We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Historic and First Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
myrtle beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic and First Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have always enjoyed staying at the Vendue Inn in Charleston, but our recent visit was the best ever! As a very historic property, the Vendue had had a few quirks and bumpy spots. But apparently, they have been through quite a renovation. Our junior king suite was absolutely gorgeous, with 10-foot ceilings, ornate mouldings, and sumptuous fabrics. Our bathroom was huge, with a modern glass shower and a claw-foot tub. The price included a breakfast that was just exquisite. I highly recommend! What a getaway! the staff was so welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Junior King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    377
    112
    69
    41
See reviews for
180
1,287
58
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Vendue Inn and both experiences were exceptional and contributed greatly to the overall enjoyment of our trip. The staff is genuinely friendly and attentive, the accommodations are pleasant and comfortable and the little touches, like cookies and milk at 9:00 p.m. or the reception at 4:00 are lovely breathers and give you a chance to interact with other guests. It's location in Charleston is perfect for walking about this charming city. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumble_K8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent 5 days at the Vendue Inn last week and had a marvelous experience, from the Concierge calling me before the trip to see if he could help to an accommodating staff that put us in a requested room. The amenities were great: the wine and cheese hour and especially the cookies and milk at bedtime were a big hit. Sign up for their loyalty plan on the website ( free) and you get free breakfast which was excellent. The hotel is centrally located and easy walking distance to most of downtown Charleston. We skipped the rent car and had no issues. Would highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff - they will try to accommodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my third stay at the Vendue Inn. The King Suite is perfect for a special occasion. As pictures reveal, exposed brick interior walls, fire place, very large and well appointed bath. Quiet, historic charm. Staff always goes above and beyond. Above average wine reception and breakfast. Location is perfect; walk to anything all trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loyal2Cubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a place! 2nd stay because of what a place it is. Great rooms, Great people, Great location. Walking distance to everywhere.
Everyone working there wanting to make you happy. Cindy working at Breakfast is wonderful.
There are even delicious cookies and milk put out every night at 9pm, be prompt though, they go fast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Thanksgiving week was our 4th trip to Charleston, and our 4th stay at the Vendue. A great stay every time. Although we had a minor problem with our room, it was made right. After we had checked out and were eating lunch a Magnolias, i realized that i had left my phone in the room. A phone call by my wife, the phone was found. After lunch a shot walk back to the Vendue and Suzi greeted us outside to say goodbye. Its nice to be treated like family! As others have said, location, breakfast, bikes, wine and cheese, milk and cookies, and great service! What else is there? Thanks again. Richard & Sandra

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My daughters and I just returned from our 1st visit to Charleston, and were completely charmed! The Vendue Inn was a huge factor in our wonderful stay. Perfectly situated for easy walking to the waterfront, the Market - all shopping - best restaurants. From my pre arrival phone call requesting a suite with 2 queens - to saying our goodbyes - This property was perfect! Our Jr Suite was absolutely georgeous, the breakfast delicious, and our dinner at the Library outstanding and special. My daughters loved their bike ride to take photographs - we trampled each other to "not miss" the evening milk and cookies, and enjoyed the wine and nibble time and chatting with Chef Jude. I have stayed in many lovely hotels - but as always -it comes down to the staff - The Vendue warm and gracious staff made us feel like royalty - each and every single one. I have already begun plotting my next visit - but this time with my hubby!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite - Historic - beautiful #104 -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing