We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is "old Charleston" in every sense, so if you're looking for modern sleekness, look elsewhere. My wife and I were thoroughly pleased with the experience from the friendly, helpful staff to the spacious "standard" King bed room. The wine pours at the afternoon receptions were especially generous - and very good. The Library restaurant was an exceptional place for breakfast. The location is great, with many terrific restaurants very nearby.We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIBadgerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    355
    105
    66
    40
See reviews for
164
1,191
52
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Vendue inn twice, once a couple years ago and most recently 12/2012.
They go over the top to make you feel special. We love the full breakfast and the afternoon, wine and cheese. But our most favorite thing is access to those BIKES!!! We love to take the bikes and ride them all over town and we even use them at night and ride to see the older homes all lite up close to the battery!! I am a very picky traveler and these people really aim to please. We will continue to visit the Vendue Inn because we love the outstanding service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My first stay at the Vendue Inn could not have been better! My girlfriend graduated from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston more than a few years ago and wanted to visit the city. Her birthday was the perfect opportunity. The Vendue Inn was the perfect place to stay! We parked the car upon arrival and did not need it until we left two days later. Everything to see and do in Old Charleston was within easy walking distance. The staff of the hotel were truly exceptional! The afternoon wine reception is an especially nice way to relax after a day of touring the city and before dinner. I absolutely recommend the Vendue Inn for a stay in Charleston!

Room Tip: The Bird's Nest makes a great, private room for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I live in Columbia, S.C., which is less than two hours from Charleston. We don't take too many long distance vacations but we make it a point to take a couple of trips to Charleston every year. We love the history and atmosphere of the Holy City and even though we basically go the same places each trip, we never get tired of it. We've stayed at numerous hotels in the area but none compare to Vendue Inn. The rates are usually a good bit cheaper than comparable hotels and even when they're not, it's worth it to us because of the friendly staff and overall atmosphere of the Inn, very "homey". It's also worth it for the wonderful breakfast. While other places offer cold cereal, muffins and danish, Vendue will spoil you with the best gourmet breakfast I've ever had. The Bananas Foster French Toast is to die for and I wish I could prepare sausage the way they do. Getting hungry just typing this... Anyway, we have probably stayed at Vendue Inn at least 10 times by now and I really can think of no reason for them not to be on my speed dial for future reservations. Vendue Inn is truly our Charleston home.

Room Tip: The "Interior Queen" rooms are the best value. No windows but who cares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILMINGTON NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Vendue and was not dissapointed either time. The location is great and the service even better. We had an issue with the first room that was small and noisey. The second I mentioned it, we were given another room across the street from the main building and the room was great. Be aware that you will have to pay at least 14 dollars a day to park and we took the 18 dollar valet. I think all hotels in area charge to park. They do provide a complimentary breakfast if you book thru them. It was a real breakfast and we enjoyed it very much. Compared to some of the hotels in area, this is certainly the best deal around for the money.

Room Tip: Stay across street if noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOYSTERBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A continuing room update program provides a fresh delivery to a well-located small hotel with a first rate staff from welcoming warm greeting to housekeeping. Breakfast is a real Southern service--not continental. The Library, the romantic and more formal restaurant, and the Roof Top Grill offer choices within the hotel.

The concierge service is very comprehensive, to the point of responding to email requests prior to arrival. Location is key here, as the address is located in the middle of a significant fine restaurant area. The Vendue Inn remains at the top of our list of preferred properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Vendue Inn! The Christmas decorations, friendly staff, and special touches - like cookies and milk every night at 9 pm or the complimentary breakfast - made my experience nothing but enjoyable. I recommend the Vendue Inn to anyone staying in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
The Restoration
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing