We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly place”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, friendly place”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The room was lovely and quiet; the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Will absolutely stay here again the next time I'm in Charleston. The breakfast (in-room or downstairs) was continental but fine; the wine and cheese hour in the evening was well-attended and fun. I really have nothing critical to say about this hotel. The same people own Kings Courtyard Inn (next door) as well as the Rutledge House and one other place in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    185
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
382
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
348 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I'd recommend not booking here in the summer (hurricanes) or winter (ice/snow) through Living Social or any other booking service that is a prepay as they will not allow changes due to weather. I had a 1/29 arrival date with snow, ice, and freezing rain on my total 270 mile drive on I-26. Yet, they will not allow any change in my reservations -- even paying more for the change. Drive in hazardous conditions or forfeit the full payment. Won't book at Fulton Lane or use Living Social ever again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvlivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are sorry for this unfortunate circumstance. Your subsequent communication directly to us reinforces the fact that you had “quality service” at the inn. Our standard practice is to make allowances for inclement weather or canceled flights and allow guests to rebook in the future. In a subsequent written communication that you provided to us, Living Social did in fact present the option of changing your reservation to the following weekend with the expectation that you would pay the difference in rate. In your review above, you claim otherwise and say that this option was never presented. In your extensive communication with our manager during your stay, you stated that you were very extremely pleased with the inn’s amenities and level of service. Even though you used your 2-night Living Social voucher, as a further gesture of good will, we offered you an additional one-night stay to be used for a future visit. Your latest communication directly to us threatens additional negative reviews if we do not extend an additional complimentary night stay to our existing offer. We feel that this more than fair compensation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place was absolutely perfect for a nice romantic getaway but could also be perfect for being able to come to Charleston and walk to do it all. Absolutely wonderfully charming place with a great historic flair.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clrhoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Charming, old world style Inn offering happy hour, breakfast, complimentary beverages, and parking. Great location, close to the Market, & Fleet Landing Restaurant. Loved the peaceful courtyard where I enjoyed the quaint setting to read my book. Our suite was awesome! Definitely going back! I throughly enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Suite on King has living room and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLSM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We were able to book a room here at the last minute after changing our plans and felt ourselves very fortunate that we were! The location of the hotel is excellent, right off King street with parking available right behind. The hotel is old and full of character, our room was at the end of a winding corridor and was just enormous, with a giant 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi bath. I only felt that some of the furniture was a bit shabby but some people would no doubt find that charming. The rates were certainly reasonable. Breakfast is booked in the evening and then served in your room which was lovely and relaxed. The lady at reception was so friendly and helpful and very patient when we couldn't decide whether to store our bags in the hotel or put them straight in the car. I would recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your last minute travel changes. We are happy that you enjoyed breakfast delivered to your room. This is one of our guests’ favorite features. Thank you for the feedback on our furniture. We inspect and reupholster furniture on a regular basis and will be sure to take a close look at the furniture in your room. We hope to visit with you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The B&B is in a great location, on King, a block off Meeting. You enter from an alley. When we drove in from Beaufort, we asked to use the lobby rest room, as it was too early to check in. The ladies room sink was completely cracked and in bad repair - a terrible first impression.

Our room was spacious, however one of the bedspreads was dirty. They are cotton spreads so I don't understand why they are not laundered between guests. And the bathroom was not clean - there was a lot of mold around the tub, something I don't understand in the age of dozens of bathroom cleaners. The floor in the bathroom was not cleaned well, collection of dirt in the corners.

The hallway carpets were stained and could use a cleaning.

The hotel advertises a continental breakfast - you have to go next door to the adjacent sister hotel to eat. It was adequate and the hotel did not advertise it to be more than it was.

The location was great but the establishment could really use a thorough cleaning/facelift.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyceGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our location. I apologize for the inadequate state of your room. The issues you noted are unacceptable and not in keeping with our high standards. We have recently hired a new Executive Housekeeper who is reviewing all housekeeping procedures. We will take your note into account as improvements are made. I again, am sorry that your room was not in top condition. I appreciate your comment about the carpet as we are replacing all hallway carpeting this winter. I do hope you will visit again to experience these changes firsthand.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for the night after he came home from Afghanistan. The hotel staff made sure we had a memorable and relaxing time. Charleston was also stunning that day. Spending time there was delightful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Encarna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing