We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2008

we stayed here for 2 nights in october.we had a king deluxe room the room was nice but for the price not very spacious.we did not have to pay for the stay it was a thank you for my husband from his company so we are not complaining.the toiletries we're very nice and the breakfast and afternoon wine and our'derves we're very nice.the location was excellent right in front of battery park.the first night of our stay there was a deluge of rain all night the water was over the curbs so that kind of hampered our first evening.we heard they got 7 inches of rain in that one day.
all in all we enjoyed our stay here but we would not pay that much ourselves so this may be our only stay.his company also paid for us to eat at roberts which was a very close walk from the inn and was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UNCMOM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,173 - 2,179 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by employees and check in has never been faster. The staff was very nice. The room was great. We had a king bed with a fireplace. The breakfast was as good as it gets in Charleston. The service was great and the food was also. The location was in walking distance of all the downtown attractions. We stayed for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend the Vendue Inn for anyone staying in Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jascd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

This was a nice hotel. We had a room with two queen beds, fireplace and small sitting area. The bathrooms were rather boring. The room was clean, and certainly a nice place, but the decor was so so. The breakfast was very good, nothing spectacular, but quite delicious. Overall we were pleased with our stay here. It was a nice middle of the road place to lodge. The location is right next to many great restaurants.

We wanted to experience other places and so this was one of three places we stayed. The other two places were much nicer and more beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pagenein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We just returned from a three night stay at the Vendue Inn. It was our first time in lovely Charleston, and the staff at the Vendue Inn could not have been nicer, nor more helpful. The staff displayed a constant willingness to ensure our brief stay was the most it could be; from the maintenance guy who showed up within minutes to fix our room safe, to the hall staff who were always there, always pleasant, and always attentive, to the night doorman who made sure even though it was past 10PM we still got our late night cookies and milk snack.
The room was quite large, the bed made comfy via a feather top mattress, well appointed, and needless to say spotlessly clean. The included breakfast was ample with a tasty and varied menu. And the late afternoon - early evening wine and hors d'œuvres reception was simply a treat.
The hotel is located close to the water, near a park (good area for runners), and right smack dab in the middle of the downtown action.
Overall this has to be one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at on vacation. The property was nicely appointed, the room large and comfy, the amenites well thought out and well executed, but its the warmth and hopitality received from the staff that I will recall.
And YES, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbihler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Vendue Inn. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. Our room was in the property across the street from the main inn building, and we didn't have any issue with noise. All the rooms are all uniquely decorated and are all charming which is what we wanted for our first visit to Charleston. The bathroom was large and had a soaking tub, but the shower stall was very small. A minor issue as far as we were concerned. The location is central to everything you want - restaurants, shopping, nightlife, the water. Definitely check out the rooftop bar. It's fun and a great way to start your evening if you miss the innkeepers reception. Don't miss out on the breakfast. It is really good and they have a number of options. Also, do talk to the concierge. He knows his stuff and will put you on the right spot. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelReviewVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I'm reviewing the Vendue Inn just to make sure that couples who are looking for a romantic getaway do not mistake this as a destination for a QUIET romantic getaway. The Vendue Inn has so much going for it. Good-size rooms and bathrooms, incredibly comfy beds, thoughtful touches such as bottled water in the rooms. The breakfast, which is included, is excellent and is warmly served by the staff, and what's most notable is that the manager and assistant manager make a point of coming in at breakfast to say hello to guests and find out what they are doing today and if they'd like any guidance. It is a bed-and-breakfast personal touch in a large hotel. But guests must be aware of the location -- in the partying French Quarter district but on a quiet street except for the fact that the Vendue rooftop is one of the party destinations. It's 9 pm and my walls are vibrating from the band. Also hallway noise is very audible. But I am not complaining. I am enjoying my stay here immensely and am thrilled to have found a reasonably priced place to stay on a lovely September weekend, and to get such service. I'm just saying, if you're thinking you might want to retire early to the room for a little romance, this is probably not your place.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank got2gogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We travel to Charleston at least twice a year and always stay downtown. We like the Vendue not only because of its comfortable rooms, wonderful southern breakfasts and terrific rooftop bar, but the staff here really goes above and beyond and the location is absolutely perfect. Just feet from the waterfront park and battery, it's in the heart of the historic district. They have bikes for their guests which provide the perfect transportation in an often congested city. We love going upstairs to the roof to have drinks before we head out and often find ourselves upstairs when we return with a fun, attractive crowd. wouldn't stay anywhere else. If nothing else, you must go for a meal at the Library or drinks at their rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LovinTheLowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,931 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,310 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $181 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing