We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$305
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$323
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$219
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,389)
Filter reviews
2,389 results
Traveler rating
1,633
474
146
81
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,633
474
146
81
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomrooftop barart tourresident artistmilk and cookiescomplimentary sherryvendue rangemain buildingwaterfront parkfree bikessouthern breakfastno windowwine receptiongas fireplaceperfect locationqueen roomfrench quarter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,507 - 1,512 of 2,389 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

New owners=no more complimentry breakfast. However, the 4pm wine and snack hour and 9pm milk and cookies are still in effect! The rooms are lovely, the staff is super duper friendly, the location is perfect. We stayed in a historic junior king (room 102) and it was huge and on a corner on the 1st floor (street facing) but still SO quiet! We had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaFlamingo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Upon arrival in the pouring rain, we were cheerfully greeted by one of the many bell boys holding an umbrella for me before I even opened the door. The staff was alway courteous and very helpful with any questions or situations that might occur. The location for all the sights couldn't have been more perfect. The upstairs bar was a great place to have a drink and snack whilst enjoying the views of the city. We will definitely go back here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancée and I got engaged here last week and the staff could not have done more to make this stay so special. From the moment we checked in until the morning we checked out, all of the staff - hotel manager, front desk, bell hops, housekeeping and everyone else, made us feel very special. I needed to ship the engagement ring directly to the hotel before our visit for fear it would be taken out of my backpack and my fiancée would see it during the screening process at the airport. I felt that having to propose next to a TSA agent as your carryon is screened was not the most romantic place! The hotel manager assured me that they would take extra care in the safekeeping of this ring until I arrived and that the few people on the staff that had to know what was going to happen kept it very quiet. Because they knew it was such a special occasion they upgraded our room, and it was gorgeous. After it was known I had proposed people on the staff would congratulate us as we passed through the lobby. And Champaign was also sent to our room by the manager.

Charleston is by far our favorite place to vacation. We have probably stayed at 7-8 other nice hotels in downtown Charleston but this hotel was the best. The staff was very friendly, they went out of their way to accommodate any special requests you may have, the rooms were clean, and the chocolate chip cookies they put out every night were some of the best you will ever have! They go quickly so you need to be there as soon as they are brought out!

We read TripAdvisor before we stay anywhere. This place got great reviews and I highly recommend. The hotel is beautiful and the service is even better - if that is possible!

Mike and Tory

Milwaukee, Wi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. One of the best staffing we have seen. They called us by name everytime we walked by. The extras were nice, the warm milk and cookies, the wine reception at night, even the refreshing cool water in the lobby. Recieved a call prior to visit to make see if any dinner or tour reservations could be made . The manager was friendly and well seen. We will be back very soon.

Room Tip: We were blessed to stay in room 405 which is the king suite. It overlooks the area. Has it's own private entrance. Outstanding room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Can't beat the location, and the accommodations were first rate. Found the bed hard to sleep in, but otherwise the rest of the place was wonderful. Delicious breakfast, helpful staff and proximity to everything. Pricey but we were splurging for our tenth anniversary.

Room Tip: Lots of fluff and puff on the beds. Made it too hot and uncomfortable for us.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews