We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Charm and Comfort”
Review of Jasmine House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jasmine House Inn
Ranked #10 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern Charm and Comfort”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Jasmine House Inn for a quick getaway. We live locally and were pleasantly surprised to find the inn off the beaten path and yet close to many great restaurants and sights. Check-in and parking are both located at the Indigo Inn, which is literally across the street. All guests of the Jasmine House are given a key to the front door, as well as their room. I loved this about the inn - guests can come and go as they please and yet still feel safe and secure. It's much like staying in a hotel, but with the comforts and quaintness of a B&B. If you aren't one to want to chat with innkeepers, this is the place for you.

We stayed in the Bancroft room, which is on the first floor and, to our delight, had a fireplace. We absolutely loved this room. Unfortunately, the downside to the two front rooms is that if other guests return late in the evening, you will hear everything...the front door, talking, stomping up the stairs. You'd hope other guests would be considerate and try to be quiet, but you aren't guaranteed. On our next stay (because we will be back!), we would probably consider a second floor room to afford us more quiet.

The inn does offer afternoon wine and cheese in the front hallway. We made some small plates and had a glass of wine by the fireplace in our room. I'd imagine that on warmer days, sitting on one of the porches or in the beautiful courtyard would be wonderful. Breakfast is served in a similar manner. Guests are welcome to grab juice, coffee and food as they please. The food is nothing gourmet or fancy, but enough to get you going in the morning.

We would not hesitate to recommend this inn to local or out of town friends. I hope that we can go back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katir0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review the Jasmine House, Katir0504; we appreciate it!!!
Thank you also for the recommendation. When making a future reservation, please specify that you would like a 2nd floor room, or a Carriage House room for minimal noise. We hope you can return in the very near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    60
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
150
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights between Christmas and New Years. The weather was OK - a couple nice days and a couple chilly wet ones. The house was really nice. The room was big, ornate, and romantic. The front porches were probably the best part of the house, and the garden out back was really nice. Breakfast in the morning left a little something to be desired - a bit light for a midwesterner who likes a big breakfast. The coffee was thin, but that's just the south.

The location was really nice - real close to Market Street and King Street. We walked the whole town and loved the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, Neil H. Sorry about the breakfast and the coffee, but glad you enjoyed the porch and the courtyard!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Jasmine House Inn during Thanksgiving week. We originally booked a room at the Indigo Inn, but when we arrived we were told they overbooked us and they moved us to their sister property across the street. The room was beautiful. The amenities were great. The courtyard was spectacular at night. So romantic! We will be back for sure! Our only complaint was the bed is on the stiffer side. Also our ceiling light turned on and off at random times during the evening but we just think that was a friendly ghost ;)
Com

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaytut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Trip Advisor played a big role in my selection, and i was not disappointed at all. great room (actually more of a suite) in the main house featured a separate "study" and large bathroom not typical of other B&B's weve enjoyed. THe service wa simpeccable, although across the street at the Indigo. BUt Ignacious and Bryan were a wealth of information and always spot on. THe evening wine a cheese were a welcome sight after a day of exploring this great city. Only minor negative was no coffee until around 7...but the"continental" breakfast that came with it was worth the wait.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
HAPPY 40th ANNIVERSARY, and thank you for choosing the Jasmine House Inn to share such a momentous occasion!!! I apologize that you did not have coffee until 7-ish; had we known that you wanted coffee earlier, someone from the Indigo Inn would have been delighted to bring you some; thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent the last five nights at Jasmine House. Very friendly, helpful staff. Front desk people also provided concierge services and were able to get us dinner reservations at Hall's Chophouse even when Hall's had told us none were available. The staff's other recommendations were also spot-on. Large, spacious room in an 1843 Greek Revival mansion. Beautiful period décor, gas fireplace, commodious bathroom. Breakfast selections each morning included an array of good local pastries, a different hot dish each day, cereal, bagels, coffee, tea and orange juice. Each evening there were selections of wine, cheese and crackers available for guests. These foods and beverages could be enjoyed in your room, on the wide front porch or in a patio setting in the backyard. Convenient location within easy walking distance of all downtown Charleston attractions. Also on the grounds are another set of rooms in the mansion's old carriage house. Parking in downtown Charleston is not easy to come by. Guests of Jasmine House, which is associated with the Indigo Inn, share a parking lot with Indigo. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Speak with the front desk when making reservations, do not just make them on-line. Doing so got us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloatsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your assessments of Charleston and the Jasmine House; thank you also for your recommendation!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have stayed many years at the Jasmine House and have enjoyed the relaxing and friendly atmosphere provided by the Inn and all the helpful and dedicated employees who work here. The Inn is a quiet and pleasing oasis in the heart of downtown. It is close to the Market and within walking distance to many historic attractions. You can't find a better romantic getaway than the Jasmine House Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justacounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty!!! We appreciate your business, and we look forward to your continued visits to the Jasmine House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, MA USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As others have attested this inn is located in the heart of Old Town and you can walk everywhere. We took advantage of this and never used our car while there for our two night stay. We stayed in the Canton room which was very spacious with a separate small library style room with a table and chairs. Shower could have been hotter.

We ate our breakfast there one morning when it was very hot out. This room has a door out to the second floor balcony/porch with table and chairs for enjoying wine and cheese or breakfast. We used both this area and the outside courtyard. I would have given this inn a 5, but the outside areas were in need of a good cleaning. I did let the management know about this and hope they will heed my advice. Tables need to wiped down and the flooring needs a power wash. Otherwise truely lovely property. Breakfast was more than ample so surpised by other negative comments on this. Also there is lemonade and iced tea available during the day. Overall a very nice stay and the price was substantially lower then other B&Bs in the area.

Room Tip: Second floor front rooms have veranda access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments and feedback!!! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine House Inn

Property: Jasmine House Inn
Address: 64 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-1616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Jasmine House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine House Hotel Charleston
Jasmine House Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing