We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just returned from Charleston and spent two fabulous nights at the Vendue Inn. We were greeted by Crosby who took care of our luggage and parking the car. Devon made the check in experience very pleasant and Robbie, the Concierge, arranged a tour of the city and dinner reservations for us. The city tour was very interesting and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable of the history of this beautiful city. Our room was beautifully furnished, the fireplace and complimentary bottle of sherry added to the ambiance of the room. The jacuzzi was relaxing after a long day of sight seeing and the bathroom size was the largest we have ever experienced. The location of the Vendue Inn is perfect for walking to various locations and the free Trolley, that runs every twelve minutes, is just a minute walk away. There was a Manager's reception at 4pm that we enjoyed and the breakfast selections were numerous. If you order the oatmeal with strawberries, bring a friend as it is served in a large bowl. The young lady that took the orders was very efficient and friendly. Jerry Kerwin, one of the managers, was very responsive to a comment that we had made on a survey. We enjoyed the view from the Roof Top Bar, but as it was breezy both nights we were there, we had to find a secluded spot to enjoy or libations. We look forward to our next visit to Charleston and the Vendue Inn. Thanks to all that made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Some rooms are darker than others, if lighting is a problem for you, remember to request a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racinron64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    364
    108
    67
    40
See reviews for
173
1,237
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This inn is really nice. It is in the perfect location in the French Quarter. The room was exquisite, although being on the first floor meant having to look at the street. Quite a change from the previous nights when we were spoiled looking at the ocean. Nice breakfasts. Roof Top Bar was nice but I think it is more of a scene for the younger set. Not great sandwiches.
All in all, the staff was fantastic and it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwzawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level Contributor
218 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were greeted by wonderfully helpful staff and checked in to lovely room 305 (we had been upgraded to a room with a fireplace). It had such a giant comfortable bed and pillows we had a glorious night’s sleep. The bathroom is a really good size – it has a separate shower, and a huge Jacuzzi bath, not to mention the world’s fluffiest towels! Breakfast was included and I enjoyed my eggs, potatoes and toast (meat was also available). We also went up to the roof top bar – lovely view, excellent cocktails and brilliant people watching opportunities ;0)

The Inn offers valet parking, or there’s a garage nearby but we were lucky enough to find a vacant parking metre on the side street steps away from the hotel. The Inn is in a great location and we loved our stay here - can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on a spur of the moment trip to Charleston for my birthday. We live in Columbia, so it's no huge feat to stay for the weekend and we are very familiar with downtown. I love staying downtown, and this hotel is in a great location. Is basically a block from the park, right down the street from the fountain. I'm not sure what level room we were in, probably something basic (wish he had mentioned it was my birthday at check in lol) There are rooms on the main side where you check in, as well as across the street in a separate building. i thought that was strange at first, but you are given your own key to let you in the building since there is no separate reception, which makes you secure. the room was small, felt very historic, but not old! the queen bed was fairly comfy, pillows too soft for my taste, but I'm fussy about beds and my sleep and never totally satisfied with any bed but my own so i don't fault them. We got it on a Saturday with the hotels tonite app for a couple hundred dollars, not bad for the location. Many fun places to visit within walking distance. All of the staff here were very friendly and helpful, a wonderful surprise (well, not much of a surprise since I looked it up on TA) compared to other places we've stayed. There is an evening reception with wine, fruit and cheese and apparently milk and cookies at night. They rent bikes for free as well. There is also free wifi, although we didn't need it so I can't comment on it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWilliamsColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, immaculately maintained, fabulous location, attentive and courteous staff, wonderful made to order breakfast in the Library restaurant and daily reception, charming and historic rooms. A perfect place to stay in Charleston - close to shops, restaurants, and other attractions. Would definitely recommend the Vendue Inn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennievee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had stayed nearby before but this spring was our first time at the Vendue Inn. Even before we arrived, Robbie the concierge contacted us and made dinner reservations within minutes. All the staff was that helpful, including the housekeeper who sneaked us extra chocolates after a night on the town. We loved the complimentary breakfast made fresh each day and the wine and cheese reception in the evening as well as drinks at the Rooftop Bar overlooking the harbor. Perfect location for walking to all the House and Garden tour events. Charming room too, old world character.mm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin12495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Charleston with my husband to celebrate our first anniversary. We choose the Vendue Inn and it was an excellent choice. From the attentive staff to the charming room to the amazing location, it exceeded expectations. And an added bonus was the wonderful complimentary breakfast and the fabulous rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laward11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing