We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The mansion itself is beautiful and the people that make this inn run are the absolute best. From the moment I called for reservations until the moment we walked out the door after our stay, the service was exceptional. A big thank you to Stephanie and Cary "Grant" and all of the staff for making our stay extra special. Our room was elegant and well appointed with lovely furnishings. The room was large (as was the bathroom) and the sitting area in from of the fireplace was very comfortable and welcoming. The early evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were great and the snacks and stocked mini-fridge in the room were the icing on the cake. The Wentworth Mansion is truly unique in a wonderful way. It has the graciousness and charm of a bed and breakfast (including a lovely breakfast) and the privacy, amenities and spaciousness of a luxury hotel. We are very particular about where we stay as we believe the hotel/inn is an important part of a vacation. I can emphatically say we truly loved every minute of our stay at The Wentworth Mansion. We are already planning our next stay and can't wait!

Room Tip: When making a reservation, talk to the staff and tell them what you like in a room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for this glowing review of the Wentworth Mansion. I wish you a very happy 30th anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to highlight our outstanding staff and wonderful complimentary amenities. We sincerely appreciate your many kind remarks and will be sure to share your note with Cary and Stephanie. I am glad that the Wentworth Mansion played such an important role in your wonderful trip to Charleston. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 853 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is truly one of the finest properties I have ever stayed at. The staff was excellent and met all of your needs with a smile and a solution to your needs. Our room was very clean with only two minor issues. The toilet seat in the bathroon was so loose you could almost fall off the seat. The other minor issue, was the the wall paper in the toilet area was peeling off the wall. Also, the wall paper in the bathroom was cut short and as a result, there is a minor section on the right wall as you enter the bathroom in room #6 which needs some attention. You will enjoy this wonderful walk down memory lane.

Room Tip: Enjoy this beautiful resort property
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whytegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

What a delightful review of the Wentworth Mansion! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and historic property. Thank you for bringing these maintenance issues to our attention. The extreme cold snap caused these issues in the bathroom; each item has since been addressed. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I loved this place! The hotel itself was cozy and the room was so romantic! Had a fireplace, high ceilings and lots of old world style. The staff was very polite and the daily breakfast was excellent. The only areas of improvement I can think of are: bed was a little soft (room #7), Q-tips were bad quality (I am reaching here but it is true) and they should invest in soft close toilet seat covers.
So these are small nit-picky details as the place was really perfect and we loved it. The location is good only a short walk to the town center (5-10 min max). I would definitely go back and stay here again. Super romantic.

Room Tip: We loved room #7. Fireplace and balcony!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your romantic getaway. I am thrilled that you had such an exceptional visit. Our guests love breakfast in the carriage house at Circa 1886 and I’m delighted that you enjoyed the experience as well. We appreciate the feedback on the items in your room as we constantly look for ways to exceed our guests' expectations. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The fella booked us in Suite 9 here for New Year's, which also happens to be our anniversary, and we were pretty darn excited to stay. Parking and wireless are free, which can be rare for fancy hotels, and the bellman greeted us in the parking lot to bring in our bags.

Our room was GLORIOUS - fireplace in the huge bedroom with TV, separate office, separate sun room with TV, and a huge bathroom with jet tub, glass shower with two shower heads and separate room for the toilet. It even had a heat vent so you wouldn't get cold when you got out of the shower! I also appreciated the complimentary water and sodas in the room fridge and the treats left at our door each night.

Just a few negatives...

- The hotel IS off the beaten path from downtown (all the places we went downtown were at least a half-mile away but usually more than that), and there are some dark, sketchy roads just one block away from the hotel, like Beaufain. We took the long route some nights just to avoid it, so be careful.

- The pillows were like tiny, smushy cotton balls, so you might want to bring your own.

- Lastly, we left one morning around 10:00 to go on a sightseeing tour and eat lunch, and when we came back three hours later, our room still hadn't been serviced. I was looking forward to hanging out in it before dinner, but we had to call down and ask if it could be cleaned; the front desk said they would ask the housekeeper where she was and if she could get to it soon. If? I told her I'd just sit downstairs and read while it was cleaned; after an hour, I finally went upstairs and it was done, but no one had told me and there didn't seem to be much urgency around it. Just thought that was odd for a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vandelay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. Happy Anniversary and New Year! Thank you for spending these special occasions at the Wentworth Mansion. Suite 9 is fantastic; we loved reading about your favorite room features. The Wentworth Mansion is just four blocks from King Street’s many restaurants and shops. We can assure you that the surrounding streets are very safe for walking. Please keep in mind that our staff is always happy to arrange a taxi or pedicab ride at night - or any time of day. We appreciate your pillow feedback. At turndown, we place four goose down feather pillows and two synthetic pillows on each bed to give guests a variety of options. All pillows were replaced last year and are regularly checked for quality. I apologize that your room was not serviced in time to enjoy one afternoon. Our housekeepers do their best to service rooms when they know guests are gone. During your next visit, please let us know when you are headed out, as we are always happy to accommodate service request times. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This mansion hotel is fabulous. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. When you are looking for the true historic Charleston experience this is the place to stay. Breakfast was fabulous and the service is simply the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about the Wentworth -excellent service - every employee epitomized southern hospitality at its finest! Rooms are spacious, immaculate and have all amenities, a lovely fireplace, complimentary stocked mini fridge with beverages, wonderful housekeeping and turn down services! Great location - walk to Kings street! On premises is their restaurant -5 stars for ambience, food and service! Incredible dinners! Dont miss the awesome breakfasts with the sweetest server, Miss Betty!
Only disappointment was the spa. Beautiful location in old horse stable on premise but inexperienced staff and lots of mix ups with appts and services. However Amanda the manager, made a price adjustment as we did not receive the proper services AND sent a beautiful complimentary plate of choc.
covered strawberrys to our room!
The management and concierge services provided are top shelf!
We hope to return in March!



  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenie12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you're looking for an upscale way to experience aristocratic, historic Charleston, this is the place to stay.

Entry
There are no signs, so you might have to circle the block once to find the parking entrance. It's on a side street.

Parking is free and there are lots of spaces.

From there you face a massive structure with lots of steps and no signs. If you're lucky, someone will spot you and help you with your bags. If you're not, you will carry or drag them across the rocks and sidewalk until you meet the stairs....hoping that you're climbing the right ones. A "welcome" sign would help give some guidance.

Check In
At the top you will find friendly people who will quickly check you in and whisk you away to your room.

Room
My room was enormous. It was historic, but solid and had new/working fixtures including a large tub, shower and bathroom. Lots of space and a large,comfy bed. There was also a gas powered fireplace. The room had windows all around with a view of the city/neighborhood.

Tower
The roof had a circular stairwell leading to a rooftop deck where you can walk out and see a 360 view of the city. Gorgeous sunsets.

Amenities
Free wine and snacks in the afternoon. Free liqueur (3 choices) 24/7 and free breakfast in their signature restaurant. Lots of choices for this full breakfast.

Service
Housekeepers were outstanding. They were friendly and rarely seen -- they would sneak in when you were away. The turndown service is great because they close the windows and turn on mood music. Bellman, once we found him was super helpful and friendly.

Walk
It's about a 7-10 minute walk to King Street. It appears to be a safe neighborhood, but it's really dark walking back and forth. After a great meal in town it's nice to work off the calories.


Bottom Line
If you're looking for historic, boutique luxury on the pricier side, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angmohgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for your five-star review. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at the Wentworth Mansion. Your detailed feedback is appreciated. I apologize that you had difficulty finding the entrance and a bellman. At the time of your arrival, our bell staff was assisting a guest who was ill. I am glad that you had a warm welcome once inside the inn. Thank you for sharing your memories and recommendations with the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to spending time with you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,880 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $370 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing