We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, historical, charming, dog-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
leesburg, va
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic, historical, charming, dog-friendly”
Reviewed October 3, 2007

My wife and I were looking for a romantic weekend getaway, but couldn't find a sitter for our German Shepherd dog. A friend from Charleston recommended the Vendue Inn, and sure enough, they take dogs, at no extra charge. We stayed in room 350 of the annex, which spans the top floor, overlooking Vendue Range and the entrance to the annex. It's one of the most charming rooms we've ever stayed in: two-hundred year old exposed brick walls, dark wood floors, dark furniture, plantation shutters, and some of the softest white linens and feather pillows we've ever slept on. The bathroom was impeccable. They must have recently remodeled, because all the fixtures are shiny and spotless, a beautiful contrast to the dark walls and floor. Some might find it a bit too dark and masculine, but we loved it! The staff are very nice. Only a couple small complaints: the interior walls and floors of the annex are not well soundproofed, so we could easily hear our neighbors below. Considering how luxurious the room was, we were disappointed to have overcooked scrambled eggs, artificially sweetened grapefruit juice, and watery coffee for breakfast. But these little issues would not prevent us from returning and asking for the same room. Overall, we loved it.

  • Liked — linens, beauty, charm, location, dog-friendly
  • Disliked — breakfast, lack of soundproofing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    424
    122
    73
    46
See reviews for
203
1,428
62
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. Our accomodations in a junior suite with a king bed was delightful. The staff was very accomodating to any needs that we had. The daily breakfast was served in a bright, airy room set with linen table cloth and fresh flowers.We enjoyed drinks at the Rooftop bar located on the fourth floor of the hotel and had an excellent dinner on the last night of our stay.

The location was ideal for us. We walked all over town and explored the shops and sights near the hotel.

I would recommend this site.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — temperature fluctuations in room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aaadios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
344 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We enjoyed the annex very much. Room was a little smallish. The location right in the heart of the historic district/just off the harbor was wonderful. I especially appreciated the complementary bikes for cruising along the beautifully architectured streets. Great service.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank HuskerTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Positives:
Wine and cheese hour
Cookie & water turndown service
Steps away from the waterfront
In the heart of the French Quarter
Wonderful doormen
Charleston is FABULOUS! Kaminsky's coffee shop is a MUST!

Negatives:
Room had leak marks all over the ceiling. It really took away from the decor.
Our toilet ran the entire weekend.
Fitted sheet and comforter on bed. No flat sheet and no comforter cover.
I asked for Champagne to be in the room upon arrival - it didn't arrive until after 5:30 :(
Could hear our neighbors every word.
We could hear the entire set of the rooftop bar on Saturday until 10:45 pm. We were on the third floor - bar is on the roof. When we asked the front desk what time it would end they said 10pm. They went on to say "well, we only have bands five out of the seven nights." I guess that is supposed to be a good thing.
Breakfast was lacking. Weak coffee, eggs and waffles (tiny ones) were the only offerings on Saturday and Sunday.

We are frequent bed and breakfaster's. We won't stay at this location again seeing as how you do not get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Sweet doormen
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast, room decor/cleanliness and NOISE!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vendue, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2009
We appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your stay. At the Vendue Inn, we continually strive to offer the best service and accommodations to our guests and appreciate your thoughts on how we can improve. Since your stay, we have added an extensive training program for all of our employees to insure that service at the Vendue is the best of any Inn in town. Additionally, we've added insulation to all of our rooms to control the noise level from the bar. We’d love for you to experience our improved service and staff during your next visit to Charleston.

--Susie Ridder, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were put in the annex across the street from the hotel. Daily complementary breakfast was very good, but a bit repetetive. The walls in the rooms were very thin - we could hear our neighbors taking medication! Room was small, but nicely decorated. We enjoyed the old brick look, but the shower leaked and left a nasty "ooze" buildup on the floor from apparently months of inattendance. We enjoyed the complimentary bike rentals - what a great way to see Charleston. Hotel is in a great location, but that's what you're paying for. Overall, staff was friendly and helpful - had an issue with one older valet staff.

  • Liked — complementary breakfast and bike rentals
  • Disliked — room location, thin walls
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

we killed more than 12 mosquitos in our room... Location is good, staff is friendly.. but rooms and beds are terrible...
I do not recommend at all.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank awdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Vendue has a nice location and was dog-friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated -- we had a 1 br suite. The king bed was really high, with appropriate victorian-period steps to get there. However, the rooms needed a solid cleaning (carpet worn, slight mildew smell). Additionally, the room had little to no sound proofing, so the workmen that started around 7am every morning were heard loud and clear, as was the constant loud elevator noise for people on their way to the Rooftop (until after midnight every night). On a side note, their restaurant was pretty bad... The tastes weren't good and the service wasn't great either... a real disappointment.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sportmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,358 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,734 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing