We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a special trip to Charleston to celebrate a birthday. Though a return visit , staying at the Fulton Lane Inn made it a totally new and unique experience. Located within walking distance of everything in old Charleston,the inn provided parking, so we were able to just leave our car and walk everywhere. It was wonderful. Evening wine and cheese at adjoining sister inn was well presented with a variety of lovely wines which changed each night. Full breakfast ordered the night before was delivered on time to our lovely room. Very relaxing and comfortable. The staff was accommodating and, friendly ,and greeted us with southern hospitality, charm .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank her_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 655 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Fulton Lane inn this past week. Location,location,location.This beautiful property was so accessible to all the splendor that Charleston has to offer. It was a great value. The concierge Susu was fabulous as well.We will return to the Fulton Lane inn the next time we come to Charleston.This was a true gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time for us at the Inn. We enjoyed our stay and have to say, everyone at the Inn was great. We took advantage of the wine tasting and met some very nice people. Good parking (at a small add on) Great location, Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fall3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Charleston for a much too short 2 day trip last week. We learned of the Fulton Lane Inn via Groupon and took advantage. Upon arrival we checked in, got settled and went exploring on King Street which was literally right outside of our window. The room was very nicely appointed and very clean. The only minor negative comment I have with regard to the room at all was that it had a strong floral smell when we came in - probably would not bother anyone else, however I suffer from allergies. It was not an issue as we opened the windows and went out walking - all was fine within an hour. We never used our car once. We could walk to anywhere we wanted to go from this hotel. All of the staff were very nice. Lovely stay. Would definetely come again.

Room Tip: If you would like quiet, be sure to request a room that is not on King Street - early morning street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for such an exceptional review of the Fulton Lane Inn. I am so pleased that you took advantage of our Groupon feature and enjoyed your time in Charleston. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope to host your future visits.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very happy with the location on King Street within easy walking distance to lots of shopping, restaurants, and only 15 minutes from the Battery. Our room with 2 double beds was large with high ceilings that added to the feeling of spaciousness. We enjoyed breakfast being brought to the room, the wine and cheese hour and the sherry. My only twinge of disappointment was the coffee in the morning. It tasted like instant coffee. The lobby coffee was much better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juls1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

I am pleased that you had such a pleasant stay here at the Fulton Lane Inn. We appreciate your recommendation and the tips you left behind for the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for your comments on our coffee. I can assure you that each pot is freshly brewed, but we appreciate your feedback as our team strives for 100% guest satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Location is perfect & our favorite aspect of the Inn- easy walking distance to amazing restaurants, shopping on King Street, and wandering south of Broad- without being caught in the touristy area near City Market. As many others have mentioned, wine & cheese (try the local muscato!) was offered next door from 5-6pm, and sherry was available in the lobby each evening. Continental breakfast was delivered to the room, which was lovely. If you need a bit more coffee to start the day, there's more available down in the lobby.
The beds are extremely comfortable, and the rooms are quiet. You may want to bring a sleep mask if you're a light sleeper; it wasn't a problem for us, but the quaint Carolina shutters aren't blackout curtains. The staff was always friendly and eager to help. Note that you'll be paying $12/day to park. We'll be returning to the Fulton Lane Inn next time we're in Charleston!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spendyourdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for such a great review of your time here at the inn. We appreciate the tips and recommendations you left behind for others. I am thrilled that you had such a peaceful stay and hope you'll return upon your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As we walked in the door we were warmly greeted. Our room was beautiful and "Charleston styled" with a large canopy king size bed. Our large windows faced King St. We were located in the heart of the action but Fulton Lane was quite and private. Breakfast was served right on time and the pastries were delish! The evening wine served next door was a nice touch as well.
Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Didnt see how any room would be a bad choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $203 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing