We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the city, love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love the city, love this hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated on the river in Charleston. The service is great and the rooms are very comfortable. They have a restaurant/bar located on the top floor of the main building that offers great views of the city. It is within walking distance of just about everywhere. The cookies they put out at night are amazing too! I have nothing bad to say about this place. It is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeka04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    427
    126
    73
    47
See reviews for
204
1,449
64
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was my second trip to Charleston and I recommend the city for a short stay 2-3 nights unless you are a history buff then you may want to stay longer. To me the Vendue Inn was the perfect place. The city pretty much closes down at 6:00 except for the chain stores, bars and restaurants. The Vendue being in the French Quarter has the idea location for a great many dinning choices all within a few blocks. My room was immaculate, well appointed, and the staff was helpful, and friendly. You get a B+B feel but not the tired rooms or property that many B+B's have. The Vendue is classy, clean, with all modern appointments, terrific rooms and a wonderful staff. I stayed across the street from the main building in a King room and would recommend the same to anyone. They provide at no charge bikes to ride around the city taking my time I made the loop in about an hour ( the city is very small) I did my ride at 7AM and had no traffic problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxie07c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I visited Charleston last summer and I never had time to write a review on our great experience at the Vendue Inn. While researching our trip to Savannah and getting great information from other travelers I decided to write a quick note.
We were awed by the property which was located in walking distance to great restaurants- ((Inserting PLUG here- Must try HUSK-Amazing authentic low country cuisine, great ambiance! Eat outside if you can)!!
We had limited time in Charleston so we also were able to view the city on bikes provided by the Vendue (awesome perk) and the bell hops were always happy to recommend spots to see and things to do! We especially enjoyed seeing the Victorian style homes and beautiful scenery Charleston has to offer. We were sorry we only stayed one night however the city, the service at the Vendue and the experience left a lasting impression on us. We are from NYC where accommodations and dining experiences are unmatched. However we found amazing service and superior food in this Southern Jewel.
The Vendue also had a great rooftop bar located next door. Great lunch spot and amazing MOJITOS!
Rooms were carefully appointed (in love with the wallpaper and overall layout). Southern hospitality in the afternoon for drinks, and warm chocolate chip cookies and milk served in the lobby at night!

Room Tip: We chose to stay upstairs, the lobby can get rather noisy in the evening although we didn't care...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCITIGIRL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We just got back from our vacation to Charleston. We chose to stay at the Vendue Inn based on other reviews and the great ammenities included with the reservation. The location is great. It is within walking distance to all the attractions in Charleston. Our room was small but quaint and historic. We were expecting this in historic Charleston anyway. The service at check-in was great. The breakfast was amazing and that alone is definitely worth a stay at the hotel. They also offer a complimentary managers' reception every afternoon with wine and snacks. The have cookies and milk at night time which were also delicious. We self-parked our rental car in the garage that they pointed us to for $14/day. Valet was $18/day. The Rooftop Bar was nice with great views at night. The only negative part to our stay was that they were doing construction for renovations in the wing next to our room. The noise was distracting and kept us from being able to sleep in or take a small nap in the afternoon. We mentioned this to the hotel staff but they just apologized. The concierge was great and helped us to book a private carriage tour around Charleston. Despite the construction, we would stay here again or recommend it to someone else as long as they weren't doing construction anymore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I'll start with the positives - the location of this hotel cannot be beat. You are walking distance to all kinds of good restaurants and shouting distance from the water. The staff were friendly except for the man who checked us in. We booked our hotel room online through a popular website and he argued with me that breakfast wasn't included for the price we paid. After a brief argument the staff agreed to let us have the breakfast. And was it ever wonderful! their breakfast is delicious - we had peaches and cream french toast one morning and bananas foster french toast the other. The service is good and the quality of the food is excellent. Also, I highly recommend using the complimentary bikes to explore Charleston. They give you a lock to take with you so you can lock up your bikes and go into restaurants or bars. It was a great thing to have! Now for the negatives - the hotel rooms are very small and cramped. Our queen sized bed was too soft and fluffy. Also, the room wasn't very clean and we even found a cockroach in our room! Keep in mind this is a boutique hotel and very old - but the bathroom was dirty and extremely dated. And not even dated with antique furniture - the tub was very small and the shower was poor and had no scald guard. For the money we spent we could have stayed at much better hotels in Charleston that are not in as good of a location. I don't think this hotel is worth what they charge for a Traditional Queen Room like we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpc0580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Wasn't expecting much when I booked a room here for $159/night. Had a bad experience with the guy on the phone, he was supposed to call me back, took two hours, blah blah blah. Ended up using hotels.com, cutting out the employee, and getting the best price available for a traditional queen room, $30/night less than what the employee was quoting me.

End up getting to the room, and what a surprise. Everything screamed of personal touches. Good bath products, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds and pillows, flat screen TV, great AC unit. Comfortable and quaint.

Long story short, my new favorite hotel in Charleston. I'd stay here over the Charleston Place any day of the week.

Room Tip: Use hotels.com. Don't bother asking about AAA discounts...the room rate was $159.00, and when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was my second time to the Venue Inn, and it was even more amazing than I remembered! My first trip was in December for a business meeting. It was nice, the food was wonderful, and you can't beat the location! Walking distance to amazing restaurants and close to the water where you can walk down to Battery Park. My recent stay was in April for our anniversary. We stayed in a clean and romantic room and the hospitality was top notch! Mark was extremely helpful during our entire stay. We enjoyed the daily breakfast, but make sure you verify breakfast is included when making your reservation. We overheard others had an issue. The little "extras" the Vendue provides make you feel at home. From afternoon wine offerings, to the use of free bicycles , to milk and cookies at night. Each room of the hotel is unique and the beds are so comfortable, it's like falling into a cloud! I do have to warn you on the cost of parking. We had a rental car and the cost to park was $18 per day. The hotel offers outstanding customer service and we were given excellent restaurant recommendations! There is also a neat rooftop bar that has good drinks and nice views of the city. Overall our stay was amazing at this charming historic inn. If you are seeking a romantic or relaxing stay, I highly recommend the Vendue Inn. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinstyle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,145 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,398 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing