We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed one night in a very historic and comfortable hotel. The location was walking distance to our restaurant and local bars. The only thing I would recommend is to keep an eye on your billing information because I was charged twice and it took a couple of days for them to figure it out.

Room Tip: If you want quiet request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dace12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    377
    112
    69
    41
See reviews for
180
1,288
58
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We took an absolutely last second trip to Charleston last weekend for my birthday. Both of my normal hotel choices were booked or charging higher than reasonable rates, so I chanced it on Priceline for any 4-star hotels. The Vendue Inn was a pleasant surprise initially, as I knew it for the rooftop bar and great location near my favorite restaurants. However my reaction at our actual stay is so much better. The rooms were both great, as they upgraded for the second night. Each had exposed brick walls, weathered beams, and beautiful furniture. The charm was incredible and the beds were great. This staff blew me away in its level of service and professionalism. I've stayed at many St Regis, Ritz, and Four Seasons, but none were as attentive and pampering as this crew. They acted like a B & B, each somehow aware of our names and room number without asking. They provided coffee in the morning, complimentary wine at four, and then free milk and cookies at nine. They all had the feel and class of a Ritz-Carlton concierge, down to the valet or bellman. The first room was small, but truly charming. Our upgraded suite on the second night was undoubtedly a five star experience. This is a hidden gem in a great weekend town full of better touted hotels who don't work this hard at making you feel like a VIP guest.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We can't say enough about our recent stay at the Vendue Inn. Each year we spend a weekend in Charleston for our anniversary and this was our first stay at the Vendue. The service was impeccaable from the moment we checked in until our departure. As we arrived before our room was ready, we left our car in the parking deck. Upon arrival, Crosby gave us a tour of the property and explained when events took place (afternoon reception, breakfast) and gave suggestions about the area. Crosby then walked over with my husband to our car in the parking deck to retrieve our luggage. Our room was on the first floor (Rm 102) at the corner of hotel and we were concerned that it would be noisy with due to vehicle and pedestrian traffic. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. The room was beautifully decorated and well stocked with amenities. We love the location as it is close to our favorite restaurants. We love walking all around Charleston and on this visit we ventured across the Ravenal bridge (received great tips on how to manuever around the Charleston marathon traffic and where to park on the Mt. Pleasant side). The southern breakfast was exceptional. The only downside to our stay was that my husband ordered strawberries through the conceirge to be delivered to our room on our 2nd night and we never received them. When we checked out we asked the front desk about it and it was in the computer to receive them but she didn't know why it didn't happen. She was very apologetic. Can't say enough about dining at Cypress and Magnolias -- 2 places we will always visit on return trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLee4641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wonderful French Quarter Location. Staff and location was superb! Especially liked being greeted by a lovely glass of wine, while we waited to register at the hotel. Very close proximity to restaurants and shopping. We were escorted to our lovely suite on the first floor, Ste#101. We could not say enough about our room. We were told by our bellman that the room was recently renovated. Absolutely gorgeous, with beautiful interior designs, a gas working marble fireplace was centered on the main wall. With a inviting seating arrangement in front of the fireplace. It was a cold evening, so the fireplace felt very welcoming. The marble bathroom was spacious and elegantly dressed with fine interior appointments, soaps and bath sundries, with a beautiful claw bath tub and separate rain shower. Our bed was turned down for us, when we returned from dinner across the street. We were greeted by homemade chodolate cookies and milk prior to turning in for the evening. Another special treat; a bottle of sherry on our dressing table. What a wonderful delight, especially after a long day of traveling. I slept like I was on a cloud, with the fine linens and a " to die for pillow top mattress". So very important to me when traveling. The staff and front desk were very accomodating and helpful. I felt right at home. We loved the beautiful southern breakfast served the next morning. Parking is offsite, I would suggest calling ahead, to let the front desk and bellman know when your arriving, especially during peek hours. I can't say enough about this Inn, and would highly recommend to anyone. Charleston is a wonderful place to visit, and we can't wait to return and stay at the Inn once again. I recommend trying the roof top restaurant, you can see all of downtown Charleston, the bar is under cover on cool evenings, with good entertainment. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: 1st floor suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueH10114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Charleston is beautiful and the Vendue is a lovely Inn converted from a vintage, 18th century, warehouse. While it is high in the charm and convenience factor, it really doesn't qualify as a historic bed and breakfast. I would say it falls into the category of a really slick townhouse style renovation with hotel style rooms. There was some confusion for me with their classification of rooms; "Historical, Classic, Traditional". I guess you just choose the size bed you want, and go from there. Supposedly, all the rooms are different, so you will not necessary get the room pictured, ever though you choose that room style. Mine was a "Historical King with Fireplace Suite", on street level. Nice windows, but you had to draw the blinds anyway for privacy and noise. The room is where I began to find fault. Having been to several B&B's, my room was more like a standard hotel room, certainly not a suite, with hotel furniture, albeit upscale. Seating with three hard chairs was very uncomfortable. Disappointing. The gas fireplace did work, but it would kick on and off with the room thermostat. So, if you were enjoying a book while watching the fireplace, be prepared for it to turn on and off regularly. Annoying. The bathroom was half as large as the bedroom, actually a little too big with a single sink, and a ball and claw tub that was modified for whirlpool. I never tried it. I used the glass enclosed shower, however, no hot water on the first day. None in the entire bathroom, as a matter of fact. I did complain and finally had some warm, not hot, water by the next morning. I never could get hot water from the trickling sink faucet. Again, very disappointing. Breakfast, if you joined their "Loyalty Club", was served each morning on individual tables in one of three small, tucked away, dining rooms. It would have been nice to have breakfast in the roof top restaurant that the Venue touted for lunch/dinner. Oh, well. I have to admit that the staff was very pleasant and always willing to help. The "Loyalty Club" also provided valet parking, which is a must in Charleston. This was not free. however. I thought the price was a one-time member fee of $18.00, but it was, in fact, $18.00 for each day of your stay. Prices for the rooms at the Venue are pretty high, even by Charleston standards, so you might want to shop around. The city is loaded with gorgeous houses that really do qualify as B&B's, but you have to book way in advance. That was my first mistake. Good luck.

Room Tip: If you can, prevue your choice of room before you commit. They run the gamete here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacamojoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Vendue Inn.
Firstly, I agree the room classifications are presently not the standard inn offerings. This is in part due to our historical origins and in part due to our renovation project. Our future design is customized to each room, but the variation in rooms will persist. Ultimately, we will have a more consolidated room portfolio.
I have asked our engineer to further investigate your comments concerning the hot water and water pressure. The described scenario regarding the fireplace is unique insofar as I cannot recreate it, but thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do take all these issues seriously and regret these shortcomings.
Furthermore, I would like to clarify the parking in our neighborhood. We offer to our guests a self-parking option in a city garage for $14 an evening or valet for $18 an evening. In comparison, our closest neighbor charges $20 an evening for valet. Our Loyalty Club members do not receive a discount on parking, but they do enjoy a full breakfast each morning as well as our other amenities including an afternoon reception, complimentary beach cruisers, evening turndown and freshly baked cookies each evening.
We do appreciate all comments, whether they be critical or laudatory, to improve upon our future guests’ stays. I thank you for the kind words regarding our staff’s pleasant demeanor and do hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Vendue Inn's location and staff were superb! We enjoyed the "walkable" French Quarter location and certain benefited from the outstanding cordial reception provided by the staff of the Vendue Inn.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and enjoyed the extra sitting room and the large bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a very friendly, cozy hotel in a central location in Charleston. It is well decorated and comfortable but could be better if 1) the bathrooms were bigger. The one in our room was small with one little sink, and 2) they provided premium cable service and movies on demand which even Holiday Inns have. Also 3) parts of the room were not well cleaned and we had to ask for housekeeping to take care of the overlooked areas.

The concierege and front desk people were helpful and kind. The bed was comfortable and the reakfast was good too. Overall a pleasant experience with a few disatisfactions

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Vendue Inn and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I am mostly pleased you enjoyed our helpful & kind staff, our made to order breakfasts and our plush bedding. We hope you also had the opportunity to enjoy the afternoon manager’s reception with wine & hors d’oeuvres, complimentary beach cruisers and our evening cookies & milk.
We view guest comments as opportunities to better serve our guest’s needs and we will take your suggestions for cable into consideration. Also, I while our standard queen rooms are modest in size, they are comparable to other historic hotels in Charleston. In the future, please consider our junior suites with large soaking tubs and separate showers for a more expansive bathroom.
Again, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to see you in the future.

Jerry Kerwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing