We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good, still have a little work to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overall very good, still have a little work to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Based upon the older reviews, it is clear this hotel has taken great effort in improving their quality and have indeed come a long way, but they still have a little bit further to go on the accomodations. They are there with the service, it was excellent. In fact, we chose this hotel largely because it was full service hotel. This was our first vacation with our 13 month old and thought we might need room service if she didn't "cooperate." For the same reason we booked a two room suite, I beleive this hotel called it the King Luxury Suite, so that our daughter could be closed off in her own room while we stayed up at night.

We love tripadvisor so much, we decided from the beginning of our stay to give a thorough review and even took pictures for that purpose (see attached), so we'll do a break down on each of the 5 Tripadvisor categories.

Cleanliness: We have mixed feelings about this. Within the first 2 hours of arriving we found a dead cockroach on the floor in the bedroom, my wife is from the mountains and not used to how big they can be in the deep south - she freaked. It was just under the chair in the bedroom -probably should have been vacumed up before we arived by normal room cleaning. But it was dead and we didn't see a single other insect the entire 3-days. I called the frontdesk and they were appropriately horrified and sent housekeeping to take care of it right away. They were at near capacity but I got the sense the frontdesk manager would have changed rooms for me if I wanted (or if they could), but we had the BIG upstairs luxury suite and I'm pretty sure there wouldn't be a nicer room. We read the reviews earlier about the tub not being cleaned so we came armed with bathroom cleaner since our 13month old would be taking a bath each night. Its true the tub, even this nice whirlpool tub in the luxury suite, looked a little dingy inside so we cleaned and scubbed it pretty good. Guess what, it looked ths same, so I'm pretty sure the tub was perfectly clean, just a little worn. There were some water spots on the entry way carpet - needs a good steam clean. Other than that, it was clean and we didn't have any problems with our daughter crawling on the floor.

Service: AWESOME. Everyone was great, from the very beginning. The first bellhop, Colby, eagerly made at least 3-4 trips carrying up our luggage to the 2nd floor (walk up) suite. (FYI: Babies = a lot of stuff). Valet parking was prompt and polite. The first day I must have made a 1/2 dozen calls to the front desk and they were always patient and helpul. I think Nick was the guy that caught most of my calls and was always pleasant. We had a question about a reservation we had made at Magnolia restaurant and wether young children were "appropriate" there, the concierge waited until they opened in the morning, called, confirmed everything, and called us back to let us know. They also have a menu book downstairs for local restaurants and will make reservations wherever you like. The breakfast staff was great, they remembered us each morning and the server remembered my drink order. The staff always doted on our daughter (which she loved). BTW, the FREE full breakfast here is WONDERFUL and easily worth at least a $30/day difference from any competitor hotel. TIP: Always order the special breakfast of the day - we were never dissapointed.

Location: Besides Service, this is the best feature of this hotel - it is so perfectly located its hard to imagine a better location. Its located on Vendu Range which runs between Bay Street and the Waterfront. Its South of Market and North of Broad - right in the heart of things. Less than 100 yards down Vendue is the Waterfront park with fountains, benches, views, and quiet. ALL of the best restaurants are within 2 blocks of here including (just to name a few) Slightly North of Broad, Magnolias, Roberts, McCrady's, and More. Its a short walk North to the Market and stroll south to the Battery. The only downside to its location is that it is so central, the nightlife is literally accross the street and we heard one of the tourguides giving at least a 30 min ghost story right outside our window. Saturday night ws definitely the loudest. Our room actually fronted Bay Street and did not have interior access to the rest of the hotel (it has a private entrance on Bay St.). Based on earlier, reviews, they have done some improvements to sound proofing and the bedroom was quiet enoght for me every night - the living room was louder but it was on the side fronting Bay steet. It was all very quiet Sunday night. Its hard to tell form the pictures but this hotel is basically its own block, it is made up of at least 3-4 historic buildings on Vendue and the end faces Bay Street. They may also have some rooms across the street. The only nearby hotel that I thought had "one up" on Vendue for location was Harborview Inn because it is farther from the noise of Bay street and has waterfront views.

Value: We were looking for two room suites (bedroom with separate stting/living area that can be closed off) so its tough to evalutate overall value. This was not the most expensive nor the cheapest suite we priced. it was probably 3/4 of the way up the scale. Harborview was way out of our price range. French Quarter Inn was a good bit above and Anchorage Inn was a good bit below the price of this hotel. BUT I thought it was a very good value for location and service. The FULL breakfast included makes it a better value.

Rooms: The layout was perfect for what we wanted. You enter into a private hallway facing a beautiful glass closet, to your left is the the bedroom (with separate door), to your right the bar, bathroom, and another separate living / sitting room (with separate door). The rooms have an odd historic shape (not square) that lines up with the streets. The ceilings had to be 12-14 feet high, maybe more, with beautiful nearly full length windows. The rooms were really beautiful but this is where they need to do a little upgrading. The curtains/drapes were tatered and one had a 3" rip through it. Our living room coffee table had a broken cross member that hung down and just looked sad and cheap. The TV's are dated, I know I'm a techno snob and I should be happy to have any TV and wireless internet in an historic Inn, but a flat screen TV would have perfect. The bed was a beautiful four post canopy bed with down pillow top, down pillows, and down cover but it was 4 ft off the ground! It was fun at first, but when you have to climb or jump into bed in the middle of the night - not so much fun. Also, it was too soft - the last morning we woke up and realized that there was a down pillow top on the mattress that could be removed - next time we'll ask to remove it. The BATHROOM looks good but is largely impractical with wasted space. There is a needless bidet (really who uses those?) which takes up space that is needed for the very small awkwardly placed corner shower. The tub is a whirlpool tub but a standard tub size. There is pretty much no point to have a whirlpool tub unless it is a garden size tub, an average size person cannot really use it otherwise.

Other Information: There is a restaurant located in the hotel called the "Libarary" with a related rooftop bar and restaurant. We never ate at the library but the rooftop bar/grill was great. We had lunch up top (you have to try the cuban wrap) - wear your sunglasses. The view on the main rooftop level has been largely blocked by new condos but if you go up to the new upper deck you can still see the harbor (sort of), even so there are great views of the town and the church steeples every direction.

I would call this hotel "kid friendly"

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WNCJEEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    366
    108
    67
    40
See reviews for
173
1,240
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed at the Vendue Inn for three nights on the recommendation of some friends. It is a great place to stay for several reasons. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This includes EVERYONE fron the bellmen to the breakfast waiters to the check-inn staff to the General Manager. The location is in the heart of the Historic District and couldn't be better. You can park your car and walk. The breakfasts are traditional and good. The on site restaurant is great for dinner. The chef has her act together and everyone around us raved about their dinners. Prior to booking we asked for a room away from the bar noise and didn't hear anything disturbing. The rooftop bar has great views of the city and harbor. Usually if we visit a city a second time we try to stay in another location just for variety. If we go back to Charleston we would make an exception and stay at the Vendue Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redman709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

The service at the Vendue Inn was outstanding. Mgr. Susan Ridder personally ensured all guests' needs were addressed and made everyone feel welcome. Her personal touch made the experience very enjoyable and personal. The suite we had was clean, very comfortable and nicely furnished. The location is absolutely perfect - within walking distance to everything we wanted to do and see (fine dining, shopping, site seeing, garden tour, etc.). The complimentary country breakfast is excellent and the service was great. This was my third trip to Charleston, SC, and I hope to enjoy the accommodations at the Vendue Inn on many future trips. There is truly nothing that I was displeased with during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We were looking for an experience in old Charleston without having to pay a fortune. The Vendue Inn was exactly that. Its location (Vendue Place) is absolutely perfect. Some of the guest houses, many of which are very expensive, are up by the Battery. That's fine, but that means a pretty good hike or even a taxi ride to the bulk of the restaurants. Not so from the Vendue. You are right where you want to be.
Our room, which must have been upgraded without our asking because it was a suite and we had not booked a suite, was---well, it was an older set of rooms that was fabulous. By that I mean that it had the wide floorboards, the overhead beams, the older furnishings, etc. But the bathroom was completely up-to-date. We loved it. Again, if you want the Ritz then this may not be for you, but this is Charleston and you are hopefully there to enjoy what old Charleston was like.
And, a FULL breakfast and a great one at that, not a continental one. Plus, wine and snacks in the late afternoon. No problem with parking, they took care of it. They have a restaurant (we did not try it because we already had two that we wanted to try) plus a rooftop bar that we used once and enjoyed for it's view,etc.
I've been to Charleston several times and I really think that The Vendue is a hidden treasure. Try it, I think you just might like it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Vendue Inn is in the heart of the action of the French Q of Charleston. It is a historic place so honestly don't expect perfect walls and floors. (I thought the old hardwood floors with soft rugs absolutely authentic!) But this place is perfectly clean, charming, well serviced, and very comfortable. We had a deluxe king room, with a separate sitting area, modern bathroom, canopy bed that was just dreamy to sleep on. Again, it is a historic building so walls can be a bit thin. But we didn't hear noise after 9pm, which we felt was a wonderful compromise. Breakfast was fulfilling and warmly served. The staff was very accommodating and had great recommendations for things to do and places to go. The free bikes are a great touch which we thoroughly enjoyed. This place made us feel very welcome and we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Nice room, but we didn't get the free WiFi that was advertised. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Near the waterpark. You can walk to everything. So much to see, no matter how many times I visit Charleston...I always find something new to see.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chasnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Vendue Inn was an absolutely superb experience from beginning to end. From the moment we walked in the door the staff was friendly, helpful and full of information. The service was beyond A+. Once we checked into our lovely room complete with fireplace and complementary port wine on the mantle we went back to the lobby for a complementary wine and hors de houvres in the afternoon. The location cannot be beat. It is in the middle of the historic district right by Waterfront Park and within walking distance of the Battery and horse drawn carriage tours. If this isn't enough, the bedding is beyond fabulous, complete with customized Serta mattresses and down mattress covers and pillows which provided us with one of the best nights sleep we can remember in a long time. In the morning we were treated to a wonderful selection of breakfast options in an elegant dining room included with the price of the room. The rooftop bar gives you panoramic views of all of Charlston as well as the waterfront. This hotel is full of southern charm, hospitality, and one of a kind luxurious surroundings. Quaint, intimate, lovely!!!! A+++++++ !!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelQueen2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,514 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing