We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosquitos in the Rooms ! You Can't Sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mosquitos in the Rooms ! You Can't Sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

we killed more than 12 mosquitos in our room... Location is good, staff is friendly.. but rooms and beds are terrible...
I do not recommend at all.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank awdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    401
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,353
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

Vendue has a nice location and was dog-friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated -- we had a 1 br suite. The king bed was really high, with appropriate victorian-period steps to get there. However, the rooms needed a solid cleaning (carpet worn, slight mildew smell). Additionally, the room had little to no sound proofing, so the workmen that started around 7am every morning were heard loud and clear, as was the constant loud elevator noise for people on their way to the Rooftop (until after midnight every night). On a side note, their restaurant was pretty bad... The tastes weren't good and the service wasn't great either... a real disappointment.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sportmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Orab,Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

The location of this hotel was excellent. It is right in the middle of everything. Only a stone throw away from Waterfront park. On July 4th, the hotel allowed us to go on the roof top bar to see the fireworks. We probably should of watched from the waterpark, it would of been easier to see. The rooms are divided into two buildings, across the street from each other. The rooms are made to be antiquish, and have an older look to them. The walls are extremely thin (we heard our neighbor snoring), which is the only downfall. The staff is excellent. Each day there was sweet tea, water and lemonade available for refreshment after our travels. The breakfast setting was out of this world, very elegant. The bed was very comfortable. If your a sound sleeper, I would reccommend it greatly.

  • Liked — Great location and ammenities
  • Disliked — The walls were thin.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spillersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

My wife and I were travelling mid-week during the middle of June and came across this place while enjoying a micro-beer across the street from the Vendue Inn. We were pleased to find that they had a room for 2 nights for us.

The location is really a highlight of this place. You are basically within walking distance of everything: the river, the battery, shops, restaurants/bars, and the outdoor malls. If you prefer, they even have bikes that you can use while you are there - which is a great way to see the residential areas.

The room itself was beautiful: old restored wood floors, brick walls, comfy bed, nicely done bathrooms. You get a newspaper each day, along with a very tasty breakfast, bottled water, and even a "social hour" each day with small finger food and wine.

At the top of the Vendue Inn is a great rooftop bar/restaurant, which obviously has some of the best views in the city.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and I would definitely stay there again. If you are going to Charleston, this is the place to be.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — I would guess the price - but, you get what you pay for...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

After posting some questions on the forum pages and reading some previous reviews .... hesitation, anticipation and worries were just a few words I could use before we checked in the Vendue Inn. Wow, was I completely put at ease when we checked it.

Location 1 - We decided to park our car ourselves in the parking garage just around the corner, we really had to walk less than a block to the front door (we did drop off our luggage with the staff to take up to our room). Even with off-site parking, the location of this Inn is incredible. You are right in the middle of the French Quarter ... great restaurants, art galleries, theaters, waterfront, pier, etc are within a 2 minute walk.

I have read some reviews with respect to noise. Let me just state that with any Inn in Charleston, you will have this issue as all of the Inns and Hotels are on the main roads of Market, Meeting, East Bay or King. The Vendue Inn is actually on the corner of East Bay and Venue Range ... so it really is not on the main roads. As for the rooftop bar and lines of people to get in, I have to move onto Location 2.

I think the Vendue Inn is all about which room / suite you get. My wife actually made reseravations about 1 month before we arrived. I started to read the forums on this Inn and just decided to email the Vendue Inn and request a quiet room with a view. This seem reasonable after reading all the horror stories of noise and no views. Let me just state for the record, I think we had the best room (Jr. King Suite) that anyone could have imagined. I am not going to give away what room it was, (you can contact me directly if you wish for that info). But we had no noise except for the expected few late night people leaving the bars.

On a few other notes besides our room.

The Staff was accomodating, but not excellent. They answered our questions, provided assistance (beach towels for an afternoon trip to Folly Beach and bikes for a nice morning ride through the residential areas south of Broad).

The breakfast was nice, nothing superb, but filling nonetheless. The wine and cheese was also nice ... while the cheese and appetizers were a nice selection, the "wine" was a little on the flat side.
The turndown service with cookies was a treat ... eventhough we missed the milk and cordials around 9PM, the cookies and water in our room was a nice way to end the day.

All in all, I would have to reccomend the Vendue Inn for those who want to be in a great location and in the middle of the action of the area ... just take a little time to call / write them to request Room ### !!!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Slightly higher price than I wanted for ammenties provided
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Redskins4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

We had never been to Charleston, and went there for our wedding anniversary. My wife booked the hotel online and specifically requested that we stay in the main building. When we arrived, we found out that we were booked in the annex across the street and there were not any other rooms available.

After dodging the cars to cross the street, we made it to the annex with our bellman. We walk in the lobby area (the annex does not have any hotel staff), and then proceeded to the stairs to get to our room... yes... stairs.

After going through a maze to get to our room, the bellman gave us keys (he pointed out that the numbers on the key do not match the room number... I dont understand that) and showed us our VERY SMALL room!

The walls were so thin... the next morning I was awakened by someone in the next room raising the toilet seat... and going to the bathroom. Yes, you could hear it. We could also hear them blow their nose, talk, and shower. We were thankful that they were older or we might have heard other things. We never met them, but could tell that they were older after hearing them discuss which pills they needed to take that day.

The shower leaked, and there was moldy gunk on the floor. And our first night there we did not have a top sheet on the bed. Just a bottom sheet and a comforter.

The breakfast was good. But the refreshments in the lobby were never kept full... or even refilled at all for that matter.

Three days later, and over $600 later, we left.

Charleston is nice, and the hotel COULD be very nice, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killawatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vendue, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2009
We appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your stay. At the Vendue Inn, we continually strive to offer the best service and accommodations to our guests and appreciate your thoughts on how we can improve. Since your stay, we have added an extensive training program for all of our employees to insure that service at the Vendue is the best of any Inn in town. Additionally, we've added insulation to all of our rooms to control the noise level. We’d love for you to experience our improved service and staff during your next visit to Charleston.

--Susie Ridder, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

STAY AWAY if, like us, you are classical music lovers attending the Spoleto Festival and expecting a long weekend of comfort and culture. Seeing that the hotel was in a central location near theatres and sites of interest, we booked their best accommodations, a King Luxury Suite. Upon arrival, we were first shown a suite in the main building right next to an elevator that made loud clanking and compressor-type sounds. After expressing our need for quiet to sleep, we were given instead a suite right on East Bay street on the first floor. It was certainly large enough, although I must agree with an earlier reviewer that it looked rather tired. (If only I had read TripAdvisor before making reservations!!) Unfortunately we did not anticipate that the NOISE situation in the second suite would be even more impossible to bear: crowds of partying 20-somethings lined up right outside our windows for hours waiting to get into the rooftop bar, traffic noises including stereo bass boosters blaring, people loitering right outside the door, police everywhere (I suppose expecting trouble). It was a nightmare. We complained to the front desk and were told there were no other rooms. So we ended up packing up our things at midnight, calling the front desk and abandoning Charleston entirely. BEWARE that the hotel has a policy of a one-night cancellation charge if you check out early!

  • Liked — soft towels
  • Disliked — Unbearable Noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musicval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vendue, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2009
We appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your stay. At the Vendue Inn, we continually strive to offer the best service and accommodations to our guests and appreciate your thoughts on how we can improve. Since your stay, we have added an extensive training program for all of our employees to insure that service at the Vendue is the best of any Inn in town. We have also added new beds and linens to all of our rooms. In addition, the Rooftop bar had its hours reduced from closing at 2am to midnight and had a new sound system put in place to reduce noise.We’d love for you to experience our improved service and staff during your next visit to Charleston.

--Susie Ridder, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing