We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveler rating
930
63
11
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
930
63
11
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews circa restaurant east wing hors d'oeuvres and wine garden room shrimp and grits jacuzzi tub gas fireplace gourmet breakfast on site restaurant spiral staircase working fireplace wine hour turn down service high ceilings bottle of champagne huge bathroom king street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

From the moment you walk in the door you know your visit will be wonderful. The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The mansion itself is beautifully maintained with a perfect mixture of retaining the authenticity of the past and the comforts of today. And don’t forget to go to their restaurant, Circa 1886. It is a gourmet delight.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank AnnPieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you for this wonderful recount of your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We are thrilled to hear that you found our accommodations to be restful and enjoyed our complimentary amenities. Your high praise of Circa 1886 is greatly appreciated. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Wentworth Mansion.

Sincerely,
Michelle Widman Woodhull, President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

This may have been my best hotel experience ever. My husband and I stayed in Suite 9 with my parents for 3 nights in April. Our jaws just dropped when we saw the Suite. Just gorgeous. Suite 9 has a very large bedroom area with lots of seating, a very large bathroom, a cozy study, and a large sunroom with French doors that close it off, a television, and a sofa that folds out into a bed. My husband and I slept on the sofa bed and it was just as comfy as the other hotel beds we slept on during our tour of South Carolina and Georgia! It was very spacious for the 4 of us. The service is flawless. Loved the wine and horderves served every afternoon and the daily breakfast in Circa 1886 was just lovely. It's convenient to sight-seeing and we enjoyed just relaxing in this luxury hotel. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank skkeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you for such a lovely recount of your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. Your compliments to our dedicated staff and all of the included amenities are so appreciated. We are thrilled that your time at the Wentworth Mansion was luxurious and relaxing. We hope you will join us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michelle Widman Woodhull, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Large room with separate shower and jacuzzi tub, fabulous restaurant and amazing staff.

Morning breakfasts were excellent and our dinner in Circa 1866 to die for.

This was a great experience in a great city.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 993CapeCodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Wentworth Mansion experience with us. It is great to read that our complimentary amenities and dedicated staff made your time with us all the more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wentworth Mansion on your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Michelle Widman Woodhull, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

There are many excellent hotels in Charleston and then there is Wentworth Mansion!
This was our second visit and having driven for over 8 hours from Sarasota, Florida all I can say is it was worth it.
There are many superlatives that can be used about this Mansion but really the only thing I can say is if you can stay here, if you can’t try harder next time you are in Charleston!

Room tip: Any room will be great
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belgarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We are always thrilled to welcome a guest back to the Wentworth Mansion. We appreciate your outstanding review and certainly look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston. Thank you for your recommendation.


Sincerely,
Michelle Widman Woodhull, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

I give the staff a 5 star rating. They demonstrate a strong sense of responsibility for their guests’ experience and this truly promotes the feeling of vacation. This was consistent throughout our 4 day stay from the concierge, bellman, cleaning person, restaurant waitstaff. This staff is well managed given the responsiveness, knowledge and solicitude which poured forth. Also worth noting is the restaurant (Circa 1886) which is outstanding. The inn is in a quiet location but an accessible walk to main attractions.

While I understand this is a historic home, in my opinion (and reasonable minds will differ), the inn itself is in need of refreshing. The decor is tired and dark. There were some maintenance issues (whirlpool tub wasn’t working and part unavailable quickly to fix; I overheard another guest mentioning their tub not usable). Our room had water staining on ceiling and other dirty markings and the bathroom exhaust fan and second fan for tub was as old and noisy as the one in our house which needs replacing. There was a propane smell from gas fireplace that was rectified by turning off the pilot flame and because the tub wasn’t working there were vague smells from the drain trap. These clearly are not hardships. They do make me pause, however, given the room rates. It was an enjoyable stay in an old home which would benefit from some upgrades of paint, plumbing and venting:).

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Discover30480198369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Wentworth Mansion. While we appreciate your compliments to our wonderful service staff, we are sorry to learn about your experience with housekeeping and maintenance of the room. Your visit does not reflect the high standards we set for the Wentworth Mansion. We value your feedback as we strive for a five-star guest experience every time.

Sincerely,
Michelle Widman Woodhull, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews