We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in Charleston”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stay in Charleston quite a bit and with so many lovely hotels to chose from Wentworth Mansion has been our favorite. We went for our 10 year wedding anniversary and everything was superb. We loved the beautiful, historic room, the delicious wine/apps, the tasty breakfast, and the outstanding staff. They had champagne for us on turndown service, along with chocolates. The perfect way to celebrate our anniversary. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 869 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting the Wentworth Mansion recently, and loved every minute of our stay. The staff is friendly and professional, yet unpretentious. Accommodations were perfect...we loved the music in our room and fresh flowers. Breakfast was a real treat, menu service at their adjacent restaurant. Location is perfect...you feel far away from the hustle and bustle of Charleston, but you are just a few blocks from fine dining, shopping, galleries and attractions. It's easy to see why this gem is so highly rated. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleAngel822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Another great stay. The hotel is comfortable, clean and quiet. It is easy to get to and out of busy area of town but still walking distance to sites.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awey33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a great room and the staff was very helpful. Dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant was also excellent. Everything was top quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent three nights at the Wentworth Mansion and have nothing but wonderful memories. My parents and their aide had the accessible garden room, which was perfect for them. It is not easy to find accessible accommodations in historic Charleston, but the Wentworth had a room on the bottom floor that had it's own entrance (ramp) near parking area. My husband and I had a mansion room on the top floor which we loved, primarily because it was adjacent to the spiral staircase leading up to the rooftop cupola, where we'd watch the sunrise in the mornings. Lovely. Our son and a cousin had their own rooms in the East wing and reported that they were very comfortable. All of the bathrooms were modern and large. The beds were very comfortable. The location was in a quiet area, about an easy fifteen minute walk to the historic waterfront. We really enjoyed the walk, however, the sidewalks are not great for those with mobility issues. You can really walk everywhere from the Wentworth location.
The common rooms are lovely. For early risers, coffee ,fruit and pastries are beautifully set up in the lobby area where you can settle into comfy sofas and chairs, or you can enjoy your morning (and afternoon) snacks in an adjacent sun room (also perfect for reading on a rainy day). While I could go on about how comfortable we were at the Wentworth Mansion, what made our stay so exceptional was the staff. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. However, the inkeeper, Noreen Marchant, impressed me from my first conversation with her. I explained that we needed an accessible room. They had one, but it was presently reserved for another party. Rather than simply saying, "I'm sorry," Noreen proceeded to contact the other party to see if they needed the accessible room. They didn't, so she upgraded them to another room and offered the accessible room to us. Since we were making a quick trip to Charleston and had a large group, Noreen offered to make dinner and lunch reservations for us during our stay. This was no easy task as many of the restaurants in Charleston are in old historic buildings and are not accessible. I have no doubt that Noreen spent quite a bit of time finding just the right restaurants for our party...including a lovely restaurant where we celebrated my parents' 62nd wedding anniversary. She also arranged for a cake. Upon arrival, my folks found flowers in their room as well as a lovely gift basket, with Noreen's very personal touch. On the first day, when they returned to their room in the evening, they found a complimentary bottle of champagne and strawberries. The accolades could go on and on. Thank you, Noreen, for helping to make our weekend extra special!

Room Tip: I would have loved to have experienced one of the suites, but they were all booked. All of the four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac5Miami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great all around experience. Staff is beyond friendly and caters to your every need. They even surprised my wife and I and left us a bottle of champagne and two glasses and a congratulations card on our marriage. The rooms were amazing, both clean and comfortable! The free breakfast was amazing, all was fresh and prepared to perfection. I am very picky with hotels I choose to stay in and have stayed at a Ritz Carlton in Miami, The Greenbriar in West Virginia, and the Bellagio in Las Vegas, they don't compare to this Gem of a hotel (or should I say Mansion). Stop thinking twice about it and researching where to stay, make the reservation and spend that time planning your trip, you won't find a nicer place!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the corner rooms, simply beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is the only place to stay in Charleston. The staff is truly awesome and customer service is their goal. We stayed again for our 20th anniversary and it was awesome. We had the couples massage and the spa was great. The morning breakfast at Circa is great. We will always return and look forward to seeing The staff.

Room Tip: Mansion rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rookie1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
502 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $391 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing