We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room, friendly service”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely room, friendly service”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Excellent location, right downtown in historic area. Breakfast delivered to our room. King sized canopy bed, very comfortable. Package included carriage ride, plantation, and house tour.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    185
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
382
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights over the new year weekend, and it was absolutely fine.
The outside is brick, situated in a quaint alley, and we were greeted by a very helpful concierge. The interior of the hotel and our room were very nice--muted, cheerful colors, and a luxurious feel. It gets three instead of four stars for a couple of reasons: continental breakfast (free) consisted of very weak coffee and soggy pastries; there was one day when the maid didn't make up our room; every morning we were awakened by garbage trucks outside our window.
But overall, it was a pleasant experience, though nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernesto1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Having visited Charleston over the past forty years I have stayed at many different locations. I found this property and made reservations friday and saturday night (new year's eve) We parked the car on friday and never moved it until we left on Sunday. What is the saying, "Location, Location, Location" Centrally located we walked everywhere.
The room was well furnished and well maintained. My only problem was it was smaller than I like but since we spent little time in the room that was not a problem. The continental breakfast was fine and we chose to have it brought to the room each morning. This property is part of a group and there is one of their larger properties adjacent where they have full hot breakfast if you desire for a fee.
Parking is provided in a city lot located behind the Inn and the charge was $12 per day which seems to be a standard rate where ever I travel. All in all I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phjsr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Positives: really great location, central to everything; our room was very quiet, spacious and clean; bed was comfortable; front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Negatives: shower didn't quite work right; our room had zero view, was on a dark interior shaft; overall feel is a bit dated; breakfast is very basic; room was not made up until 5:30 pm. If you don't pay more than $200 for a standard room, I think it's fine - if we had paid more, it would not have felt like a good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Beautiful room, perfect location. Staff is great. Made some new friends at the wine & cheese reception. Spent Christmas Eve in the beautiful lobby next door (King's Courtyard) which is where the wine & cheese receptions are held with the people we had met. Fireplace was lit, beautiful Christmas tree - wonderful evening. We hated to leave. Will definitely be back. Concierge Susu was a delight and got us a reservation for Christmas day (evening) dinner at Poogan's Porch. You can check out my review of that restaurant also.

Room Tip: King. room with fireplace. Very quaint and romantic - loved the windows, perfect corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runninfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Everything was perfect except for the banshee shower noise and not enough water pressure to wash the soap out of my hair plus took 20 minutes at 6 am to get enough hot water to step into. Since I was so pampered in all other areas, I can certainly overlook the crazed shower situation. My bed was awesome which is important to me plus I must have a baby refrig and accommodation was super clean. Location is perfect so I could walk everywhere in the historic district. My room was very spacious and a corner room facing back parking lot with trees outside of windows so I felt lucky to have it assigned to me. Stayed in historic district 5 times now but Fulton Lane is my favorite lodging choice as of this vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetgrits1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Great location, walking distance to all great restaurants, sightseeing, night life, shopping... Self parking is behind hotel $12 a day.
Afternoon wine reception. Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful.
I was there three nights and love every minute of it.

Room Tip: ask for room in the middle section of the hotel to avoid traffic from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank su t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing