We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fulton Lane Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indigo Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
392
200
66
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
200
66
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastking streetsister hotel next doorgreat locationjacuzzi tubevening sherryantique shopswithin walking distancedeluxe kingcanopy bedsister propertyquaint hotelbreakfast delivered to our roomeach morningroom was spaciousshopping districtwine and cheese hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 683 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This inn is located in downtown historic Charleston within easy walking distance of the famous Market area, local restaurants, the battery and the upscale King street shops. The rooms are tastefully furnished and comfortable. Breakfast is provided as well as late afternoon sherry in the lobby. Additionally, there is a wine and cheese reception nearby each day, also in the late afternoon that is available for guests of the inn.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the luxury king suite which has a jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I'm happy that you took advantage of the many things to do and see near the Fulton Lane Inn. We love our location on King Street for that very reason. Thank you for your note about our comfortable accommodations. I'm glad you enjoyed your amenities and the afternoon wine and cheese reception. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn for three nights the first week in April.

There is a sign for the Inn on King Street, with the entrance down a short alleyway. The lobby is small, with a front desk. There is someone available 24/7. The staff is friendly and helpful, with recommendations for restaurants and tours, and assistance with arrangements for transportation to the airport.

We had a deluxe king, one of the rooms featured in Southern Living Magazine. It was a corner room and was well lit, with four large windows, and wooden blinds. The room was on the third floor and was quiet, except for the sound of trash pickup around 7:30 a.m. The a/c was very efficient.

The room had a comfortable, extra large four poster bed with a canopy. There was also a gas fireplace, which we did not use due to the unseasonably warm weather, and a jacuzzi tub in the bath.

Breakfast is delivered to your room. There are no hot entrees, although the selection includes pastries, bagels, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, and tea. There is a card you check with your selections and leave on the outside of your door the night before, and you also mark which of several half hour times you would like breakfast delivered.

The Fulton Lane Inn is centrally located. Unless you plan to drive to a plantation or otherwise need transportation, you do not need a car. The Inn is within easy walking distance to restaurants, tours, attractions, parks, and Charleston Harbor. It is about a thirty minute walk to the ferry which goes to Fort Sumter.

There is a separate daily charge if you wish to drive and park at the Inn. There is a shuttle from the airport which makes several stops ($12.00 per person), and cabs are also available for approximately $30.00. Transportation is a little more expensive back to the airport (we paid $35.00 plus tip for transportation arranged by the Inn).

The Inn was somewhat worn and could use a facelift. The special internet price of $249.00 per night plus taxes and fees ($283.62 total) was somewhat spendy, but seemed comparable with similar establishments, and given the time of year.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nw2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. April is one of the best times to visit Charleston, as there is an abundance of things to do and see. I appreciate your detailed notes about each of the inn's amenities. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed those special features that make our inn a great place to stay when visiting downtown Charleston. I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff. We certainly look forward to hosting your next trip through the South.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff at this hotel was excellent. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Anything we needed or had questions about was promptly handled with a great attitude. The location is perfect to enjoy all of the Charleston attractions by foot. Just a few minutes to dinning, shopping or site seeing.

That's the good. The bad...........the rooms are showing some wear. Cigarette burns on the batroom sink, even though the property is entirely smoke free. Not sure how that happened. Carpets need replaced and rooms need some paint and attention.

Overall a nice place with nice people that needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer carpet and a window that does not overlook the drain pipes.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iss19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I appreciate your very kind words about our staff. I'm thrilled that you were treated like royalty and enjoyed our perfect location for walking, site seeing and eating at some of the city's great restaurants. Thank you for your comments about our facilities, as we are always working to improve our guests' overall experience. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, room was nice clean & comfortable. TV was a little small. Right on King St. but entrance is secluded, nice & private.
Within walking distance to most of the downtown shopping & restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and we certainly look forward to hosting you again. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked the Discover Charleston Hotel Package and it was perfect. This hotel is exactly as advertised: a quaint and charming inn. The inn had very courteous staff, in a perfect location, and was quiet. The parking was also a major plus for this hotel. We ended up walking everywhere, and only used our vehicle once during the weekend to drive to Middleton Place Plantation. The room was very clean and like the rest of the inn, had a relaxing ambiance to it. This inn made our Girl's Weekend perfect, and I definitely plan to stay here again if I ever get the chance to visit Charleston again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for such an outstanding review of your stay. We just launched a new website, so I'm thrilled to hear such great feedback. From the sounds of it you all enjoyed a fun, yet calm and relaxing stay here at the Fulton Lane Inn. Please come back and see us soon for another "epic girls weekend!"

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews