We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden in Charleston's historic district”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Location, location, location they say, and The Fulton has this and then some: the heart of the downtown area is a 5-10 minute walk from it's front door. This brings tremendous convenience, and some of the typical urban noise which should surprise no one, particularly in an older city building with no plexiglass and chrome. Rooms are period-appointed and larger than might be expected; breakfast service to the door a welcome touch (full breakfast available for additional cost at the Fulton's sister hotel next door); coffee in the AM, sherry in the PM available in the lobby; afternoon wine and light snacks from 5-6 PM, also at the King Street hotel 20 ft away; staying at the Fulton also allows a significant discount at the Circa 1886 restaurant. A nice downtown option to larger hotel chains, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

I appreciate this fantastic review of your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn and our sister restaurant Circa 1886. Thank you for your notes on our amenities like in-room breakfast delivery and wine and cheese hour. Our location makes it easy to enjoy Charleston's many noteworthy sites by foot - which in the fall especially, is a real treat. We look forward to hosting you again and appreciate your recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 657 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the Fulton Lane in without knowing that it was the sister property to the Kings Courtyard Inn next door (where I stayed the last time I was in Charleston). The biggest asset of both hotels is their location in the heart of historic Charleston. Beyond that, Fulton Lane a little generic. The lobby and rooms are nice enough but you won't remember them. I preferred Kings Courtyard, which has a much more historic, interesting space. However, Fulton Lane has more modern amenities -- like flat-screen tvs. The breakfast in bed option was a nice touch at Fulton, but you can also dine in the lovely courtyard at Kings Courtyard. I'm a little over the happy hours with the complimentary (cheap) wine and chips, but it's easy enough to skip. The price on weeknights is good -- but I felt a little fleeced on the weekend when rates practically double. Tip: bring your workout clothes and take advantage of the real gym just a block away for $10.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

As a top Trip Advisor contributor and previous guest, I appreciate your feedback. Though both the Kings Courtyard Inn and the Fulton Lane Inn are on King Street, they deliver different experiences. Since your last visit to the Kings Courtyard Inn in December of 2010, you’ll be happy to know that we’ve added flat screen TVs to each room. If you choose to stay at this property over Fulton Lane Inn on your next trip to Charleston, you’ll also be happy to know that breakfast can also be delivered to your room there as well. Because of the complimentary extras we offer like breakfast, wine+cheese, wireless internet and a great concierge team, we believe our rates provide a great value to our guests. We hope you’ll be our guest when you find yourself in town next.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Fulton Lane Inn. This place is right on King Street, which is the central shopping street in Downtown Charleston. It is also, only a few blocks from the old market and the water. This place is the right place if you would like to stroll around downtown Charleston. Also this place is very comfortable to stay in. My wife and I stayed in a deluxe King room, which was very spacious, and it had a jacussie tub. Also, the Inn provide for a Wine and Cheese Tasting at their sister hotel nest door. The room was well maintained and very clean. The only reason this hotel did not get an Excellent rating is that the continental breakfast was less than ordinary and lack quality and taste. they need to improve that. With that said, I believe I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make Sure you get a Deluxe King, instead of a Standard King, if you go the King route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snugharbor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing your memories of the Fulton Lane Inn. I'm glad you and your wife enjoyed our Deluxe King Room. It is a perfect space to rest and relax and has some great features, as you noted. September is a wonderful time to visit Charleston as there are many wonderful sites to see in just a short walking distance. My apologies that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We hope to host you again and better your breakfast experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This inn is located in downtown historic Charleston within easy walking distance of the famous Market area, local restaurants, the battery and the upscale King street shops. The rooms are tastefully furnished and comfortable. Breakfast is provided as well as late afternoon sherry in the lobby. Additionally, there is a wine and cheese reception nearby each day, also in the late afternoon that is available for guests of the inn.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the luxury king suite which has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I'm happy that you took advantage of the many things to do and see near the Fulton Lane Inn. We love our location on King Street for that very reason. Thank you for your note about our comfortable accommodations. I'm glad you enjoyed your amenities and the afternoon wine and cheese reception. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn for three nights the first week in April.

There is a sign for the Inn on King Street, with the entrance down a short alleyway. The lobby is small, with a front desk. There is someone available 24/7. The staff is friendly and helpful, with recommendations for restaurants and tours, and assistance with arrangements for transportation to the airport.

We had a deluxe king, one of the rooms featured in Southern Living Magazine. It was a corner room and was well lit, with four large windows, and wooden blinds. The room was on the third floor and was quiet, except for the sound of trash pickup around 7:30 a.m. The a/c was very efficient.

The room had a comfortable, extra large four poster bed with a canopy. There was also a gas fireplace, which we did not use due to the unseasonably warm weather, and a jacuzzi tub in the bath.

Breakfast is delivered to your room. There are no hot entrees, although the selection includes pastries, bagels, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, and tea. There is a card you check with your selections and leave on the outside of your door the night before, and you also mark which of several half hour times you would like breakfast delivered.

The Fulton Lane Inn is centrally located. Unless you plan to drive to a plantation or otherwise need transportation, you do not need a car. The Inn is within easy walking distance to restaurants, tours, attractions, parks, and Charleston Harbor. It is about a thirty minute walk to the ferry which goes to Fort Sumter.

There is a separate daily charge if you wish to drive and park at the Inn. There is a shuttle from the airport which makes several stops ($12.00 per person), and cabs are also available for approximately $30.00. Transportation is a little more expensive back to the airport (we paid $35.00 plus tip for transportation arranged by the Inn).

The Inn was somewhat worn and could use a facelift. The special internet price of $249.00 per night plus taxes and fees ($283.62 total) was somewhat spendy, but seemed comparable with similar establishments, and given the time of year.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nw2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. April is one of the best times to visit Charleston, as there is an abundance of things to do and see. I appreciate your detailed notes about each of the inn's amenities. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed those special features that make our inn a great place to stay when visiting downtown Charleston. I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff. We certainly look forward to hosting your next trip through the South.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff at this hotel was excellent. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Anything we needed or had questions about was promptly handled with a great attitude. The location is perfect to enjoy all of the Charleston attractions by foot. Just a few minutes to dinning, shopping or site seeing.

That's the good. The bad...........the rooms are showing some wear. Cigarette burns on the batroom sink, even though the property is entirely smoke free. Not sure how that happened. Carpets need replaced and rooms need some paint and attention.

Overall a nice place with nice people that needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer carpet and a window that does not overlook the drain pipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iss19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I appreciate your very kind words about our staff. I'm thrilled that you were treated like royalty and enjoyed our perfect location for walking, site seeing and eating at some of the city's great restaurants. Thank you for your comments about our facilities, as we are always working to improve our guests' overall experience. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, room was nice clean & comfortable. TV was a little small. Right on King St. but entrance is secluded, nice & private.
Within walking distance to most of the downtown shopping & restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and we certainly look forward to hosting you again. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,834 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $204 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing