We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although this resort is older it was very quaint. Had an efficiency for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and we were able to walk to many attractions, restaurants, shops and the market. We also walked to the boat which takes you out to Fort Sumter. If you are looking for a modern resort then this is not the place for you but then you would not get the feel of the real Charleston. We had a very nice stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cojasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello cojasak,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Lodge Alley Inn. We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us and that you would love to return. We are glad that you made the most of your vacation despite the short period of time! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Lodge Alley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 451 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I actually used his aunts time share to stay here for our honeymoon. We both enjoy history and Charleston was our pick. Overall it was a good experience and we only had a few minor complaints. I saw many complaints of dirty rooms, bugs, and mold but we saw none of that on our stay. Our rooms were clean and because we stayed for 7 days we were able to get a complimentary cleaning mid week which was kind of nice. When you first get there you get to sit down with someone who gives you coupons for places around the area and is a great help with making reservations for you and giving her directions to places you want to go. Now lets get to our complaints. On Thursday we woke up to a loud crash. The crash ended up being the flatscreen tv in our room, FALLING OUT OF THE WALL. It was installed into the dry wall and not a stud and literally fell, mount and all, off the wall. Obviously broken as it was cracked we called down to the front desk. The lady was very nice and we were not charged for this thank goodness. However, first they send up a maintenance guy who comes in and then leaves. Then they decide to move us to a room so they could repair it. Well, they move us to a smaller room with two twin beds, on our honeymoon! So after repacking ALL our stuff and carrying it to the next room, she tells us she can move us somewhere else. So we had to go back down to the front desk and get our new room key. Well the THIRD room had a bigger bed so that was great, but one very small tv and it was not as open. So this was disappointing. Also, we found out afterwards that his aunt called the lodge alley inn and asked them to put champagne in our room as a gift since we were honeymooning and staying for 7 days, and they told her No, they do not do stuff like that. I found this to be unbecoming as I am sure most other places would have done it in a heartbeat. Also, we flew to Charleston from Grand Rapids, MI. We stayed in a hotel for one night before flying out and that hotel allowed us to leave our car there free of charge and covered the cost of travel to get us to the airport on Sunday morning. The lodge alley inn called us a cab to get to the airport the day we departed and, considering a few issues we had during our stay, it would have been nice for them to do the same but they offered nothing beyond calling a cab for us. So the rooms were clean, the location is amazing, but they need to work on going above and beyond for people, especially when THEIR televisions fall off walls. Our other complaint was the WiFi. It was awful. The last two days we were there the tv and internet was out so we could not use either. When the wifi was working it was very shotty, in and out, not consistent at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jessicah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello Jessica H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Lodge Alley Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. We take our guests' feedback very seriously and greatly appreciate your time. We would like to further discuss your particular concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My grandmother is an owner of blue green resorts. We came here for a family reunion, and it was a disaster from the moment we got here. The managing staff have no clue what they are doing and we felt we were interrupting them when asking for help. Each family had to move out of their rooms for cockroaches, mold, and broken appliances. Each room was very unclean regardless of what the maids had done. When promised a room to be moved to, we were then told other guests had to be moved there where upon an additional hour was wasted waiting for yet another room to be cleaned. Management is completely incompetent. In other words stay elsewhere!!

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello Rachel M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret to learn that you had a disappointing experience. We would like to learn more about any inconvenience you experienced with customer service and the room condition. Your feedback is very important to us. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed in May, 2014. Would attach pics if possible, but flat out dirty. Collections of dirt in corners, stained rugs, and a couch with mismatched cushions that wouldn't be accepted by the salvation army. Old TV on a dresser with cords exposed. Went to sales office to ask if on a future visit there were decent units, and was told not really, they will be renovating n 2016! We are owners, and I am furious. The previous year there was a huge bug in the dirty bathroom and you could write in the dust on the windows. At least that year I got a call of apology.people in the sales office said to fill out a form so owners would be aware,seemingly agreeing that the place is a mess. No response. Also emailed the manager and said I want points back, attaching pictures. No response. A hotel could never get away with this. Of course the location is great, and the building is great. Its criminal that it is so dilapidated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monicaflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello Monicaflint,

Thank you for sharing your review of Lodge Alley Inn. Quality and cleanliness are among our highest priorities. Your feedback is very important to us, and we could like to discuss details further. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we travel to Charleston, we stay at the Lodge Alley Inn. It is very conveniently located being near the market, Meeting Street, the Battery, numerous restaurants and bars, and the waterfront. The accommodations are great, we love the wooden floors, poster beds, and the ambiance. We had a street view room, which was fine, but we prefer the courtyard view. Our room was very nicely decorated, with a separate sleeping area. This was a treat as we had booked a studio. The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome and at home.

Room Tip: We like the courtyard rooms, some have double doors with small balconies that overlook the courtyard...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary_and_Sandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello Gary_and_Sandy2014,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lodge Alley Inn. We appreciate your compliments regarding the accommodations and staff as we aim to share happiness with our owners and guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited the Lodge Alley Inn as Bluegreen owners in October 2013. We had a street view studio room. The room itself was comfortable. We had 4 adult females sharing a room and it worked fine. We did find the street to be quite noisy at night but it really only bothered one of the group. The rest of us were so tired I suppose we could have slept through anything. The resort has on site laundry which was nice and never crowded. The courtyard was very nice. They offered tea and cookies every afternoon which was refreshing. The valet parking is a must, as you will simply not find anywhere to park otherwise. We visited Slightly North Of Broad (directly across the street!) and it was AMAZING as well as Magnolia (a few doors down) and it was awesome as well. The waterfront is just a block or so away and not far from the market or rainbow row, and art galleries. The beach was about a 30 minute drive (Folley Beach). I would highly recommend this hotel, if for no other reason, its fantastic location.

Room Tip: Street side is noisy, ask for courtyard side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyseTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hello AlyseTaylor,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to review your experience at Lodge Alley Inn as Bluegreen owners. We are happy you found our accommodations comfortable. We appreciate your kind remarks about our resort grounds and amenities, along with the feedback you have shared about the surrounding area. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were amazed at the great location of Lodge Alley Inn. You can walk to all the hot spots in Charleston from here in just a few minutes - Waterfront Park, Rainbow Row, The Battery, Catfish Row and of course the City Market. We also walked to Washington Park off Meeting Street for a late night ghost tour! This area of the city is very safe. Any type of restaurant is close as well. The studio we stayed in was superb. It had a balcony view of the court yard, a Jacuzzi tub, and a queen size four poster bed. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The staff were all superb as well, from the bell hop valet to the front desk and cleaning staff. We could also do our laundry at the lodge. We can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traci1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hello Traci1234,

Thank you for staying at Lodge Alley Inn. We are thrilled you were amazed by our location and that you found our accommodations superb. We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#30 of 61 in Charleston
595 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
651 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $224 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing