We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff Makes this Place”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My family and I stayed there August 2013. We have three kids and usually these boutique type hotels aren't all that kid friendly. Not the Wentworth. The staff there indulged my children's every whim. The hotel is so rich in history and architecture, it would be worth visiting even if the service wasn't good. But the service is great. For me, the most memorable part was when we had breakfast each morning, the waitress, while helping another table with their order, would over hear one of my kids asking me or something and she would come back with it without us even asking her. She was amazing. And she had such a bright and happy demeanor it was always a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Take a trip up to the roof. The view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled that you and your entire family made such wonderful memories at the Wentworth Mansion. Our staff takes great pride in delivering exceptional service, so your notes are appreciated. We hope that you find your way back to Charleston soon. We'll look forward to hosting you.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 869 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I were happy to stay at the Wentworth Mansion to celebrate our wedding anniversary and his birthday, which fall within the same week. We had high expectations and our couples get-away weekend was long awaited.

The property and grounds are beautiful, with lots of old world elegance and charm. The hotel staff are extremely helpful in every way, for example, as soon as we arrived, they gave us a tour of the common areas of the hotel and assisted us with dinner reservations at an excellent and stylish local restaurant.

The hotel includes several complimentary amenities such as fresh coffee and warm croissants in the morning, a wonderful menu breakfast in its restaurant, Circa 1886, water and soft drinks in the room, a nice wine and appetizers at cocktail hour and sherry, port and brandy throughout the day. All of this lends a hospitable aire of an upscale bed and breakfast and invites a feeling of pampered relaxation.

The only area that fell short of expectations was our room. We had reserved an East Wing room, and while we knew these rooms were at the low end of the room and suite options, we liked the photo of the East Wing rooms on the website because of the balcony and the overall light and airy feel the photo portrayed. Our room, #6, was neither; it was dark and somewhat cramped, with so much furniture for the space of the room that it was hard not to trip over our things and/or each other. Nevertheless, the balcony was quite pleasant and the bathroom was spacious.

Speaking of the bathroom, we were really surprised by the linens: the towels were thin and gray. One would expect that a room priced at over $400 would include fresh, thick white towels. The bed linens were also somewhat worn, but less noticeably so, probably since the room was so dark.

All in all we had a wonderful short stay at the Wentworth Mansion, but if we ever find ourselves in Charleston again, we would probably try out another property, even though the staff at both the restaurant and the hotel make an extra effort and the overall experience is quite lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverLining905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Happy Anniversary and birthday! Thank you for choosing to spend these special occasions at the Wentworth Mansion. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and had such a lovely visit. We appreciate your detailed note about our complimentary amenities and wonderful service team. I am sorry that our East Wing Room was not as grand as you’d hoped. This is one of our smaller rooms, and a less expensive option, but it does have the wonderful balcony as you noted. Thank you for your feedback the room’s set up. Due to the historic nature of our property, we are somewhat limited in efficiently arranging our furniture and lighting. Your comments are appreciated. I am very sorry to hear about your towels and sheets. We use the finest Filadora linens and I apologize, as you must have had an older set of linens. We will go through our inventory to ensure that anything not up to standard is removed. Thank you again for your wonderful review. We do hope that you will visit with us again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Wentworth Mansion, but we will return on our next trip. The inn is well maintained and its history adds to the air of elegance and romance. We stayed in room 402 just at the bottom of the spiral staircase that leads you up to the rooftop cupola. It was lovely with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub, separate marble bathroom included shower.
The hotel is situated a short walk from the hustle and bustle of King Street. Having stayed at a few different hotels/inns in Charleston on past visits, we appreciated being able to step out of the chaos, but still close enough to walk to restaurants, shopping and sites.
We had a drink at the circa 1886, but didn't have enough time to enjoy the restaurant or all the amenities of the hotel.
Would highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwiggyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your memories of the Wentworth Mansion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the inn and your time in Charleston. Your thorough review of our accommodations is appreciated and we look forward to visiting with you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would add "friendly" to all the wonderful things that Wentworth Mansion is. They accommodated my 4 non-staying friends at afternoon hors d'oeuvres and breakfast (with advance notice and for a very reasonable extra charge), the bellman was a doll, the front staff was ever-attentive, and having free Diet Cokes available in my room each afternoon when I returned hot and tired from the Charleston heat was heaven. Room 19 was so spacious that I could host my friends in it for wine and snacks and have it feel like it was my own place. I would definitely stay there again, and heartily recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 19 on the 4th floor was large, with a king bed, spacious bathroom, separate toilet and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

I am thrilled that you had such a positive experience at the Wentworth Mansion. It sounds as though you had a very special, memorable stay. Thank you for sharing your memories. We appreciate your fantastic review and look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a visit to the Charleston area. We own a large pre-civil war home that we restored and opened as an Inn in Asheville NC, and wanted to do a quick getaway before the busy "leaf season" starts up. We chose Wentorth Mansion due to the similarities it shared with our property (The Reynolds Mansion), and wanted to compare restoration work and level of service. Needless to say, we were impressed on both counts!

The attention to detail was amazing in the restoration of this beautiful old mansion. Down to the smallest detail, we were both blown away at the beautiful job that was done. We stayed in a Mansion Suite, and the amount of space was just fantastic. The bedroom was well appointed and very large, the separate sun room had a sofa and second television for relaxing without having to sit on your bed, and the bathroom was very spacious with a garden tub and separate shower.

As fantastic as the house was, it was equally the staff that made our stay unforgettable. Kenneth greeted us and checked us in. He also took the time after the social hour to personally show us one the largest unoccupied rooms, so we could get even more of a visiual on the level of restoration work that took place. Cary showed us to our room after checking in and walked us through everything we needed to know about the amenities of the house and our room. He covered everything perfectly and was very careful to make sure we had everything we needed to get settled in. Stephanie was at the desk both evenings, and was great at answering questions about resturants and the general area. We had a list of several places we wanted to see and she helped a lot in narrowing down our decisions. Our morning breakfasts were also unbeleivable and severed each morning by a fantastic server named Jennifer. She was so enjoyable to talk with each morning and also knew a lot about the area and points of interest. Owning an Inn ourselves, we truly understand how important the guest interaction can be. The Wentworth Mansion and Circa 1886 Resturant are extrememly fortunate to have such valuable employees.

As you can tell from my review, we were extremely happy with our choice in place to stay during our visit. When we look back and talk about the highlight of our trip, we both agree it was the stay at Wentworth Mansion, that ranks #1. Thank you all for such a great visit, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRsportChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

What a wonderful review! As a fellow innkeeper, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for praising so many of our staff members. They are a fantastic team, dedicated to delivering guests with a memorable, five-star experience. We look forward to hosting you both again and cannot thank you enough for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

in every way. From the property, grounds... to the room, all beautiful. Great service from everyone we dealt with. Easy walking distance to the market. Couldn't recommend it more highly. Bravo. No work out facility, but they have a relationship with a gym a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnycheekawonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It is very difficult choosing hotels from websites and using trip advisor and often the reality does not match up with the photographs. On this occasion I have to say that this hotel exceeded all our expectations and that it looks even nicer in the flesh. From the moment we were greeted in our cars until our departure the service was excellent. We particularly appreciated Garry's introductory tour and the lovely way he showed us around and helped us on our visit. Our rooms (10 and 12) were beautiful - probably one of my favourite hotel rooms ever and room 10 would make a lovely honeymoon room. The room is beautifully decorated and has a fantastic bathroom - one of the largest I have used in a hotel. When you look at prices you need to factor in that the price includes free car parking, wifi, complimentary drinks in the bedroom, a really great free breakfast, complimentary food at different times of the day and port/sherry in the evening. All in all it makes for very good value - the snacks served at 5-7pm are a particular highlight - our children loved them. Fantastic double shower in room 10. Lots of helpful recommendations and patient help with booking. Wifi was a bit weak at times and I would have liked to have been able to order a hot chocolate in the evening but those are minor quibbles. We had room service from the Circa restaurant on the second evening - it was unavailable on the first evening due to an event and fully booked the second evening. Breakfast in Circa was lovely and it is great that it is included in the price which is rare in the US. Overall we had a fantastic time here - the weather wasn't great but I could have just stayed in my room and had a good time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 10 is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

The Wentworth Mansion is committed to providing each guest with an unforgettable, top notch experience. We are glad that this mission was accomplished and your expectations were exceeded. I appreciate your feedback about the hotel's overall value. We feel it is very important to extend complimentary amenities - like gourmet breakfast and free parking - without additional fees. Our team looks forward to hosting you again for another 'perfect' stay. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
502 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $391 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing