We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but think I will stay elsewhere next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Palmetto, FL 34221
15
Reviewed September 30, 2003

An acquaintance recommended the Vendue Inn as a very romantic place to stay. We arrived, checked in and were sent across the street. The bellhop was great and the front desk was fine, room large (Junior Suite) but view of the parking garage and electrical transformer were less than pleasant. We said oh well and began our 1st tour of Charleston. Had a great evening and returned to our room to find we did not need to turn on the lights because the exterior lights were so bright. We draped the robes across the windows and called it a night.
The next morning, bright and early we were awaken by the sounds of the garbage trucks and leaf blowers. The rooftop bar was pleasant and the breakfast good for the most part. Sometimes we arrived to find very little food but maybe just our timing was off. Location was good and convenient to the heart of the town. We rarely took advantage of the wine/cheese or cookie time due to the fact that we were across the street and often felt awkward going back and forth. Overall, I think the Vendue Inn annex is overpriced and agree that there are many other places to stay and will not recommend the Vendue Inn. Who knows maybe the main building is better.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BosworthGroup, Co-owner at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2009

The Vendue Inn is actually a collage of six pre-revolutionary and antebellum buildings. Four are adjacent and two face one another, with three entrances on two streets. We regret any inconvenience this might cause.
Most guests find charm in the quaint and historic assemblage, preferring it to a boxlike modern structure. Further, the balmy Charleston weather and breezes from the harbor just beyond us combine to make the
30-yard walk across a quiet side street from one awning-bedecked entrance to another, “a breath of fresh air.” Many American and European inns are similarly comprised of separate buildings. In any case, since our structures date back to 1774, there is little we can do to move them, but we’re happy to move guests at their request.

In addition, please consider most other inns and small hotels in Charleston have little or no food service, and these are in addition to complete lunch and dinner menus by Chef Sarah Carter at our Rooftop and
The Library restaurants. Even with these extras, you’ll find our room rates are the same if not lower than the majority of fine inns and small hotels in Charleston. I would also note that ours is the only historic inn within a few steps of Waterfront Park and scenic Charleston harbor and that it offers one of the only rooftop bars in
the city. We feel these many inviting attractions come at a very fair price to our guests and hope you will decide to experience the Vendue again and take advantage of all we have to offer.

Robert Pritikan, Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,261 - 2,267 of 2,292 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, South Carolina
248
Reviewed September 14, 2003

This was our first visit to Charleston and after some research we decided to stay at the Vendue Inn - we were in their newer facility across the street (Inn at 24 Vendue). We were quite pleased. The service was good, the room clean and the location tremendous - just out the door and 1 block to your left and you are at Waterfront Park. We were able to park in the garage right behind our Inn and leave the car all weekend - big plus for us since we'd much rather walk than drive.
Charleston is a great weekend getaway - very gracious and interesting city.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oxnard, California
112
Reviewed July 19, 2003

This place was wonderful, very quaint. The breakfast was very good, as were the wine, cheese, and cordials. The location is great; you can walk to many historic sites. This is an outstanding place to get away to.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
17
Reviewed July 13, 2003

The hotel and hospitality are outstanding and  the staff are friendly, professional and helpful.  Also, having everything so clean makes a stay so much more enjoyable.  We would certainly stay at the Vendue Inn again.  It is a lovely place.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hazelhurst, WI
18
Reviewed July 11, 2003

Clean and beautifully decorated. Very hospitable, friendly staff. The wine and cheese and cookies and milk are a nice addition as is the hearty breakfast that is provided.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Clinton, SC
16
Reviewed June 16, 2003

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BosworthGroup, Co-owner at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2003

2  Thank patbphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $181 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing