedback; however those that continue to return and share their views are a true testament to our operation as a whole. Your acknowledgment of our physical attributes and quality furnishings simply enhance the overall guest experience when combined with superb service of a world class hotel and restaurant. We are humbled by our review and continued patronage and always look forward to serving you on your many return visits.
Until next time, Best Wishes!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We selected the Planters Inn due to its affiliation with Relais and Chateau. As we hoped, this was an excellent choice. Our room overlooking the beautiful courtyard was very clean and quiet, the bathroom was large, but the staff impressed us more than anything else.

Carrie who turned down our room at night was very friendly and obviously enjoyed her job. The front desk were helpful with dinner recommendations and suggested that we eat at the Peninsula Grill which was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Due to TripAdvisor reviews we also tried Halls Steakhouse which didn't live up to the number 1 ranking. Food was ok, but very expensive.

The hotel is located in the middle of the historic part of town, we chose to do a carriage ride which was a lot of fun. The carriages go right by the hotel.

We would return to the Planters Inn again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Joe S,
We appreciate your accolades of our property, staff, and Peninsula Grill. Thank you for recognizing Ms. Carrie that always offers our guests a pleasant smile and efficient service during her evening turndown rounds. Planters Inn is proud to be associated with the finest inns and castles of the world as a member of the esteemed collection of Relais & Chateaux. It is rewarding to read of your praise and appreciation of our superior service team. On behalf of all of us, we thank you.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,873 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,207 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,064 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $282 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing