We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Place to stay”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

wonderful room accomodations., attentive staff.excellent breakfast, as well as dinner(reservations required). I would definitely stay again. No fitness room, but access to local fitness center-10 minute walk. we had a room on the first floor with a private balcony viewing nice vegetation.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25001Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 862 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose the Wentworth because we wanted to stay in a historical hotel and were not
disappointed! A little off the beaten path, but we like to walk, so it worked out fine. Just loved
the private parking lot, too. The staff could not have been friendlier, making dinner reservations and even remembering our names during our stay. One of the highlights was going up to the cupola and taking in magnificient views of Charleston. Took a bottle of wine and enjoyed the terrific sunset at night. The breakfast that is included is set in the lovely Circa 1886 restaurant on the grounds just a short wlak away, and offers delicious southern choices in a charming setting. Excellent wait staff here, too. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Loved our spacious bathroom. The furnishings are a bit tired, especially the rug runners in the hall, but that may just add to the historical ambience. Still highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are glad that your visit to our historic inn was everything you dreamed of. Thank you for sharing these special memories. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and were treated so well by our five-star staff. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction at all times and appreciate your feedback on our furnishings. We hope to visit with you again soon. Many thanks for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a beautiful place and experience. The mansion is like going back in time....so amazing.
The staff could not be nicer or more professional. The restaurant food is top quality and just plain delicious. Anyone who wants to feel more like a Charleston resident versus a tourist should stay here.
We just simply loved the entire stay.....it was truly sad to leave....we'll be back!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room at the Wentworth. We had several clients staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed in many places and have to say this is the most AMAZING. Not just the look, but the service and history. Everyone needs to stay here!!! You will never be unhappy, just looking at the mansion and spending time in your room is so comforting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a small client group stay at the Wentworth Mansion and the staff was amazing and attentive. The rooms are cozy and charming. The breakfast at their restaurant, Circa 1886 was delicious and dinner too! The Spa located in the original stables was so beautiful and the services very relaxing. It was a pleasure dealing with everyone at the Wentworth and they made our client trip very memorable. For a unique experience and first class amenities, I definitely recommend staying at the Wentworth Mansion.

Room Tip: I loved the garden room as it had a little porch included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madigan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for bringing your clients to the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that everyone had such an amazing experience, was able to visit Circa 1886 and our spa. The pleasure was ours and we hope to host you all in Charleston again. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Mansion twice in the last two years. Both stays have been relaxing weekends of dining and shopping. The Mansion is off the beaten path in a residential area, making it a quiet oasis not to be found in noisy downtown. But Queen Street is an easy walk away, and pedi-cabs are perfect for getting to and from restaurants for dinner. However, the hotel restaurant, Circa 1886, is one of the best in the city. The full breakfast inluded in the room rate is wonderful. The Mansion is beautiful and the rooms are large and comfortable, although the decor is a little tired. Overall, we have found it to be an excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

I am thrilled to read that you and your husband had a third special visit to the Wentworth Mansion. Thank you for your loyalty! I appreciate the wonderful recommendation for our restaurant Circa 1886 and other points of interest nearby. We look forward to hosting another relaxing stay here in Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

As I walked in the first thing that hit me was a musty smell which later I put down to the numerous gas fires mixed with a good amount of dust!
The staff were helpful and did go out of their way to help. However our room (room 12) albeit large, was dark, again, had a musty smell and really was very dirty. Thick dust lay on the window ledges, floors, picture frames and worst of all on the canopy above the bed we slept in. The bathroom was bright and large, but again was shabby; a crack in the basin and wallpaper peeling off the wall with damp stains.
Overall for me, this is not a boutique hotel and is certainly not 5 star and at the price of almost $500 a night, is not good value for money. Obviously other guests must have different standards otherwise how does this hotel rate so highly on Tripadvisor?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Anne-Marie2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for recognizing the outstanding service of our staff, however I must sincerely apologize that the room was dusty. This is unacceptable to us and for that reason, we have refunded you $500. Please be assured that the dust issue and other issues are being rectified immediately. We diligently strive to exceed all of our guests’ expectations as reflected by 99% of our TripAdvisor reviewers.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,905 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,240 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,444 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $392 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing