We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Sad Decline!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Our visit on March 16 and 17 was not our first time at the Inn, but it will be the last! I was sorry to see the decline in a once wonderful hotel in a great location. Our room 305, a King Jr Suite was in sad shape and should not be called a suite! It had only one chair, so the two of us could not sit by the fire and enjoy a drink. It was a very small room and the bath fixtures were cracked and needed to be replaced. The carpet was pulling away from the door ways and needed a good cleaning. It over looked the roof bar next door and I asked about the potential for noise and was assured it was a quite room. This was not the case, as the hotel roof bar above our room was very noisey both nights and kept us awake till 4am on the 17th! I requested a different room as soon as I saw the room, as this one was not what I expected from price and our prior visits. I was told the manager was out but would call me later as there were no other rooms open. The manager never called me and the next morning when I asked to speak to the manager, the person I talked to was not aware of my complaints.

As for the rest of the stay, the room was not vacumned when it was made up, though the floor needed it. The maid left the cleaning rag on the counter. The first afternoon, they were out of wine and snackes at 5pm, 30 minutes after the start and I was told that some people took more than their share and they were sorry!! By 9:15 the first night, 15 minutes after the start of the nightime snacks, they were out of cookies! The second night at 9:15 there were no cookies out! I saw the first batch in the dinning room, they were burned on the botton! About 10 minutes later, a plate of under done cookies was set out. They were so raw that they were sticking together. This hotel prides itself on the food service to guests and has a restuarant! The breakfast was not much better and rather limited in selections. The bacon was crisp and good, the OJ tasted fresh, but the eggs were like rubber and the grits tasted crunchy and under cooked. The table cloths were plastic and in need of replacement.

When I asked the second day to speak to the manager, she did discount the price of the room. This was nice gesture, but the hotel is still not worth a visit any more. There are nicer properties on the same street and very near by.

4  Thank 123cwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BosworthGroup, Co-owner at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2009

Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts on the Vendue. The popularity of our al fresco Rooftop Bar became a distraction to some of our fine guests like yourself.
Since Vendue Inn guests come first, I’m pleased to report on several actions we have taken to pre-empt further intrusion on their well-deserved peace and quiet. First, the Bar now closes at midnight with music stopping at ten, eliminating its attraction to late-night celebrants. Second, we have changed the styles of music performed-- to musicians and vocalists who, while spirited, melodic, rhythmic and “with it,” are all those things at a far lower decibel level. Third, we have added multiple forms of sound insulation to make good vibrations non-existent to those below.

Regarding your room, we offer accommodations in 66 rooms within the six antebellum buildings of the Vendue Inn. Some are expansive suites, some are more compact by today’s standards and the balance range in between. While we find all of our rooms inviting, we are happy to move guests to another one of our 66 rooms at their request.

We have also initiated an intensive and continuing curriculum of training and retraining for all employees and added a new and experienced member to our Management staff. In addition, we have attendees staffed during milk and cookies and with wine and cheese.

All of these changes are intended to make sure we serve our valued guests responsively, respectfully and promptly. We sincerely hope you will return to experience our improved service and staff during your next visit to Charleston


--Steve Cohn, Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,208 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
212
Reviewed March 15, 2006

Room 317 is horrible! Made our reservation well in advance to receive a fairly nice room. 317 is next to the elevator going to and from the ground to roof top bar. Noise from the elevator and people descending the bar was horrible. The elevator banged and creaked every time it was used. People screaming and singing and pushing the emergency button all night. We had to finally ask to leave early as there were no available rooms.

Room was dirty and very shabby. Bathroom was the size of a closet and very outdated and cheap fixtures. Breakfast was poor as there was nothing left by 9:30 am. There were no silverware, napkins etc. and the tables were all very dirty. When we went to the evening reception at 5:00 pm there were no wine glasses and no food left. We had to ask the front desk to get us wine glasses as we could not find servers also.

I do not recommend staying at this hotel or paying the price for this hotel it is not what it states to be “Luxury”. I could not wait to get out to there!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BosworthGroup, Co-owner at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2009

Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts on the Vendue. The popularity of our al fresco Rooftop Bar became a distraction to some of our fine guests like yourself.
Since Vendue Inn guests come first, I’m pleased to report on several actions we have taken to pre-empt further intrusion on their well-deserved peace and quiet. First, the Bar now closes at midnight with music stopping at ten, eliminating its attraction to late-night celebrants. Second, we have changed the styles of music performed-- to musicians and vocalists who, while spirited, melodic, rhythmic and “with it,” are all those things at a far lower decibel level. Third, we have added multiple forms of sound insulation to make good vibrations non-existent to those below.

Regarding your room, we offer accommodations in 66 rooms within the six antebellum buildings of the Vendue Inn. Some are expansive suites, some are more compact by today’s standards and the balance range in between. While we find all of our rooms inviting, we are happy to move guests to another one of our 66 rooms at their request.


--Steve Cohn, Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
charlotte nc
12
Reviewed January 7, 2006

Great location.Very nice accommodations.Friendly staff.Dynamite breakfast and the social hour and cookies and milk in the late afternoon and evening are not to be missed.Everything we needed was within an easy walk.Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
11
Reviewed January 5, 2006

We were at The Vendue Inn for two nights, including New Year's Eve. I have nothing but praise for this inn and am pleased to recommend it. We had read that some rooms are noisy, but we certainly have no complaints in that department -- and I should imagine New Year's Eve is as noisy as it gets. I suppose it depends on your room/floor, but we were very pleased with our accommodations. We were impressed with the friendly staff and the extras that the inn has to offer (do not miss the chocolate chip cookies!) I agree with other reviewers who wrote about the convenient location of this small hotel. Except in inclimate weather, one ought to be able to walk everywhere or enjoy a bike ride on one of the complimentary bikes the Vendue has to offer its guests.
I might also put in a plug for the new aquarium in Charleston. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit there.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
332
Reviewed January 2, 2006

A delightful, historic, well-maintained inn ... such courteous service from the front-desk staff to the knowledgeable bellman (a Charleston native) to the housekeeping staff we encountered in the hallways. A maid took the time to ask if I was enjoying my stay. She told me she had worked at the Vendue for 20 years. Her pride was evident.

Included in the price of the room is a full, Southern breakfast, an afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres reception AND nighttime cookies (homemade!), milk and cordials. THIS is Southern hospitality.

The Vendue is located right near everything you'd want to be close to -- just a block from the water and within walking distance of great restaurants and shops. Parking is a bit of an issue. Park your own car in the nearby city lot for $10/night rather than have the valet park your car in the same city lot for $14/night.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2005

Great location BUT...tattered around the edges, not very good service (our room was not cleaned the only full day we were there), yellowed sheets, toilet that wouldn't flush. Just can't recommend it.

Stayed: December 2005
3  Thank SueDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BosworthGroup, Co-owner at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2009

We appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your stay.. At the Vendue Inn we strive to offer extraordinary service and accommodations and welcome your suggestions on how to improve them when we fall short. Last year, we initiated an intensive and continuing curriculum of training and retraining for all employees and also added a new and experienced member to our Management staff. This is intended to make sure we serve our valued guests responsively, respectfully and promptly, and also that none of us grows complacent. We sincerely hope you will return to experience our improved service and staff during your next visit to Charleston.

--Steve Cohn, co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2005

We recently spent two nights at the Vendue Inn while were in town for a function. This Inn is located on a block form the harbor and is central to nearly everything in the historic district. We arrived very late in the evening, and staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. When we arrived, The inn was decorated for the Christmas Holiday, and the nice trees and lights around the property were nice.

The Vendue Inn is very nice and service oriented. They had several services throughout the day that my wife enjoyed such as a wine and cheese service in the evening and a cookies and cordials service at night. I thought that breakfast very, very good as well. High quality ingredients and different items each morning some of which included delicious french toast, biscuts and gravy, belgian waffles, fresh fruit juices, etc . .(and its included with the room).

Our room was nicely furnished and decorated with very nice old looking hardwood floors, nice furinture and what seemed to be original oil paintings. The bathroom was gigantic, and it had a whirlpool tub as well as a separate shower. Extra touches were robes in the room, turndown service, newspaper service, (others traveling with us were provided with wine service). The entire Inn is spotless, and the staff is great. We stayed in the annex part of the inn accross the road, and I will admit we did not have a great view, but the rest of the amenities more than made up for it. Perhaps you could request a particular room prior to your arrival as the amenities in each seemed to vary. Some had fireplaces and claw foot tubs, some didn't have tubs at all? I would say that this is fairly typical in smaller inns, and I'm sure they would try to accomodate individual requests.

The rooftop bar is also very nice, they brought our friends fleece blankets to make them more comfortable on that chilly evening.

We also walked everywhere, and we didn't have the valet bring the car around once until checkout. Market St is a couple blocks up with plenty of shopping, bars and rest. As far as ars go, we enjoyed Tommy Condons Irish Pub and the King Street Grill is a great sports bar and grill. I would also highly recommend Poogan's Porch (a few blocks straight down queen street from the inn) for dinner one evening. Very, very good service and food when we eat there.

Hope this review helps. We had a great stay, and we would stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $213 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing