We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent historic inn”
Review of Jasmine House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jasmine House Inn
Ranked #9 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent historic inn”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent three nights here and were charmed by the experience. The bedroom was beautifully furnished and the service provided by the staff, both here and at the Indigo Inn, was superb.
Breakfast is served in the hallway and you have the option of taking it on to the porch or into the courtyard garden at the rear. Similarly, drinks and snacks are served in the late afternoon, as a result guests can meet over a glass or two of wine and enjoy one another's company. It is perfectly positioned within the town centre, so well that a car is unnecessary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We appreciate that you took advantage of the Inn's ambience to interact with other guests.
It is true Southern living, at its best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    61
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
151
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was our third stay at Jasmine House. We book through Indigo Inn and request a carriage house room. The rooms are spacious, appointed in keeping with the Charleston ambiance and well-cared for. The Inn is within walking distance of almost everything, which can also be a disadvantage when the fire trucks go out at four a.m. Lighting within the room could be better. Breakfast and the five o'clock wine and cheese spreads are served from the buffet in the main house. Our favorite part of this Inn is the wonderful courtyard, one of the finest places to relax in downtown Charleston and reserved for guests. Most of the time we had the entire space to ourselves. We attended a number of Spoleto Festival events this trip and found the Inn convenient to all of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for you feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

In some cities you never know what you're going to get with a small Inn or B&B... so people feel safer, fewer unknowns staying at a Hilton or Marriott... in Charleston there are plenty of sweet Inn's/B&B's within beautiful Historic Structures for the same rate or less than a big brand.. the Jasmine was fantastic and reasonable $$.. located in the middle of the Historic District.. 100+ blocks of cobblestone streets 1800's era buildings all nicely restored.. the Jasmine had a broad multilevel series of porches and a big open Courtyard. Rooms were 200-225.. carriage house rooms had lower ceilings and were modern in appearance from within.. while rooms in the main house had 15ft ceilings .. great a/c.. and although antique in appearance were super clean, modern touches, beautiful hardwood floors, huge doors, monster bathrooms, .. not stuffy old antique museums by any stretch of the imagination.. I loved sipping a drink on the porch rocking chairs imagining another era.. and being in the heart of it!!

Great place, far better Charlestown experience here than at a big box hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booogiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at this old southern house on our way to North Carolina. The house was lovely, but it was "Brian" who made our visit so wonderful. We would stay at the Jasmine House Inn again just because he was so friendly and accomodating.

We were in the "Carriage House". We were told by a great, great, great, etc. grandson of a prior owner, Gadsden, (yes, his great, great, etc. uncle had a hand in the Gadsden purchase) that the "Carriage House" actually housed the kitchen. If the kitchen caught on fire, the house wouldn't burn down.

The room was a good size and had nice amenities. The location is nice, near the corner of Meeting and Hasell and the restaurant, Fig. It was within walking distance of the restaurant, Husk, where we ate both nights of our stay. (Try the Manhattan with homemade bitters.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and for sharing your experience with us!!! Brien, the owners' son, does add a wonderful flavor to the Inn; he thoroughly enjoys guest interaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed over the past three months at both the Indigo Inn and the Jasmine House, since we needed to be in Charleston on personal business. Both Inns are extremely well run, and I particularly want to thank the Manager, Mr. Ignatius Nazareth, who accommodated last minute reservations and changes both times. We were traveling from the west coast and had no choice but to make short-term plans at the height of the busy season. Mr. Nazareth could not have been more helpful, and it made the entire experience even better than we could have hoped.

The Inns are both extremely convenient, well maintained. Having a buffet light breakfast and wine and cheese that we could take outside or take to our room was perfect.

Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRtravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
You are most welcome, and were gracious guests. Our intent is to serve the needs of our customers to the best of our ability, and with people like you, it becomes an easy task.
Thank you for allowing us to meet your lodging needs!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Jasmine House numerous times. It is our happy place when we are in Charleston. We find the rooms to be extra large and decorated with period furnishings. We love the large porches to relax on and the courtyards are beautiful and command relaxation. The perks of fresh tea, lemon aid and fruit to refresh your self from your active days walking and shopping and sight seeing is a pleasure offered by the establishment to all that are guest. I do not miss the owner not being present on the grounds. I enjoy the exception to the rule of this B&B. A great stay starts with great employees . The front desk makes dreams come true. Thank you, The Richard's

Room Tip: We love the the main house, second floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
The Jasmine House is an Inn serving the needs of special people who appreciate the ambiance its environment brings. On behalf of the staff, we thank you for your kind words and accolades!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay in at the Jasmine inn. We chose to stay in the Carriage house on the first floor to have direct access to the courtyard. We were very pleased with our choice. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and the property was beautiful! Yes, the jasmine was in bloom and it was heavenly! The location of this property makes it an excellent place to stay because we were close enough to walk to everything from Battery Park to the Aquarium. As another reviewer has said, the main drawback to the Inn is that there is no dining room. If weather is cool or rainy, you must find a way to eat breakfast in your room. One morning we carried a tray from the kitchen to our room and made a "table" out of the luggage rack! This is the only thing that makes me rate the property as very good instead of excellent. People at the front desk of the Indigo Inn, the Jasmine's sister property across the street, are very helpful in making dinner reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are more elegant but we loved the beautiful courtyard and enjoyed the direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjkjpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignatius N, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your business!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Indigo Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
990 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine House Inn

Property: Jasmine House Inn
Address: 64 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-1616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jasmine House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine House Hotel Charleston
Jasmine House Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing