We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$199
$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,408)
Filter reviews
2,408 results
Traveler rating
1,648
476
148
81
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,648
476
148
81
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomrooftop barart tourresident artistmilk and cookiescomplimentary sherryvendue rangemain buildingwaterfront parkfree bikessouthern breakfastno windowwine receptiongas fireplaceperfect locationqueen roomfrench quarter
Filter
Updating list...
1,476 - 1,481 of 2,408 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came in last minute for one night and we were not impressed. The room/hotel/smelly elevator needs a renovation desperately. I cut my finger opening the cabinet holding the tv due to exposed nails, the bathtub was DISGUSTING filled with grime and discolored, a dirty towel was hanging, an half used lotion bottle left on the counter. Signs of no attention to detail were everywhere from the tape with ripped paper left on the door to the key envelope on the floor beside the bed. For a over $200 a night room I expect more. Upon check out I asked to speak with a manager and they offered a 50% discount for my bad experience which was nice gesture but I think could have been more especially considering our awful experience. Ended our trip with a block walk to the parking garage to get the jeep, with our luggage even though I paid $18 for a valet who couldn't drive a manual jeep. Get it together Vendue!! We won't be back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

It is always disappointing to receive a less than stellar review from a guest, especially when the concerns raised involve lapses in our own strict cleanliness protocol. We are also disappointed that our efforts to make amends were insufficient to satisfy this guest. Our desire is that every guest leaves the Inn relaxed and happy following an exceptional and hassle-free experience. It is most unfortunate that in this instance, this goal was not achieved.

To provide some insight, the Inn is comprised of 66 unique rooms. Upon showing theses guests the original room we had assigned, they requested another option. We gladly obliged. We then moved the guests into a room that had been briefly used by another guest, one whom after checking into the same room, wished to have a room closer to their travelling companion. We also gladly obliged. Our housekeeping staff had not yet had the opportunity to refresh the room, an untimely occurrence.

Although we did compensate the guest immediately when they brought these items to our attention the following day, we very much regret that we were unable to satisfactorily resolve these concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay @Vendue Inn, along with mixed feelings. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the check-in receptionist & Bellman Mr. Dawson was very helpful & informative. He unloaded our luggage & gave us the tour of the hotel.We were first given room #201, while it was nice it was tight. We asked if another room was available with more wiggle room we were showed room #218. On arrival to this room it did offer more room but it had the strangest smell. We kept this room but went out & purchased a plug-in to tolerate the smell.Also, the floor of the room is not level. you can see the outside hallway light through the room door,also they use the old style keys for entry which I feel could be a security issue. There's no way to monitor times the room is entererd in case of potential theft.There were areas that hadn't been dusted in a while, i.e. the stool that sat on the side of the bed.There was a sock left behind the headboard from who knows how many guest previous to our arrival.

Also, went to the Rooftop Bar we found it to be dull & the drinks left a lot to be desired.What they call a Mango Mojeito(?sp) was a joke mention this to the waitress & she had a don't care attitude.The area could use a overhaul, stained cushions, entrance just didn't look clean & elevator to this area is somewhat scary, when you see the sign that says eight person maximum this is true. If there are more than 8 it will trip the switch, because we got off & waited when a party of 10 didn't want to wait to break up their bar hopping group.

We only attended one evening innkeepers reception. It was nice with wine,cheese,crackers,fruite,& a ham salad mix. They carried our wine glasses to the Libary resturant for us while we made our cheese and cracker selections. The majority of the employees we came in contact with were pleasant. Also, watch your bill we were quoated one price but the final bill was four dollars more than the price given when we made the reservations. Yes, it's just $4 but don't nickle & dime me with 6 & 8 cents then over $12 & $15 daily, why wasn't the 6 & 8 cents added to the 12 & 15 dollar total. Also, $1 a day charleston conservation fee.

You can't beat the location. I would suggest doing the self parking @ $14.00/day it allows in & out as well. They park your car in the same deck with valet parking @ $18/day. But, if you have a handicap tag of placket there is no charge for you (SC Law), but you will be required to self park. Would we stay @ Vendue Inn again? like we said we are on the fence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTWEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

It is always helpful when guests provide specific feedback regarding their concerns and we are always ready to address any issues that may arise. We do pride ourselves on service at the Vendue and endeavor to satisfy every guest. It is wonderful to learn that Mr. Ed Dawson of our bell team helped to set the proper tone for this guest's time with us. However, we are disappointed and very much regret that this guest experienced problems with the guest room and had a less than exceptional experience at the Roof Top Bar. All comments have been forwarded to the manager responsible for each concern raised and each will be reviewed and appropriate action taken to address the issues.

It should also be noted that as a historic property, there are constraints that must be adhered to as well as unique features that are related to the building's age and history. The Inn was configured from warehouses originally built in the 1700s which resulted in one of the Inn's most unique characteristics––no two rooms are identical in size and shape. It also means that the shaft for the elevator limits both the size and capacity. Moreover, although Room 207, a recently remodeled standard room you had reserved was not to your preference, I am pleased we had the availability to offer you another option and provide the complimentary champagne for your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Vendue Inn at least 5 times in the last 3yrs and we have never been disappointed. We have always received great customer service. The staff is always happy to help and go out of their way to do what ever you need. The suites are wonderful, very comfortable and spacious . Terrific bathrooms. The food is great and we love relaxing at the roof top bar. Our favorite place to stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place was memorable. The staff was attentive and eager to help ensure our stay was perfect. Our king suite was quite comfortable for both of us and our two dogs! The rooftop bar is a fantastic place to relax after a long day sightseeing and enjoy a cocktail while watching ships come and go from the port. The cocktail hour in the lounge was nice too. Cheese, fruit and wines for the guests. I'm looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. It's in a great location to do everything in the historic district. All the staff are so helpful and they had lots of extras like free bicycles, and beach towels. Also the cookies and milk every night were delish!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews