We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service and ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Charming with wonderful service. Delicious breakfast, attentive staff and good value. Rooms are clean and charming. Love the rooftop bar. Wonderful restaurants nearby and right at the Waterfront park area. Perfect location for seeing Charleston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    377
    112
    69
    41
See reviews for
180
1,288
58
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could not have chosen a better place to stay. The location is right in the middle of downtown Charleston. We could walk or bike everywhere. ( they have bikes to use )
The continental breakfast that was included in our room price was beyond our expectations.
The hotel staff was gracious and most helpful. We would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Vendue Inn while attending a family wedding. The location was unbeatable. We walked everywhere and really enjoyed being close to all the action. Our only complaint was the early morning noise from outside when the trash truck came to collect things. The room was small but nicely decorated with a small Juliet balcony. We enjoyed our stay and would do it again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Murrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

stayed at the Vendue for 4 nights. the staff is very nice and helpful but the housekeeping stinks. we were first put in a room across the street in a parking lot! then we were shown 3 other rooms and ended up with one in the main building on the 3rd floor with 3 large windows that didn't open so the AC had to be run constantly. the bed is very comfy, the bathroom a bit "tight" ... we had no bathtub and the shower doors were installed backwards so turning on the shower was a bit awkward. we had friends staying at the same time and they were upgraded when they checked in, we weren't and we thought we had booked the same category of rooms! so I guess there are several to pick from. our room was large enough, not enough electrical outlets to charge your phone and computer. the wine hour each night is very nice and generous. the breakfasts are very good. my 2 complaints are terrible maid service, our friends had excellent maid service though. one day our room was never cleaned. we had 2 days of no hand towels or shampoo etc. and my bedside table was never cleaned off and the room was never vacuumed. also the room and bathroom are very dark. they could both use more lights on dimmers. the full length mirror is in the closet of all places so hard to see yourself. the hotel has odd stairs so it's not easy hauling your suitcases around. but the location is very good, close too lots of restaurants

Room Tip: get a room with lots of windows and not in the back parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bug4ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a beautiful inn as others have said ... it is clean and the staff is great... very friendly and willing to help. There is, however, no excuse for the poor quality of the bed... firmness is a matter of each person's taste.. but the mattress in our room was just awful .. one of the worst beds I have ever seen in any hotel anywhere without question. Then there was the heating system... the noise was loud... very loud... wake you up loud...thank goodness we had turned the thing down so that it came on toward the morning... once it came on you were up out of the awful bed. I am sorry to have to review the Vendue Inn in such negative terms but if a hotel has an uncomfortable bed and loud noise in the room does anything else matter? We cut our stay here short and checked out. Such a shame........

Room Tip: check out the bed and the noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Vendue Inn.
We are committed to providing a top-notch experience for every guest and we are disappointed that we missed the mark during your stay. We usually receive high praises on our bedding from the majority of our guests, but sadly it was not to your level of comfort.
We do take noise very seriously and although historic buildings do not have the sound insulation characteristics of modern buildings, we have put a lot of effort into trying to close the gap.
Ultimately, if you cannot sleep, you cannot be happy and we only wish you happiness wherever life leads you.

Jerry Kerwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have stayed here a few times & have never been disappointed. The rooms are gorgeous & immaculate. The breakfast is devine. The roof top bar is the perfect spot for a night cap. Love, Love the Vendue Inn! I graduated from the College of Charleston 20+ years ago & return every year. This is by far our favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: More romantic than family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXmomma1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

As the time for our stay drew near, Robbie, the Concierge, emailed me and offered his services. We followed his dinner recommendations and he made the reservations for us. He also went to considerable lengths to book a home & garden tour for us. The room had a king bed and was smaller than the cusomary hotel room but it was very nicely furnished and comfortable. The staff was great and the location is excellent. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend time in your room during the day, you might want to book a king suite vs. a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing