We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wentworth Mansion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
John Rutledge House Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
820
58
11
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
58
11
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscirca restaurantsun roomeast wingtiffany windowshors d'oeuvres and wineadjacent restaurantshrimp and gritsgas fireplacejacuzzi tubgourmet breakfastspiral staircaseon site restaurantbottle of champagneworking fireplaceking streethuge bathroomafternoon wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 901 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I were happy to stay at the Wentworth Mansion to celebrate our wedding anniversary and his birthday, which fall within the same week. We had high expectations and our couples get-away weekend was long awaited.

The property and grounds are beautiful, with lots of old world elegance and charm. The hotel staff are extremely helpful in every way, for example, as soon as we arrived, they gave us a tour of the common areas of the hotel and assisted us with dinner reservations at an excellent and stylish local restaurant.

The hotel includes several complimentary amenities such as fresh coffee and warm croissants in the morning, a wonderful menu breakfast in its restaurant, Circa 1886, water and soft drinks in the room, a nice wine and appetizers at cocktail hour and sherry, port and brandy throughout the day. All of this lends a hospitable aire of an upscale bed and breakfast and invites a feeling of pampered relaxation.

The only area that fell short of expectations was our room. We had reserved an East Wing room, and while we knew these rooms were at the low end of the room and suite options, we liked the photo of the East Wing rooms on the website because of the balcony and the overall light and airy feel the photo portrayed. Our room, #6, was neither; it was dark and somewhat cramped, with so much furniture for the space of the room that it was hard not to trip over our things and/or each other. Nevertheless, the balcony was quite pleasant and the bathroom was spacious.

Speaking of the bathroom, we were really surprised by the linens: the towels were thin and gray. One would expect that a room priced at over $400 would include fresh, thick white towels. The bed linens were also somewhat worn, but less noticeably so, probably since the room was so dark.

All in all we had a wonderful short stay at the Wentworth Mansion, but if we ever find ourselves in Charleston again, we would probably try out another property, even though the staff at both the restaurant and the hotel make an extra effort and the overall experience is quite lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverLining905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Happy Anniversary and birthday! Thank you for choosing to spend these special occasions at the Wentworth Mansion. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and had such a lovely visit. We appreciate your detailed note about our complimentary amenities and wonderful service team. I am sorry that our East Wing Room was not as grand as you’d hoped. This is one of our smaller rooms, and a less expensive option, but it does have the wonderful balcony as you noted. Thank you for your feedback the room’s set up. Due to the historic nature of our property, we are somewhat limited in efficiently arranging our furniture and lighting. Your comments are appreciated. I am very sorry to hear about your towels and sheets. We use the finest Filadora linens and I apologize, as you must have had an older set of linens. We will go through our inventory to ensure that anything not up to standard is removed. Thank you again for your wonderful review. We do hope that you will visit with us again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed one night at the Wentworth Mansion, but we will return on our next trip. The inn is well maintained and its history adds to the air of elegance and romance. We stayed in room 402 just at the bottom of the spiral staircase that leads you up to the rooftop cupola. It was lovely with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub, separate marble bathroom included shower.
The hotel is situated a short walk from the hustle and bustle of King Street. Having stayed at a few different hotels/inns in Charleston on past visits, we appreciated being able to step out of the chaos, but still close enough to walk to restaurants, shopping and sites.
We had a drink at the circa 1886, but didn't have enough time to enjoy the restaurant or all the amenities of the hotel.
Would highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwiggyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your memories of the Wentworth Mansion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the inn and your time in Charleston. Your thorough review of our accommodations is appreciated and we look forward to visiting with you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would add "friendly" to all the wonderful things that Wentworth Mansion is. They accommodated my 4 non-staying friends at afternoon hors d'oeuvres and breakfast (with advance notice and for a very reasonable extra charge), the bellman was a doll, the front staff was ever-attentive, and having free Diet Cokes available in my room each afternoon when I returned hot and tired from the Charleston heat was heaven. Room 19 was so spacious that I could host my friends in it for wine and snacks and have it feel like it was my own place. I would definitely stay there again, and heartily recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 19 on the 4th floor was large, with a king bed, spacious bathroom, separate toilet and shower, big whirlpool tub, and a window to the out of doors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

I am thrilled that you had such a positive experience at the Wentworth Mansion. It sounds as though you had a very special, memorable stay. Thank you for sharing your memories. We appreciate your fantastic review and look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a visit to the Charleston area. We own a large pre-civil war home that we restored and opened as an Inn in Asheville NC, and wanted to do a quick getaway before the busy "leaf season" starts up. We chose Wentorth Mansion due to the similarities it shared with our property (The Reynolds Mansion), and wanted to compare restoration work and level of service. Needless to say, we were impressed on both counts!

The attention to detail was amazing in the restoration of this beautiful old mansion. Down to the smallest detail, we were both blown away at the beautiful job that was done. We stayed in a Mansion Suite, and the amount of space was just fantastic. The bedroom was well appointed and very large, the separate sun room had a sofa and second television for relaxing without having to sit on your bed, and the bathroom was very spacious with a garden tub and separate shower.

As fantastic as the house was, it was equally the staff that made our stay unforgettable. Kenneth greeted us and checked us in. He also took the time after the social hour to personally show us one the largest unoccupied rooms, so we could get even more of a visiual on the level of restoration work that took place. Cary showed us to our room after checking in and walked us through everything we needed to know about the amenities of the house and our room. He covered everything perfectly and was very careful to make sure we had everything we needed to get settled in. Stephanie was at the desk both evenings, and was great at answering questions about resturants and the general area. We had a list of several places we wanted to see and she helped a lot in narrowing down our decisions. Our morning breakfasts were also unbeleivable and severed each morning by a fantastic server named Jennifer. She was so enjoyable to talk with each morning and also knew a lot about the area and points of interest. Owning an Inn ourselves, we truly understand how important the guest interaction can be. The Wentworth Mansion and Circa 1886 Resturant are extrememly fortunate to have such valuable employees.

As you can tell from my review, we were extremely happy with our choice in place to stay during our visit. When we look back and talk about the highlight of our trip, we both agree it was the stay at Wentworth Mansion, that ranks #1. Thank you all for such a great visit, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRsportChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

What a wonderful review! As a fellow innkeeper, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for praising so many of our staff members. They are a fantastic team, dedicated to delivering guests with a memorable, five-star experience. We look forward to hosting you both again and cannot thank you enough for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

in every way. From the property, grounds... to the room, all beautiful. Great service from everyone we dealt with. Easy walking distance to the market. Couldn't recommend it more highly. Bravo. No work out facility, but they have a relationship with a gym a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnycheekawonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews