We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancée and I got engaged here last week and the staff could not have done more to make this stay so special. From the moment we checked in until the morning we checked out, all of the staff - hotel manager, front desk, bell hops, housekeeping and everyone else, made us feel very special. I needed to ship the engagement ring directly to the hotel before our visit for fear it would be taken out of my backpack and my fiancée would see it during the screening process at the airport. I felt that having to propose next to a TSA agent as your carryon is screened was not the most romantic place! The hotel manager assured me that they would take extra care in the safekeeping of this ring until I arrived and that the few people on the staff that had to know what was going to happen kept it very quiet. Because they knew it was such a special occasion they upgraded our room, and it was gorgeous. After it was known I had proposed people on the staff would congratulate us as we passed through the lobby. And Champaign was also sent to our room by the manager.

Charleston is by far our favorite place to vacation. We have probably stayed at 7-8 other nice hotels in downtown Charleston but this hotel was the best. The staff was very friendly, they went out of their way to accommodate any special requests you may have, the rooms were clean, and the chocolate chip cookies they put out every night were some of the best you will ever have! They go quickly so you need to be there as soon as they are brought out!

We read TripAdvisor before we stay anywhere. This place got great reviews and I highly recommend. The hotel is beautiful and the service is even better - if that is possible!

Mike and Tory

Milwaukee, Wi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. One of the best staffing we have seen. They called us by name everytime we walked by. The extras were nice, the warm milk and cookies, the wine reception at night, even the refreshing cool water in the lobby. Recieved a call prior to visit to make see if any dinner or tour reservations could be made . The manager was friendly and well seen. We will be back very soon.

Room Tip: We were blessed to stay in room 405 which is the king suite. It overlooks the area. Has it's ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Can't beat the location, and the accommodations were first rate. Found the bed hard to sleep in, but otherwise the rest of the place was wonderful. Delicious breakfast, helpful staff and proximity to everything. Pricey but we were splurging for our tenth anniversary.

Room Tip: Lots of fluff and puff on the beds. Made it too hot and uncomfortable for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Honeymoon and first time to Charleston. The service here is beyond excellent. From the moment we were personally welcomed by the bellhop with a mini tour, we were impressed with this place. Nightly turn down service with little chocolates left on the bed, free breakfast, free cheese and wine at the managers afternoon reception, free milk and cookies at 9PM, and free bike rentals. Excellent location for walking around downtown. Front desk was very helpful in arranging a tour for us. Great rooftop bar with reasonable prices. Short walk to great restaurants! The beds were amazing and our suite was larger than our apartment!!! The manager also sent us a comp bottle of champagne our first night here since we were on our honeymoon and a comp bottle of bourbon (?) to enjoy.
Only one complaint: our room was adjacent to the stairwell that guests to the rooftop bar can access, which seems a little risky for security reasons. At the same time, being off to the side was nice. Also, we requested a mini fridge ($20 charge) and it was extremely dirty but the maintenance guy took it back and cleaned it and brought it back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwo6813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fabulous location right in the heart of the historic district. We had one of the newly renovated rooms - very comfortable and elegant! Mark, our doorman, was one of our favorites. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ecellent all around. The Staff were all friendly and helpful. A very relaxing stay. Can't wait to go back. Great location for walking. Loved the wine and cheese reception. Awesome can't imagine a finer Hotel. The breakfast was quite tasty as well

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baddawgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay. The staff is excellent. Front desk, bell men, wait staff, you name it. They are friendly, professional, have clean attire, and make their guests feel welcome. It is obvious that the hotel is well managed. The two of three eating areas are very pleasant (the restaurant and adjacent room), and the made to order breakfast was excellent (complimentary now, but told that they will begin charging in mid June). There is a complimentary wine and cheese hour and late night milk and cookies, that add to the feeling that you are a welcome guest. There are few downsides...There are few amenities..spotty internet, and not very appealing corridor carpeting ..We Stayed for 2 nights, but due to the unavailability of a double on night one...I had a King, and then was transferred to a double queen. The difference in bedding was tremendous. The King was a comfortable bed with comfortable pillows (room 202). The double queen (room 304) had terrible mattresses and pillows (both beds...we both had difficulty sleeping and woke up with similar complaints in the morning). Also had no hot water when I was the second to shower in the early evening. The hotel is very well located.. very close to great galleries, restaurants and the sights. I think what this hotel needs to make it perfect is some renovation to bring in some modern amenities while maintaining its old world charm,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank effieQueens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,960 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,153 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $204 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing