We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect hotel in the perfect location”
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We travel to Charleston at least twice a year and always stay downtown. We like the Vendue not only because of its comfortable rooms, wonderful southern breakfasts and terrific rooftop bar, but the staff here really goes above and beyond and the location is absolutely perfect. Just feet from the waterfront park and battery, it's in the heart of the historic district. They have bikes for their guests which provide the perfect transportation in an often congested city. We love going upstairs to the roof to have drinks before we head out and often find ourselves upstairs when we return with a fun, attractive crowd. wouldn't stay anywhere else. If nothing else, you must go for a meal at the Library or drinks at their rooftop bar.

  • Liked — Location, Rooftop bar, cleanliness
  • Disliked — wish we had more time
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinTheLowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    435
    127
    73
    47
See reviews for
208
1,466
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This is a beautiful facility. The housekeeping, cleanliness and attentive staff are just some of the reasons that I will book the Vendue Inn on my next trip to Charlston. This hotel has an excellent restaurant (The Library) with a wonderful chef and very friendly staff.

The rooms are decorated very nicely and every room is different. There are a number of great restaurants within walking distance. The inn is about 1 block from the water and the views are excellent.

Even if you don't stay at the Vendue Inn, it is worth the trip to visit the rooftop bar and lounge. There is entertainment every evening. The views, especially at sundown, are spectacular and what really is impressive is the view of all the church steeples against the colorful Charlston sunset.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Taylorhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We recently spent three nights at the Vendue Inn. We were celebrating our anniversary and the experience could not have been any better. The personal service is amazing. All staff members are friendly and very much guest oriented. The "aim to please" attitude is very apparent at the Vendue. The breakfasts were awesome, from the belgian waffles to the gravy biscuits. The taste and the presentation of their food rivals any that you would find anywhere. It is so refreshing to find a place that will meet your every need and do their best to make you feel special during your stay. The location of Vendue is also great and you can walk to a number of tourist destinations in the area, including the Market and carriage tours. I would highly recommend the Vendue for that ultimate "Charleston Experience."

  • Liked — hospitality and service
  • Disliked — the taste of the Sherry
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djjdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2008

we were planning business trip to Myrtle Beach,SC and decided to take side trip to charleston,SC.went on internet looking for b&b and found Venue inn and made reservation. the inn is situated right in
town. small but very nice. the people there from young men who helped us with luggage and parked car to check in staffer and ,later housekeeping, made feel welcome. the atmosphere was warm and family like. we had reserved the deluxe queen room which well appointed and comfortable. at 4:pm guest were invited to meet other guest and staff for wine and cheese,very nice. while there a gentleman was available to answer questions about the city and recommend places to go and see. just down street they have very good restaurant The Library. there you could take elevator to rooftop bar for drinks and view of waterfront and city .we had no need for car since there were more than 150 restaurants and ,bars, shopping and open air malls within walking distance. highly recommend the Vendue Inn when
you visit this beautiful and historical city.
we look forward a return visit in fall when it is little cooler. try this place you will be pleased with your decision

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank 1dogiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I’ve stayed at the Vendue on several occasions. Each time I’ve found the hotel to be more charming than the last. My recent visit was perhaps the best. I reserved a junior suite in the building across the street from the main hotel entrance. The room was fantastic. It was beautifully furnished and decorated, had hardwood floors, an expansive bath and a very comfortable bed. Frequently, a hotel room is just that a room to sleep and get ready in, but little more. However, the junior suite at the Vendue was a place to relax and unwind. Sitting in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine on beautiful Spring night…or any night for that matter…is fantastic. The hotel staff were warm, friendly and helpful. They did everything they could to make us feel welcome. I should point out that staying in the building across the street has several advantages, not the least of which is that you are removed from the rooftop bar that can be rather noisy sometimes. I’m already planning my next trip to Charleston and I’m going to stay at the Vendue!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Staff were personable on the phone (& answered the phone) & in person. We stayed for 2 nights in the building across the street from the main Vendue inn; this may have been quieter. We didn't have a noise issue. The bed was extremely comfortable. The heater was all-or-nothing - couldn't seem to get a a moderate temp. Breakfast was complimentary & service was fine. The inn was just what we were looking for, a romantic smallish room in an historic old building with just a few amenities but comfortable.

  • Liked — The bed & linens
  • Disliked — Had to wait a little bit for internet while another person used it
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coastal6107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed at The Vendue Inn for 2 nights this week. The staff was fabulous, very attentive and friendly. The room that we were in was VERY small, nowhere to sit comfortably and talk or watch television other than the queen bed, which took up the majority of the room. Temperature could not be controlled easily, so overall tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. (Room was clean). Breakfast and evening reception were lovely, and again, staff was very nice. Rooftop Bar makes for a noisy evening.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marthae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,419 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing