We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to experience Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax
1 review
“Great way to experience Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for a long summer weekend, first time in Charleston. Cool hotel comprised of a block of historic buildings. Right next to waterfront park, close to trolley stop, walk to excellent restaurants, market, everything. Take the free hotel bikes for an easy spin through the historic house neighborhoods by the battery.

Very attentive staff, extremely helpful. Enjoyed the full breakfast in the morning, wine reception in the afternoon, and cookies at night! Rooftop bar was breezy even on a summer day, nice live music with the view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    401
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,353
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Gosh, what can I say. The most beautiful city I've ever seen. The architecture is awesome. Great restaurants around the Vendue Inn. Across the street is a very nice roof-top bar. Central location allows everyone to walk to attractions, including the wonderful Battery Park. Try to get tickets to see the elegant yards behind the historic homes. I can't wait to return to the Inn and the city!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psufan559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Vendue Inn. The staff was genuinely welcoming, our room was large, beautifully appointed, and clean. The hospitality was terrific, with the complimentary wine and cheese reception every night at 4pm, the cookies and milk at 9pm, and the sit down full complimentary breakfast each morning. We interacted with half a dozen stafr members, from the bellboy to the check in clerk to the concierge, who all could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I was worried that a 4:30 am checkout to catch a 6am flight might cause problems getting our car from the valet, but we were assured the car would be waiting for us at the curb, and it was. As we were leaving, the night clerk said he made a fresh pot of coffee, knowing we would need it -- a really nice parting touch. On the way to the airport, my wife said there was only one thing wrong with the Vendue Inn. I asked her to explain, and she stated, "There was nothing to complain about." There can be no higher praise than that!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Vendue Inn is a very welcoming, relaxing hotel. Because it is not large, you feel that the staff really cares about whether or not you're enjoying yourself. Our room was wonderful, with a huge four poster king and very large bathroom with whirlpool tub. Everything was spotless. Yes, some of the furniture was old, but isn't Charleston? :) The breakfast each day was a real bonus, as it was included in the price. Loved the afternoon wine reception - the dips, crackers, and fruits were delicious! Who serves crab dip for free? We also enjoyed a drink on the rooftop bar and dinner at the Library as well. It's in a great location - we walked everywhere - to the waterfront, to the College of Charleston, to King Street.... and also biked through neighborhoods on the morning before we left. What a great city and the Vendue Inn is a lovely place to stay while enjoying all that Charleston has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Where to start.....We only spent two nights/days in Charleston, we were visiting various coastal cities. We arrived at about 5PM and were immediately checked in and had our luggage bussed to our room. We only decided to go to Charleston on Sunday (this was Tue.) while we were in Savannah. They only had one room available. It was an inside room with no windows, I wasn't too excited but also was going off the cuff with little planning so decided to take it. Our room was only $125 per night before taxes etc. We only had one full day and two partials so I didn't figure we would spend much time in the room anyway. For the cost of the room you get breakfast..... and I do mean breakfast, ordered off the menu. Eggs to order with all the trimmings, your choice of juice, coffee of course, a special each day that was an omelet both days we were there (a fancy omelet I should add) French toast bananas foster (you gotta try it!!) and much more. The coffee is out all morning, then water with fruit in it (lemons, limes, oranges etc.) At 4-5 Pm (I think I have the time right) they serve wine and cheese......thats right, wine and cheese......for an hour....and yes, they did refill my glass. The cheese table was about 6' square and was full, cheeses and crackers of all types, chicken salad, pimento cheese salad, another or two, fresh fruit, a vegetable salad etc, very nice. At nine PM (again, I think this time is right) they put out milk and cookies for an hour, home made chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin etc. I believe these were the best CC cookies I've ever eaten. I told my wife this would be a deal without a room. The room, was small, we knew this before hand, they do have nicer rooms with views etc. not for $125 however. It was very well decorated and comfortable. This Inn is about 100 yards. from the city pier. Very, very nice. You can stroll down to the pier, through the park, sit on one of many swings or benches, look out over the harbor, walk through downtown, the Inn is right in historic downtown Charleston. We were made to feel special by all the staff, someone has done a great job of training/teaching service skills here. We stayed in and visited some nice, fun places in Charleston, Hilton Head, and Savannah. This was by far our favorite. I highly recommend Charleston for a visit and highly recommend the Vendu Inn. I give it 5 stars because there is nothing higher.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brclark54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Vendue Inn was an amazing find. It is ideally located less than a minute walk from the historic marketplace and two blocks from the waterfront. The staff was extremely courteous upon our arrival. The bellhop gave us a tour of the main lobby before escorting us to our room. He explained all the amenities the hotel offered, some of which were not even listed on the website. For instance, the hotel has bikes that you can borrow to ride around town, complimentary! Breakfast, a wine and cheese reception in the afternoon and cookies and milk at night were all included as well. We knew that breakfast was included but expected a small buffet like most other hotels in the area offer. To our delight, it was a full, sit-down breakfast! There were several options to choose from ranging from just eggs to biscuits and gravy complete with grits. The chef also offered a different special each morning. Everything that we tried was delicious and the wait staff was very attentive.

Our room was gorgeous. There were lots of neat little touches, like the sherry on the nightstand and the Charleston Chews on the pillow. Each night we received a card under our door with the weather for the next day, some trivia about Charlestown and information on things to do. The bed was as fluffy and soft as sleeping in a cloud. It was the most comfortable bed I have encountered in a hotel.

This is a great hotel. It is an amazing value and a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend staying here when you visit Charleston.

Room Tip: We called and asked if they would do a price match for a lower rate shown on travel websites. They d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FedMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The staff was so helpful and the rooms were terrific.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler07182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing