We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to learn the history of Charleston”

Old South Carriage Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.00*
and up
Charleston’s Old South Carriage Historic Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There's no better way to see historic Charleston than from the vantage point of an Old South Carriage. Family owned and operated since 1983, Old South Carriage Company offers fully narrated hour-long tours by licensed guides wearing the Confederate uniform with the Red Sash. Come to our English-style stable at 14 Anson Street, just 2 blocks from The City Market and meet our friendly and professional staff. Reservations are not necessary as tours depart every 20 - 30 minutes throughout the day. A ramp leading to a platform makes boarding easy. Old South Carriage Company uses French Percherons and Belgian Draft horses. These sturdy employees vacation at Sugah Cain, the owner's 65-acre plantation on John's Island. For 2-3 months annually, these beautiful horses are free to run in large pastures or leisurely graze under century-old live oaks. Tours operate daily from 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 (DST) 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. (EST). ~Look for the Red Sash~ Our symbol of a quality horse-drawn carriage tour of Charleston, South Carolina.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
326 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A great way to learn the history of Charleston”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had the opportunity to take a carriage tour with the Old South Carriage Company. Our tour leader's name was John (a band teacher) and he was great. He was able to answer our carriages questions, tell about local real estate, and of course the history of Charleston, SC. The tour lasted about an hour and we were awarded tour section #3. They have discount tickets on their website and also have the ability to combo with other tours within Charleston. The only regret we had was that we were told the last tour left downtown at 5:00 pm, however we went on a walking ghost tour with Bull Dog tours (next door) and saw many carriages in the city after 8:00 pm. Puzzling, but that is what all the companies said as well?? However, John was a great guide. Ask for John!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GTZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, Manager at Old South Carriage Company, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for riding with Old South!! We are glad you enjoyed your experience!! The tours you saw at night are not the same tour you do during the day. During the day it is a one hour tour of the residential areas. Whereas at night,it is a half hour tour of the commercial district, so you wouldn't see the big houses as you did during the day. Our residential tours do end at 5:00 pm as we have to be out of the residential district by 6:00 pm. Thanks again for riding with Old South Carriage, and we look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,116
    414
    84
    30
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Start your visit here”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Start your visit to Charleston with a horse drawn carriage tour. Old South takes very good care of their horses and has knowledgeable guides, so I felt good about endorsing their business. If you go to the market, all the carriage companies have stands/stables there, so you have many to choose from. You get randomly assigned to 1 of 3 routes through the city (assigned by the town, not the company) but no matter what you will see a good amount of the historic district. Bring your camera--you're moving slowly enough to get some great shots. This is a great way to orient yourself, see places you may want to tour (historic homes, parks, etc.) and get a good look at places you decide aren't worth the diversion. The only reason I didn't give it a 5/5 was that our tour guide let some of the older crowd in the front of the carriage monopolize her time a little too much. It wasn't really her fault--they were old, bossy, pushy ladies but it did take away from some of the relaxed nature of the tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goinback2hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Ride”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just wanted you to know that Tour Moderator, Dustin, @Old South Carriage is outstanding!

He not only is an expert in Charleston History, but also, is a very dynamic speaker.
Dustin is friendly, professional, and knowledgeable.

Dustin deserves raises, praises, accolades, special time off when he needs off, awards, and special recognition for doing an outstanding job!

Hire more people like Dustin!

Agents Kirstin and Jan do a great job at Old South Carriage also.

Thanks.
Very respectfully,

Colonel Carl L. Batton, USAF, Retired
President, AeroBatton, Inc.
cbatton255@yahoo.com

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlFairfax_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great tour of Charleston”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Quick overview - as others have said there are several tour companies in the same area. (actually there are only 4 companies that provide horse drawn carriages in Charleston) Old South and Palmetto are the main two that you see most often. And our tour from Old South was very good, our tour guide seemed knowledgeable, and the wait was reasonably short (as we went at 10am on a Friday). So very positive from our perspective. That said, the tour guides make or break the tour. I could imagine a great tour guide from Old South one day, and a not so great one another day. (maybe not, just guessing) Anyway, I would recommend Old South as I think the tour guides are good and well trained overall but I could image good guides at other companies too. In the end, it is a bit of crap shoot but I enjoyed the draft horses used by Old South (and the way they treat them). Great experience and great location - no matter which tour area (decided by the city) that you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wine_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great guide!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to give Old South a try. All of the carriage companies are basically all in the same location, so it's really a coin toss. We were concerned at first because they sit 4 people to each row even if one of the people is very large. A quite large lady sat on my hip the entire tour. However, the tour made up for it. Our guide was Arden. She was fantastic. She appeared to be genuinely interested in the history of Charleston. She gave us lots of fun facts I hadn't heard on other tours. Bill was our horse and he was a sweetheart! I am so glad we picked Old South!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lolo1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old South Carriage Company also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old South Carriage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing