We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Vendue Inn Experience was Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The Vendue Inn Experience was Great”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights ( May 9th thru 11th, 2013 ) ) for our son's College of Charleston graduation. We couldn't have been more pleased with the overall experience. The staff was wonderful, and the Inn itself is very charming. The location ( Waterfront Park, in the French Quarter ) of the Vendue is as good as it gets in historic Charleston. Also, check out the Vendue Inn rooftop bar & cafe for a sunset beverage.

Happy Travels,
Tom & Katie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vondos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    437
    127
    73
    47
See reviews for
209
1,471
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on Thursday, 5/9 and Friday, 5/10, 2013. Used the combo deal auctioned from Luxury Link which made the stay about $200 per night vs $425 per night. For $200 per night, the place is worth it. Centrally located, great staff (Crosby, Monty, Nicki, Yuliya are all wonderful), free bikes, in and out parking and $75 in food at their restaurant next door, "The Library." Deal also included a tour of Charleston for 2 which was very informative (Allen was our tour guide and he was great). Place is haunted and whether our room (204) was or not, knowing that made me sleep less easy the two nights we were there. Place is in need of some love. The housekeeping staff leave the vacuum cleaners in the hallway, which kills some of the charm. Our bathroom's mirror had a wooden frame that was coming away from the mirror, the adhesive had obviously worn off. The framed pictures in the room were haunting and old. Like I said, the place is in need of a rehaul and would definitely NOT have been worth it had full price been paid. I also found it interesting that they had no slippers for their guests. I think my friend negotiated 2 free drinks w/the concierge AFTER having sealed the luxury link dates. The drinks were consumed at their rooftop bar which has a great view of Charleston. Hopefully this place will get a rehaul soon, would go back, the place is in a safe, central and "happening," location. The meal at The Library was ok, the highlight of the meal being the warm Rosemary rolls w/cinnamon butter.

Room Tip: Definitely book through LuxuryLink.com to get the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverLake2TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Vendue Inn for our 1 year wedding anniversary. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff is friendly and very accommodating to any need or want you may have. Our bellman, Crosby, was very knowledgeable of the area and made several notes on a map of places for us to make sure we saw while in town. The breakfast had a limited menu, but it was delicious. We especially liked the location of the Vendue Inn. We were able to walk everywhere and really did not need our vehicle except to go to the plantations. The hotel was also very quiet. We never heard any noises coming from the hallway or the outside.

Room Tip: We stayed in a fireplace king room, but did not use the fireplace at all. So, if you're not goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I have somewhat mixed feelings writing this review. Like many travelers stated before me i loved the location, breakfast, cookies at night, wine reception but what i enjoyed most of all was the service we received from the staff. In all our travels we have never been looked after and taken care of with so much respect and with such attention to detail. I want to complain a bit about the rate for our small room they called suite and the fact that they cancelled two hbo channels two weeks prior to our stay all the while hbo channel guide was still inside the guest book and chanels were listed on their channel line up card. But the attentiveness and professionalism of people employed by Vendue Inn exceeded all of that. Whoever hires and trains these employees deserves a raise!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ransga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having stayed at Vendue Inn twice before - on our recent US trip we chose to fly down from New York to Charleston for a 3 day stay at the Vendue Inn - that also for this stay did not disappoint our expectations. With wew owners - the inn now has a lot of interesting art all around inside the buildings - and glad to report has not slacked in their service levels.The rooms are impressive, and we can recommend the historical fireplace king rooms of which we had two on this trip. Everything at this inn - from location, service level, interior, meals and last but not least - the staff is exeptional. We will be back!
Please also look up the East Bay coffe shop just around the corner from Vendue Range in East Bay Street - even with years and months since our last visit - the manager recognized us.

Room Tip: Historical fireplace rooms in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay was in fall 2012, so maybe the hotel has changed since that time. I do think the inn is under new management and has made some renovations. If so, this was needed.

The Vendue Inn is in a very good, central location in Charleston, providing good access to the Battery, downtown Charleston, good restaurants, etc. And, given, prices in Charleston are steep. It's a beautiful, unique city, and visitors can expect to pay accordingly for hotels and B&Bs.

Pros: Staff at the Vendue Inn were all extremely pleasant, professional, and accommodating. Another plus was the fabulous breakfast in the beautiful dining room that was included in the price of our room. However, bad news is that under the new management, I think breakfast is no longer included. Too bad.

The sleeping room did have a good flat-screen tv. And there was a flat fireplace inset in the wall, beneath the tv, but that was it, nothing really "charming." The bed was very comfortable, with a pillowtop mattress and very nice linens.

Cons: Our room, a fireplace king, was in the building across the street from the main building. The building has character, our room had brick walls, but the room was pretty tight and just not very spacious. The "window" in the room was one of those semi-opaque glass block configurations that allow some light in, but there is no view outside. Even if there were a view, it would be a view of the side of the building right next door. The bathroom had a similar window. The bathroom was spacious enough, but really in need of updating.

There was also a wine and cheese buffet provided in late afternoon. It, too, was pretty pedestrian. If you're going to Charleston one of the things you probably want to do is eat at a nice restaurant, so why fill up on tasteless cheeses before spending a lot of money in a good restaurant?

Overall, considering the price we paid for this room, we expected more. The room was just pretty pedestrian. I'd suggest asking to see the room you're getting before booking, if you're able to do this. I feel like the website, at the time we booked, was a little misleading. Maybe the rooms in the main building are better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice hotel in the historic district of Charleston. You are paying for a nice hotel in a beutiful very old building that is in an incredible location. The hotel is not incredible, but it is nice. We ate breakfast three mornings at the Vendue and it was very good. All staff were very nice and helpful. Bathroom in our suite was very dated (gold). Had two burned out light bulbs in our suite. Our suite had a very comfortable bed and the living room was like home. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: A little noisy at night due to location in the historic district with the night life. Bring earplug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyPeople51560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing