We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“17 People 17 VERY happy guests”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have traveled around the world with my group of friends. We know how to travel together and have high standards for what works for us. We carefully decide where we will stay and where we will eat. The Wentworth Mansion and Circa 1886 delighted and pleased everyone!! It was Southern Hospitality in an exceptional setting with delicious-incredible-well served food... that made us feel truly welcomed and cared for. Thank you for providing us with an environment that allowed us to comfortably relax together and connect with each other!

Room Tip: All 9 rooms were great for our group. In reading comments - I would never wait until I was leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariOn51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Wentworth Mansion as your designated gathering place this year. It was our pleasure to host your group. I am so pleased that you all had such an enjoyable time, both at the inn and our restaurant Circa 1886. I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and our service team extended some true Southern hospitality. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you all again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 881 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here on a recent business trip. Very nice rooms and amenities. Staff was pleasant and helpful, aside from the woman who attended the desk during the day. When my friend and I inquired about a cab, she informed us we weren't in NYC anymore and we couldnt just hail one. Which we knew, which was why we were asking. And I live in CT! For the amount of money per night I didn't appreciate her attitude. But every single other person on staff was wonderful and truly hospitable? Overall the hotel overall was really nice.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your Wentworth Mansion experience. I am glad that overall, you enjoyed a positive experience at the inn. We spoke to our concierge about the incident you noted. She sincerely apologizes for the misunderstanding on the availability of cabs in Charleston. Her intent was to inform you that in Charleston, unlike larger cities, cabs must be ordered in advance and cannot be hailed. This can sometimes create a wait period before the cab arrives. We are very sorry for the miscommunication and hope to host your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wow! Is my understated assessment of our stay. Very comfortable bed and wonderfully relaxing fireplace in our room. Jaccuzzi was total comfort. It is a true architectural gem, celebrating the success of 19th century businessman. Dinner at Circa 1886 was deliciously creative.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor had wonderful views of the totally charming neighborhood. Just outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miguelacho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for such an outstanding review of the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Mansion and enjoyed our unique architectural features. I am glad you were able to visit our restaurant Circa 1886 - I will share your high praise with our team. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room, bed, linens & bath were as luxurious and comfortable as any we have ever enjoyed! The staff and service was impeccable. Our complimentary breakfast at Circa 1886 was delicious; we were only disappointed that the restaurant was closed Sunday evening when we arrived.

Room Tip: We travel with our little poodle and the garden room was the most comfortable and easy to deal with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aikenite08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

I appreciate your wonderful review the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that you had such a memorable stay. Thank you for bringing your dog along for a Charleston getaway as well. I am glad that our Garden Room was a convenient and comfortable place for everyone to relax. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Dirty,Tired, and several very uneven blocks from the shopping and restaurant district. (i know, you can't blame the hotel for its out of the way location) but the dirty and tired..not good...but, it must have been very nice in its day. I think that sums it up. Pass it by, you'll thank me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LPK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

My staff and myself as owner take all comments very seriously. Your comments upset us and we are very disappointed that you never mentioned any concerns to the staff or management, as we could have investigated and discussed a solution. Your room (#21) is not "dirty and tired" (nor are any other areas of the inn), which is validated by the exemplary review from a guest who just recently stayed in Room 21: "A Treasure" from November 17, 2012. We are always sorry when even one guest is disappointed, but stand by our exceptional facility and staff.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This trip was for our 25th Anniversary. I was leaning to a very upscale golf resort in Virginia but my wife doesn't play so the clubs stayed in the garage and we came to Charleston. Tripadvisor had recommended the Wentworth as the second best facility in Charleston, I think that is an error. We would be hard pressed to think of any aspect of our stay that some other facility could do better. The staff was completely knowledgable and professional, services impeccable, room was meticulous and amenities first class. The only area better than the Wentworth was it's restaurant Circa 1886, which will be discussed separately. For a memorable event in Charleston, the Wentworth should receive top priority consideration.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyhoundgriffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for such an outstanding review of your 25th anniversary at the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled to read such high praise for our team, accommodations and amenities. We constantly strive to exceed our guests' expectations and take great pride in delivering a five star experience. I greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope anniversary trips to Charleston become a new tradition.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Overall, beautiful hotel with attentive staff. However, do not stay in Mansion Suite on 1st floor. You can hear everything in the hallway and receptionist desk that is right outside your door. There is absolutely no sound barrier. If you like historic, small B&B experience, you should stay here. If you are accustomed to full-service hotel amenities, 24-hour room service, all-day dining & bar, then this hotel may not be a fit.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms away from staircase. Old property with a lot of creaks. Avoid 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCPME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for review of the Wentworth Mansion. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. My staff and myself are committed to seeking 100% guest satisfaction. I am very sorry that you were disturbed by noise outside your room. I can assure you that we took great measures to soundproof this historic building during its restoration. We do our best to provide a quiet experience for our guests and apologize that other guests disturbed you. We constantly strive to improve and I appreciate your feedback on the matter. We hope to host your future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
515 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
719 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 62 in Charleston
538 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $412 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing