We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We met our two sons (TX and AL) and their families (2 teens) in Charleston for 5 days before Fathers Day. One son was there 2 previous days attending a conference.

We were very happy with the location and the excellent service of the Vendue Inn. We (the grandparents) got a King Luxury Suite with separate living area so we could have a gathering place for all to meet.

When we arrived we requested a card table and 4 more chairs because the grandsons love to play card games with the adults. We made our request of the young man who showed us to our room (Colin) and within an hour we had table and chairs. The table was too small so the desk manager cheerfullyhad it exchanged for a larger one.

My only complaint (to myself) was the threadbare/unraveling curtains in our living area. They were floor to ceiling (12 feet?) so it would probably be expensive to change them all out.

One son's family of 3 got the Queen Jr Suite (two beds, fireplace, desk, chairs, closet, bath with shower and tub). It was sufficient size.

We walked to everything (except had to rent a car for the males to visit the Battleship and to go fishing). The inn has complimentary cruiser bikes but we never got around to using them (others did). We also walked to 4 or 5 geocaches in the area.

Good Restaurants were numerous and we were less than a block from the Waterfront Park and the bay. We all ate (early before the crowds) at their Rooftop Bar. Music was too loud for our old ears so we went up one flight of stairs to the roof and it was fine. Nice view of the boats and water.

When we were going to bed (in fabulous fluffy beds) the young people were coming out on the streets in mass. There were lots of pubs and nightclubs in the general area. They didn't bother us because they weren't loud.

At the Vendue we really enjoyed the breakfast, the afternoon wine, fruit and cheese (2 days we had a jazz sax player), and always raced to the lobby at night for the cookies/milk.

I would certainly recommend the Vendue to others. We found it to be worth the price. cm

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeenaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    355
    105
    66
    40
See reviews for
164
1,191
52
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Vendue Inn last weekend and enjoyed ourselves immensely! From the time we checked in to the time we check out we were pampered and spoiled! This is a home-away- from-home hotel. This has got to be the BEST hotel in the Charleston area!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanahan south carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Every year or so my wife and I leave our suburban home and make the 20 Mile trip to The Vendue Inn and stay in Charleston.
Before we were married ,I'd would fly in from New Jersey and my first choice was always to stay at The Vendue Inn
The Hotel is immaculate,The rooms are classic,,The Staff is second to none,The food is always delicious and enjoyable
It is a throughly pleasurable weekend getaway.
When speaking to guests whether it's during milk and cookies or in the elevator you often find like us they are return guests from all parts of the country.
The ultimate compliment is when you come back for more.
Am looking forward to returning soon as we've been doing this for years!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumadaddy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Probably one of the best locations you will find on the peninsula. Very good service. We stayed across the street from the main building which was just as good. The room was spotless, the bathroom was large. The main building has a nice bar on its rooftop. If you don't need valet, there is a garage extremely close that's $12 a day. The breakfast (included with your stay) is more than sufficient with many options. They also serve snacks (also included) late afternoon.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank poohmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We reserved only one night at the Vendue Inn but after arriving and only having been there about 2 hours or so we decided we would like to stay an additional night for which they were happy to oblige. We found all of the hotel staff here to be very helpful and accommodating from start to finish. Our room was clean, very nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. The bed was amazing, it was kind of like sleeping on a cloud, without being too soft, which had very nice linens. Their roof top patio is gorgeous and has a nice view of the city and the water. I would certainly recommend having a drink there and checking out the sunset as we did. Breakfast in the morning offered a nice selection of choices made-to-order and was certainly more than the average continental offerings you often find. The location of the Vendue Inn is great and we were able to walk to just about anything we wanted to see including Waterfront Park, Rainbow Row, the Marketplace, as well as some really great restaurants. The Inn also had some really nice bikes available to guests as well, though we did not have time to enjoy them. We dined at High Cotton the first night of our stay on their late night menu which was very good and offered one of the best burgers I have had in a while. We then headed out to Folly Beach the next day and enjoyed the afternoon and returned to town to have dinner the following night at Basil a really good Thai restaurant that had been recommended to to us by our server the night before. Upon our return to the Inn that night there was even late night cookies and milk offered. Overall, this was a great Inn (a little more like a hotel actually, but not in a bad way) and we would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green_mtn_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Vendue Inn on a weekend in May. We arrived after midnight after a long drive, and were greeted by someone at the front desk. She took care of our parking, answered our questions, and was generally friendly and helpful. We stayed on the third floor in the main building. As soon as we walked into our room, I started jumping up and down with joy! The rooms are absolutely beautiful. Very historic with wood floors and exposed beams, but very clean and comfortable. The bed was the definitely the best part of the room - it was hard to get up in the morning because it was so luxurious, and we even found ourselves looking forward to a nap on Saturday! Our room was a suite, even though we booked a regular room, so that was a nice surprise.

Breakfast in the morning was quite good - nothing extremely special, but much better than continental breakfast. They offer delicious milk and cookies in the evening. The cleaning lady was very friendly and respectful. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Charleston is a beautiful city. I would recommend a carriage tour - probably doesn't matter which company, they are all the same. Ask for the best rate, they often will try to outdo each other. We ate dinner at Magnolia's which is about a block or two away from the Vendue - it was fabulous. The Vendue is very close to many attractions, including the oceanfront park and fountain. The rooftop bar is also good - try to go at sunset for an amazing view of the city! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

I recently wrote a review regarding Venue Inn, captioned "worse than a total rip-off." I wanted to make a correction to say that they DID in fact, honor the credit due. However, it was done in a very confusing way, that made it difficult to understand that they HAD given it. ( It was credited on two separate days.) This does not change the fact, however, that the management was very poor, the room extremely noisy, and the personnel unsympathetic to our situation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank writergirlTn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,456 reviews
The Restoration
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing