We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Literally from the moment we drove up till the moment we left we were given great service. From unloading, to transporting our bags to valet parking the Vendue was impressive. Service was on par with hotels costing twice its price. Location is great. Rooms definately have a character and a flare befitting Charleston. The inn is small but filled with charm, hospitality and service with a great location to match. Having visited Charleston 10+ times and never staying there before now, I can truely say I will be back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CuriousTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,506 - 1,512 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

You would be hard-pressed to find a better location than The Vendue Inn in Historic Charleston. You are literally steps away from the waterfront and in the midst of all the restaurants and shopping. The Inn is old but has been nicely restored and decorated ... you definitely have the feel of staying in a small historic property. While the bathrooms are dated, the beds are fantastic !!! There is a rooftop bar which serves great drinks and the breakfast which was included was made to order and of great quality & service. If you are looking for modern, hip or trendy this is not the place for you but if you want quiet, intimate and historic in a prime location then The Vendue is a must !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Vendue Inn a year ago February for the first time. We were so impressed with the personal service there. The doorman even helped us with advice about free parking at meters after 6 pm! The room and bathroom were beautiful and very comfortable. The manager's cocktail hour was very nice with homemade hors d'oeuvres and good wine. The breakfast is all homemade and you choose from the menu. Before we left for the trip the concierge called us at home to help us with dinner reservations. We were very impressed.
So this February we went back. We figured there was no way it could be as wonderful as the first visit. But not only was it just as wonderful, they upgraded us to a gorgeous fireplace suite because we had returned!! And because it was my birthday, a lovely bottle of chilled champagne awaited us our first evening! Obviously, we highly recommend the Vendue Inn. Another plus is its location. It is within walking distance of the entire downtown and all the wondeful restaurants are within that area. They are also one block from the Cooper River where there is a very nice residential park with of view of Sullivan's Island.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king junior suite the first time on the second floor but there is an elevator. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Vendue Inn, with 2 other couples. We were in town for the Charleston Food and Wine Festival and our Anniversary. I believe we booked the last three rooms in the hotel, which could explain where ours weren't the best. We were in rooms 155, 255 and 253. They overlooked powerlines and a parking lot. My husband and I had room 153 -- which is ground level, so we heard cars, motorcycles and passersby. We also heard our friends in the room above us. The rooms are small and dark -- the price of a historic property and booking late :).
The service was amazing. The concierge called a couple of days prior to our arrival to see if he could be of assistance -- he graciously booked us at Anson's restaurant, which was our favorite meal of the trip.
Mark, the head bellman was a delight and incredibly helpful throughout our trip.
From the coffee service in the morning and a full breakfast, to wine and cheese at 4:00 p.m. to the 9:00 p.m. cookies and milk, the Vendue Inn provided many nice touches.
The location is wonderful -- close to the water and the numerous restaurants on East Bay Street.
Finally, I'd like to give a shout out the Chef at the hotel's restaurant - the Library -- his beef cheeks were our favorite "taste" at the food and wine festival's Grand Tasting.

Room Tip: We found the "annex" to be a noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaj2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Vendue Inn on our annual trip to Florida and we love it here. We stay in a small suite with a gas fireplace and the king size bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The staff are wonderful and very accommodating. The Inn has a wonderful restaurant which serves excellent food. I would highly recommend a visit to the Vendue Inn

Room Tip: We have never stayed in the main building as we loved the suites across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Staying at The Vendue was a wonderful experience. The staff at the Vendue are an example of true southern hospitality. The Inn is beautiful. It is conveniently located and provides easy access to shops & restaurants. They do a great happy hour & provided a wonderful breakfast. It was our first time staying at the Vendue but definitely not our last.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Vendue Inn is by far one of the most amazing places to stay in Charleston. It is centrally located, charming in all aspects, clean, friendly staff. Happy hour was one of the best we have ever had with an assortment of drinks as well as cheese plates. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was held in a beautiful dining room complete with table clothes and service with a menu of delicious food to choose from. The evening was capped off with cookies and milk. Don't miss the room top restaurant and bar, the view is amazing. My only regret is that I did not have more than one night to stay at this establishment and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,312 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $181 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing