We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location: was the only plus”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we were very disappointed we paid for an upgrade; we were put in a 2 bedroom we walked into an atrocious mold smell paint peeling off the walls water damage mold on the windows a dining room table that was broken and then when I went up to the bathroom someone who had used the toilet didn't bother to flush it. so we were probably going to check out when they put us in a different room which had cockroaches on the floor thank God they were deadwasn't stocked with any toilet paper or towelsdidn't look like they had washed and change the bed sheets. we definitely have no interest in ever going back there again. it was like us switch and bait, they were trying to sell you something beautiful and a book and then when you thought it was not anywhere near the pictures.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello cara t,

At The Loge Alley Inn, we are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness. We regret to learn this was not your experience. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so that we may discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Lodge Alley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 451 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Charming is a nicw way to put it. The amenities are nice, the staff was professional and prompt. It's an old building for certain so I'm not going to pick nits about the molding, tile, windows etc. For me a hotel room is a base of operations and this base is right in the heart of it. We went as a sample of the bluegreen package and availed ourselves the surrounding attractions. It was a Valentine Day weekend and a lovely time in Charleston.

Room Tip: The room they show you won't necessarily be on a par with the room you stay in.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigMikeinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hello BigMikeinMB,

Thank you for sharing your review of Lodge Alley Inn. Your feedback as a Sampler member is valuable to us. We are happy you enjoyed the amenities and found the staff professional and prompt. We aim to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding experiences. We regret to learn that your stay was not perfect. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to share any additional details. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Was disappointed to say the least in our room.Furnishings shabby,walls had scuff marks,dusty in places.This was not what we were shown when given a sales pitch tour.The only plus is the location-easy walking distance to dining,shops,market.Courtyard nice,a pool would be nicer in this climate.After having our car valet parked for several days,we wound up with quite a few dings and even a small dent on the car door.And they except no responsibilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the recently restored rooms,though there doesn't seem to be many,at this point.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello sharon53_12,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lodge Alley Inn. It is our goal to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding accommodations and service. We regret to learn your experience did not meet your expectations. We would like to further discuss your particular concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com to provide additional details. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The buidings containing the Lodge Alley Inn were built before the Civil War. The resort is truly on both sides of an alley (now private to the resort and no longer open to autos) so there's not much signage on the front - you need to look close or you can drive right past. The alley forms a courtyard with a central water fountain.

Check-in can be a bit intimidating since there's only a few spots to park and unload your car. I had to go around several times until a space became available.

Very friendly staff - especially the concierge which made recommendations of what to see and do while in Charleston. We left our car parked except for an excursion out of the city to visit a couple of plantations. Almost all the historic district is withing 10 blocks around the resort.

There are a myriad of restaurants in the area. As you would expect, seafood tends to be their speciality. We ate at Magnolias, Fleets Landing, and A.W. Schucks - all were within a few blocks of the resort. All were good.

There are elevators in the buildings.

I read some complaints in other reviews about the stairs in the unit - you should be aware that since the lodge is in a historic district, they have to run any proposed.changes past a historic commission which I understand is very hard to deal with.

For instance, I was told they were once fined $10,000 when they resanded a pine floor without permission - even though the floors needed it badly. Floors are all the original heart oak.

All rooms had 10 ft ceilings. All the furnishings must be consistent with the historical period.

The matress on the poster bed was about three feet off the floor and actually required steps to get up into it - a little disconcerting until you got used to it.

Even the paint colors are required to be approved - the commission takes forever to make a decision and tends to want no changes even when the results would be closer to the period (for example, replacing old 70's countertop with granite).

Be aware there are only a few washers/dryers in the resort - some of which were broken when we were there.

I was told the resort would never have a swimming pool or washer/dryers in the units because they would be historically inaccurate. Our bathroom was also a bit dated which I know the resort has been wanting to upgrade when/if they get permission.

This attitude pervades the entire historic district - we saw a house for sale for almost a million dollars which was basically two rooms on top of each other. It even still had the outhouse - although a flush toilet was now installed in it.

If you like history and eating out, Charleston is your city. Kind of reminded me of New Orleans without the raucous night life - although Charleston does have it own - just a bit more subdued. The historic city market is only about 2-3 blocks from the resorts. My wife and her friend spent several days exploring the various booths.

If you're looking for a modern resort with all the amenities - pools, jacuzzis, state of the art appliances, and lots of kid friendly enertainment - this is not the place!

But, - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiringAt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello RetiringAt62,

Thank you for your extensive review of your visit to Lodge Alley Inn. The details you provided will help future guests who are considering their own visit to Charleston. We are happy you liked the great location and found the staff very friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Charleston. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located downtown in close proximity to the Old Slave Market. As a Bluegreen owner and former resident of Charleston, I finally was able to book a room at Lodge Alley. Valets are quick and helpful and get your car to you in no time at all. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and the setting was great. Very quiet considering all the foot traffic and music coming from the clubs surrounding the Inn. there is plenty of places to eat to satisfy your particular requirement. prices are really good considering this is a tourist area. plenty to see and do and you do not have to go far to shop or see the sights.
You have to have the valet park your vehicle and there is a cost incurred. No swimming pool or restaurant on site. But beaches close by.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarbyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello DarbyMorgan,

Welcome back to Charleston and thank you for staying with us at Lodge Alley Inn. Your opinion as a Bluegreen owner is very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and location. We look forward to sharing happiness on your next resort visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

As a Bluegreen owner and a lover of Charleston, I use Lodge Alley as my home away from home several times a year. The location is perfect. The valets are wonderful. The rooms differ greatly so you have to know the place and spend time with the front desk folks to know what will meet your needs. Some 1 bedrooms have the bedroom in a loft accessed by a spiral staircase. Some on those have the bathroom upstairs and others downstairs. I have issues getting around and cannot climb stairs. Seems they never hear my request for a room that is flat - no stairs. I end up verifying 1/2 dozen times that my request is on the system. They truly do not understand ADA and the need to accommodate. We arrived last night only to be put in one of those loft rooms. I was so mad I almost went back home. I insisted that the front desk person call the resort manager. Two hours later we were in a satisfactory room. Hope the weekend better now. Lodge Alley and Bluegreen need to figure out how to address the issues.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mapdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello mapdsp,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lodge Alley Inn. Your feedback as a Bluegreen owner are very valuable to us. We are thrilled you consider the resort your home away from home. However, we regret to learn about your concerns. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com to that we may properly address your experience moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at the Lodge Alley Inn and had a great experience. We stayed in a studio facing East Bay Street. The studio had a bedroom w/king bed & tv, living room w/fireplace & tv, large bathroom area, coffee maker, fridge & microwave. The bedroom & living room areas were separated by the fireplace w/gas logs. Our room was extremely clean & quiet even facing the street. I did not see any areas that were in need of renovations, everything was nice. Valet parking is best and is $14. If you choose to park yourself, you do not have in and out privileges which means you pay each time you enter the parking garage. The gentleman at the front desk was very busy with checking guests in and did an excellent job of being efficient while making sure each guest was properly taken care of. The valets/bell hops were wonderful and always reminded you to call ahead whenever you needed your car. Our experience was excellent and we hope to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2bncharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hello love2bncharleston,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lodge Alley Inn. We are thrilled that you had a great experience enjoying the accommodations and amenities. Your compliments regarding the staff are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#30 of 61 in Charleston
595 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
650 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $224 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing