We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming place in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Charming place in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Vendue is a great little boutique hotel with excellent service and brimming with southern charm. We had a King Suite Room which was in the adjoining building on the ground floor - but there were no issues with noise of any kind. The price for the quality of the stay was great.

The room was HUGE, with a massive living area, fireplace, roomy bedroom with a four-poster and large bathroom. The bathroom was the only thing that let the room down - it was a bit dated and could do with a refresh. More 1980s than historic! The complimentary sherry in the room was a nice touch!

Breakfast was very good each morning - all complimentary (except for tips), and a good mix of choices. The daily specials kept it interesting as well. We went to the rooftop bar one night which was good, but the music was too loud (even for an under 30-year old!).

The location is excellent - we walked to everything in the downtown area. Downtown Charleston is just beautiful so it's great to be able to walk around.

If you're in town, don't miss eating at Husk (and having a bourbon at their bar) and at Signature Grill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    364
    108
    67
    40
See reviews for
172
1,236
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Vendue Inn in Charleston on our "visiting the South" Tour, so let me say first that everywhere we stayed on the tour was great, but the Vendue Inn took our top honor for all Hotels on what was a great time. From the minute you walk in the door to the minute you leave you are greeted with friendly people who are attentive as well as friendly in their actions to make your stay at Vendue a memorable one. From the rooftop bar with great views, to space filled rooms, to outstanding service, the Vendue Inn is Tops for every reason that you travel!

Room Tip: The newly renovated Themed Rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I made arrangements for my family and guests to stay at the Vendue Inn for my daughter's college graduation. I could not have been more pleased by the stay! We were welcomed so warmly and made ot feel like family. Extra care was taken by the staff to ensure we were all comfortable and worry free. The location of the Vendu allowed us to maximize our time in Chalreston, yet feel the peacefulness of the Inn. The entire exprience left all of us with a weekend and graduation that will alwys be very special and memorable for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights ( May 9th thru 11th, 2013 ) ) for our son's College of Charleston graduation. We couldn't have been more pleased with the overall experience. The staff was wonderful, and the Inn itself is very charming. The location ( Waterfront Park, in the French Quarter ) of the Vendue is as good as it gets in historic Charleston. Also, check out the Vendue Inn rooftop bar & cafe for a sunset beverage.

Happy Travels,
Tom & Katie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vondos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on Thursday, 5/9 and Friday, 5/10, 2013. Used the combo deal auctioned from Luxury Link which made the stay about $200 per night vs $425 per night. For $200 per night, the place is worth it. Centrally located, great staff (Crosby, Monty, Nicki, Yuliya are all wonderful), free bikes, in and out parking and $75 in food at their restaurant next door, "The Library." Deal also included a tour of Charleston for 2 which was very informative (Allen was our tour guide and he was great). Place is haunted and whether our room (204) was or not, knowing that made me sleep less easy the two nights we were there. Place is in need of some love. The housekeeping staff leave the vacuum cleaners in the hallway, which kills some of the charm. Our bathroom's mirror had a wooden frame that was coming away from the mirror, the adhesive had obviously worn off. The framed pictures in the room were haunting and old. Like I said, the place is in need of a rehaul and would definitely NOT have been worth it had full price been paid. I also found it interesting that they had no slippers for their guests. I think my friend negotiated 2 free drinks w/the concierge AFTER having sealed the luxury link dates. The drinks were consumed at their rooftop bar which has a great view of Charleston. Hopefully this place will get a rehaul soon, would go back, the place is in a safe, central and "happening," location. The meal at The Library was ok, the highlight of the meal being the warm Rosemary rolls w/cinnamon butter.

Room Tip: Definitely book through LuxuryLink.com to get the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverLake2TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Vendue Inn for our 1 year wedding anniversary. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff is friendly and very accommodating to any need or want you may have. Our bellman, Crosby, was very knowledgeable of the area and made several notes on a map of places for us to make sure we saw while in town. The breakfast had a limited menu, but it was delicious. We especially liked the location of the Vendue Inn. We were able to walk everywhere and really did not need our vehicle except to go to the plantations. The hotel was also very quiet. We never heard any noises coming from the hallway or the outside.

Room Tip: We stayed in a fireplace king room, but did not use the fireplace at all. So, if you're not goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I have somewhat mixed feelings writing this review. Like many travelers stated before me i loved the location, breakfast, cookies at night, wine reception but what i enjoyed most of all was the service we received from the staff. In all our travels we have never been looked after and taken care of with so much respect and with such attention to detail. I want to complain a bit about the rate for our small room they called suite and the fact that they cancelled two hbo channels two weeks prior to our stay all the while hbo channel guide was still inside the guest book and chanels were listed on their channel line up card. But the attentiveness and professionalism of people employed by Vendue Inn exceeded all of that. Whoever hires and trains these employees deserves a raise!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ransga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing