We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planters Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$208
$184
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$205
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$293
$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$389
$319
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$309
$300
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,012)
Filter reviews
2,012 results
Traveler rating
1,579
266
112
41
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,579
266
112
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeninsula grillcoconut cakerelais chateauxteddy bearplantation kingsouthern charmsweet teaturn down servicestreet noisefour poster bedsitting roomperfect locationsmall hotelmarket streetcharming hotellovely roomhistoric district
Filter
Updating list...
1,556 - 1,561 of 2,012 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent five days at Planters Inn in Charleston and were thoroughly satisfied and charmed. The Inn is located on a corner of the three block long market and a pretty busy street, Meeting St,. but still manages to maintain a relative calm. We were located on the fourth floor in a room with multiple large windows overlooking the market and experienced no significant noise. We were able to close inside shutters and heavy curtains each night to shut out any possible excessive noise and morning light. The king bed was very comfortable and well appointed with good linens. And the room itself was large and comfortable enough to read for extended periods if so inclined. I was also impressed with the staff from the housekeepers, the bellmen, the front desk personnel all the way to management. They were all friendly, helpful and very willing to go the extra mile to accomodate us. All in all it was a truly relaxing, comfortable stay. Additionally, the location is perfect for a convenient visit to many of Charlestons restaurants and historic sites as well as the College of Charleston. They are all in easy walking distance. We definitely look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldold25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Goldold25,
Thank you for taking a moment to describe the “calm” our property and your guest room were able to offer with the “heavy curtains and interior shutters” that allow guests to experience a restful sleep and awaken to the BEST location the city has to offer. As a frequent TripAdvisor reviewer, you can appreciate our efforts to create a relaxing and comfortable environment within our spacious guest rooms and we appreciate it when guests share the little details that make a good hotel--Great! Charleston is an amazing destination that offers world class dining, shopping and historical character unlike most cities and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you and we are always ready to assist you on the next trip to Charleston and The Planters Inn.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our decision to spend New Year's Eve in Charleston, and our fortunate "discovery" of Planters Inn, was well rewarded. From the pre-visit assistance of Carolyn Stout through the warm and eager to please assistance of Tristian, Josh, and every other member of the staff, our visit was an exceptional experience. And New Year's Eve dinner in the Peninsula Grill was all that we could have wanted. Definitely a "must go back to" venue!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Michael L,
On behalf of Carolyn, Tristan, Josh and the entire team at Planters Inn, we are happy to hear you “discovered” our little property in the heart of the #1 tourist destination in the U.S. It is always a pleasure to read of guests that not only enjoyed our property and city, but especially gratifying when the process involves a first time visit and a declaration of future return trips. Our little 64 room historic property in the heart of Charleston is an oasis of southern hospitality and we all look forward to assisting you on many future visits.
Best Wishes and Happy New Year!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas, week at Planters Inn, what a wonderful experience. Our room on the second floor, new portion of the Hotel, was warm, charming, and spacious. We loved the jacuzzi tub. From the Parking attendant to the Hotel mgr. all were so very friendly, and accomidating. We ate breakfast every morning at the Hotels restaurant, the Pennisula. And we can only say WOW. The food, and chef, that prepared our delicious breakfast everyday, was out of the world. We also had dinner one evening. So delicious, and prepared perfectly.
The Hotel staff is to be commended for a group of gracious, professionally, and an all out wonderful experience.
We planning on making many future stays with the Planters Inn, in Charleston, SC. A wonderful experience. Please try it out.

Bob and Elizabeth, Kuhn
San Clemente, ca.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer section, have walkout veranda areas, with wonderful views. A bit quite, than on the street in the older section. But the older section, has great charm, and the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Bob K,
We appreciate your comments and terrific feedback from your Christmas visit to Planters Inn. Our piazza location rooms offer spacious Deluxe King rooms over the shared courtyard and are popular selections with many of our repeat guests. Thank you for recognizing our service and team hospitality efforts. It is rewarding to read of our staff making such a memorable impression. As you point out, one of the best kept secrets of our Peninsula Grill is the amazing quality of our breakfast; a meal that is often looked over, but worthy of a mention. You’ve already informed us that you look forward to returning, so please call on us when you are ready to secure you next reservation!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend Christmas in Charleston this year as our children are grown and all busy doing there own things. While searching for a hotel I was fortunate to find the Planters Inn on a web site that included guest reviews. We were not disappointed in anyway with our choice. The entire staff from front desk to maintenance and housekeeping were the most accommodating I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a frequent business traveler usually logging 80+ nights annually for the past 15 years, this ranks as my number one hands down. We will be returning to visit the beautiful historic city again soon and there is no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Ken L,
Thank you for naming us your #1 travel destination and hotel! As a frequent traveler, you understand service and hospitality are what brings guests back to a property time and time again. Although our property offers a premier Charleston location, superior quality of furnishings and décor and an award winning dining room…it is the service that allows us to stand out in the crowd. We sincerely thank you for your comments and look forward to having you join us for many a future visit.
Another belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and have truly been delighted each time. The staff is amazing! ... personable, polite, attentive, efficient, knowledgeable, frriendly ... I can't say enough. The property is beautiful (don't miss the courtyard) and the location could not be better (@ the corner of Meeting & Market). The attention to detail is impressive: from the gold wall covering in the hallways to the fire in the fireplace in the lobby to the understated elegance of the rooms to the very comfortable mattresses and the four post beds, thread count of the sheets, perfect weight of the white cotton blankets and firmness / softness of the pillows ... no detail overlooked. Also, The Penninsula Grill is without a doubt the best restaurant in town. The Oyster Stew we had as an appetizer was the best thing I've eaten in some time and the Wreckfish with Lobster and Pea Rissoto special was a close 2nd. ... We'll be back many more times !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Robert B,
The Staff! Enough said…. We agree! Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill make for the premier combination in a city full of options. We are very appreciative our guest feedback; however those that continue to return and share their views are a true testament to our operation as a whole. Your acknowledgment of our physical attributes and quality furnishings simply enhance the overall guest experience when combined with superb service of a world class hotel and restaurant. We are humbled by our review and continued patronage and always look forward to serving you on your many return visits.
Until next time, Best Wishes!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews