We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Lovely Room”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Location cannot be beat. The rooms are lovely with a large, grand bathroom. From start to finish we had a great stay. We ate breakfast at the inn next door and it was lovely (the best hotel coffee we have ever had!). Was a great stop/go place for a weekend in Charleston because it is in the center of it all.

Room Tip: Rooms along King Street/Alley -- we were awoken by the street cleaning at about 6am on Sunday mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynJ60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 664 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fulton Lane Inn was a great little inn tucked away in the heart of Charleston. Walk out your door and you're in the middle of it all - fantastic location! Our rooms were clean, spacious and exactly what we were looking for. This is a small place - no pool, spa or anything of the like. But, the added perks (breakfast in your room or in the dining area, cheese and wine before dinner, dry/cream sherry on your way to bed) definitely made this place charming. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Charleston.

As a side note, we loved our breakfast waitress Takia. She provided fantastic service and was the epitome of southern hospitality. She's definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for visiting the Fulton Lane Inn and taking the time to share your remarks. Our attention to detail allows our service to stand above the crowd in many respects and your personal experience with our team simply reconfirms this attentiveness first hand. We are so happy that Takia provided a memorable experience for your girl’s trip. We will pass along your kind words. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location and staff was very welcoming and friendly. A bit overpriced for what you get. I would rather stay at a B&B in the area for the price we paid for the petite suite. But we booked this room on very short notice and I was happy to be able to get a room in the downtown area. The room was cute and overlooked Kings Street, was within walking distance from restaurants, shopping and the market, and it was also quiet and felt secure. We also enjoyed the fireplace and huge jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viperpilotwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three days on our Charleston Honeymoon. I must say, it was rather lovely. I'm a no frills kinda gal, and this place was perfect. The bed was comfortable. The room was spacious. Our service was excellent. Everything was clean. And heck, they have brandy in the lobby. I don't really drink brandy, but it was still rather exciting. The location can't be beat. It's in the heart of downtown and we walked everywhere. I really can't say bad things about this place. Great place to spend our honeymoon. -26 yr old lady

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We are so thrilled to have taken part in making your honeymoon so fantastic. One of the Fulton Lane Inn’s best features is our central location to countless great restaurants, attractions and shopping. We pride ourselves on being able to offer a historic hotel with modern amenities. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked this hotel the morning I landed in Charleston, SC via the HotelTonight app from my iPhone. If you're not familiar with the app - check it out. I was able to book this hotel at a very reasonable rate on New Year's Eve. If it's your first time to Charleston and you're not familiar with this hotel's location - it's located on King Street (the main shopping street in Charleston) - however, it's front door is hidden down a small walking alley just off of King Street. The hotel staff were very friendly upon arrival and throughout our stay. The hotel room was very spacious and clean. The Fulton Lane Inn offers a happy hour - which we did not attend, but have heard good things about. I would stay here again in future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank your for your review of the Fulton Lane Inn. We are so happy that we could accommodate you for New Year’s Eve. We appreciate your praise of our staff and facilities. Our location allows our guests to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer while being right in the center of it all. We are glad that you were able to find a great room on the HotelTonight app. We offer great specials and packages throughout the year, so be sure to stay in touch with our website for your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The room was lovely and quiet; the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Will absolutely stay here again the next time I'm in Charleston. The breakfast (in-room or downstairs) was continental but fine; the wine and cheese hour in the evening was well-attended and fun. I really have nothing critical to say about this hotel. The same people own Kings Courtyard Inn (next door) as well as the Rutledge House and one other place in Charleston.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I'd recommend not booking here in the summer (hurricanes) or winter (ice/snow) through Living Social or any other booking service that is a prepay as they will not allow changes due to weather. I had a 1/29 arrival date with snow, ice, and freezing rain on my total 270 mile drive on I-26. Yet, they will not allow any change in my reservations -- even paying more for the change. Drive in hazardous conditions or forfeit the full payment. Won't book at Fulton Lane or use Living Social ever again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank wvlivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We are sorry for this unfortunate circumstance. Your subsequent communication directly to us reinforces the fact that you had “quality service” at the inn. Our standard practice is to make allowances for inclement weather or canceled flights and allow guests to rebook in the future. In a subsequent written communication that you provided to us, Living Social did in fact present the option of changing your reservation to the following weekend with the expectation that you would pay the difference in rate. In your review above, you claim otherwise and say that this option was never presented. In your extensive communication with our manager during your stay, you stated that you were very extremely pleased with the inn’s amenities and level of service. Even though you used your 2-night Living Social voucher, as a further gesture of good will, we offered you an additional one-night stay to be used for a future visit. Your latest communication directly to us threatens additional negative reviews if we do not extend an additional complimentary night stay to our existing offer. We feel that this more than fair compensation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#30 of 61 in Charleston
609 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $193 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing