We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel in good location if you are on a budget”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Okay hotel in good location if you are on a budget”
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed here for one night with my partner to visit the historic sights in Charleston. The location is very good and there is complimentary parking behind the hotel. Compared to B&Bs in Charleston, the rates at Fulton Lane Inn are more affordable but the tradeoff is a stay which feels more like a budget hotel than a B&B. The rooms are basic and a little old and musty. Breakfast is continental only with yogurt, cereal, fruit, or pastries only with coffee and juice. There is no dining room so the food has to be ordered on a card the night before and it is delivered to the room. My parents had their food show up 40 mins late and they ended up running to the hotel next door to have a quick breakfast as we needed to checkout and get on the road. I think for the money there are probably better options and I would not like to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phototravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    193
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
76
390
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn for our 10 year anniversary. It was our first time visiting Charleston and so we made reservations based on Trip Advisor reviews. This one was a great choice! The Inn is tucked away on a quaint alley off King Street. It is litterally one block from the market, but you would never know this because we never heard any street noise at all. We stayed in the King Petite Suite on the 3rd floor. The room was very nice with plenty of space. It had a fireplace and jetted tub which was very relaxing after walking around beautiful Charleston all day. The only minor negative is that the bathroom, while plenty big enough, was outdated and the mini-fridge, which barely worked, was in the bathroom. The staff were great, especially Jennifer and Susu.

Unfortunately we did not have such a good experience with the breakfast. It was what you would expect for a continental breakfast, but it was delivered to your room after you ordered it the night before. Very slim pickings: bagel, croissant, cereal, etc. The 2nd day our breakfast came late, the 3rd day it never arrived before we left, and the 4th day it was late again. The staff apologized on the 3rd day when we told them what happened, but it was still late the next day.

The only other thing that was disappointing was that although we told them we were there for our 10 year anniversary, they never offered to do anything special for us. It's not that all hotels should, but it just would have been a nice touch.

We would also highly recommend the Palmetto Carriage Tour. The quality of your tour depends on which driver and which route you get, but ours was wonderful. If you can, ask to be the first to sign up for a particular time slot. That way you get to sit up front where you can hear the driver and you have extra leg room. For restaurants, we LOVED Jim 'N Nick's BBQ on King Street for lunch, as well as Pizzeria Di Giovanni in the Rainbow Shops. The Noisy Oyster had very fresh flounder and shrimp. And the Sweetwater Cafe (right next to the hotel parking lot) is an amazing "hole in the wall" cafe with great food!

We will definitely stay at the Fulton Lane again when we return to Charleston! We highly recommend visiting in the Spring--the flowers are gorgeous, the crowds are smaller, and the temperature is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Fulton Lane Inn during the Charleston Food and Wine Festival. We had fabulous petit suite overlooking King Street. The hotel staff was extremely kind and helpful. This was a perfect place to walk to great shops, the market, the waterfront and of course a few blocks from the Wine & Food Festival was a huge benefit. I would recommend this Inn!

As for restaurants - tons of great places only a Rickshaw ride away.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia sc
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The Fulton Lane Inn is located in the heart of King Street where many of the restaurants and shops are located and parking for a small fee is located directly behind the Inn as well. The Inn has nice cozy rooms where a small FREE breakfast is brought to your room along with the newspaper. All rooms also come with a small refrig which is also nice. The staff is very kind and gracious and allowed my husband and I to check into our room early as well. The stafff also gives great tips on where to eat as well. This is the only place I stay when I come to Charleston whether it is for work or pleasure.
Edith

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithAnn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We were VERY pleased with the Cathedral Suite. It exudes the South with the canopy bed, high ceilings, louvered blinds and shutters. It is a very romantic setting and room. We parked the car on the first day and never moved it until we went home. This hotel is tucked away down a tropically landscaped alley yet in the center of it all. We shopped in awesome local shops, ate in great restaurants within walking distance and strolled through the historic district.Local pubs were also within walking distance, so we did not have to worry about driving or getting a taxi. The staff were very accomodating, especially SuSu who knew where to go and what to do based on our likes. She made our dinner reservations and arranged a special birthday dinner for my husband.
We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murfmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We visited Charleston before Christmas this year and took part in a progressive dinner at 3 old Inns there. We stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn and I can't tell you how much of a pleasure it was. The room was very nice , the reception was nice and the staff were delightful. The young man in the evening was fun and directed us to some spots to see after dark when the city was in full holiday lights. The Inn was so nice we will return next year for this holiday event and we throughly enjoyed room service at breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Found the Fulton Lane Inn on line shopping for a weekend get-a-way hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. Write-ups sounded good, I was familiar with the general location and at $159/night (plus tax and parking), and the price was quite a bit less that adjacent hotels charging twice as much.

Upon arrival, my spouse and I were met by a pleasant young man who greeted us. I asked for a free up-grade and was informed that only for an additional charge could we stay in a nicer room. The $159 rate was the basic king bed, no fireplace, no spa tub, no view. The room we did have was fairly large with king bed. The room was clean and had no oder. Bathroom was the same. Although the bed was very comfortable, it was slightly elevated so even the two of us at 5’7” had to some-what hop up on the bed. The room had three other small chairs but no real sitting area that made the room adequate to sleep and shower, but you could not really relax or just sit in the room (other than up on the bed…).

The breakfast was very basic (bagel, fruit, rolls, juice, and coffee). We opted to go downstairs to the eating area versus having breakfast delivered to our room. Again, it wouldn’t have been very comfortable to eat in the room. We decided to eat out the second morning as both of us prefer a more hearty breakfast. The wine/cheese happy hour which we enjoyed the second night was very nice with several selections of both red and white wines, and crackers and different cheeses. Very nice!

Probably the very best part of the Fulton Lane Inn was the location right in between Meeting and King Streets, a half block from the city market. You can park your car adjacent to the hotel and never need to drive unless you are exploring other areas outside of the historic district. The hotel staff was very friendly; the place is clean and mostly comfortable. If you are not looking for a hotel to spend a great deal of time in your room, and you are not interested in spending upwards of $300 per night, then I would highly recommend the Fulton Lane Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing