We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better hotel in area for same price or less”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel room had leak in ceiling, had to call down multiple times when we needed extra towels and even toilet paper. Hallways were blazing hot. Thermostat was set to 81. When we mentioned how hot it was at front desk we came in later and it was on 84. Almost every hotel offers free wine and cheese & apps for an hour or two in evening. This one offered one glass of sherry and cookies.Great location but I have stayed in at least 5 other hotels in downtown Charleston that are around the same price and all MUCH better. I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 451 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Service was impeccable at this location. The staff always went out of their way to establish "southern hospitality." Everyone was really efficient. They are well prepared.

As a guest, I did not have to pay anything. For what it's worth.

The beds were extremely high four poster beds. It is so high you need steps to get to the bed. We found it exciting, but it can/might be a problem for some people. Again, we liked it. The beds were extremely comfortable for a nights sleep, also the pillows complimented the bed.

Everything about this resort was clean. From the fountain to the courtyard to the front desk and beyond was manicured, relaxed and kept.

This resort was centrally located. We did a lot of walking; however we got away with not using our car the whole trip. Getting to some locations; however, we wished we brought a car due to its far location. Overall, it is centrally located to dining, shopping, natural sites, historical tours and all.

I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room with a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ndmjax78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family owns a time share and this is one of our properties we love staying here and for as many years as I can recall this is the only place we have stayed at. It has some of the nicest staff in the world who will bend over backwards for you, coffee is always on in the lobby as well as a meet and great every day at 4 with Sherrie and cookies, the valet staff is quick and professional and are really great people who will help you with your luggage and give you pointers and advise for navigating the city, just about anything you would want to do is in the city is within 10 minutes walking distance of this location the court yard is an amazing place to sit and enjoy the afternoon with friends and family they have a nice group of birds that will actually come up and sit under your chair. I can not say enough about how helpful the staff is any question about the area you have they will be glad to help you with.

When you stay here you can really feel the history in the buildings many of them have original floors and walls it is truly the definition of a southern hotel
trust me one stay and you will be hooked

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchfirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Every time we stay at The Lodge Alley Inn we are so delighted with the hotel's ambiance with it's southern flair of the old gone by days. The hotel is famous for it's centralized location which is walking distance to the Market street and to so many restaurants. The rooms are big and very well decorated and very clean. The smaller rooms in the hotel are actually lofts that can sleep at least 4 with 1 1/2 bathrooms, a kitchen & dining room, and a large living room. What more can you ask?!!!!

Room Tip: The small rooms are actually much bigger than any hotel room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yokohamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn for 1 night (May 11). We had stayed once before and we were excited about returning. We were in town for a wedding that took place downtown and the location was perfect. The hotel is located directly across the street from S.N.O.B, over High Cotton and right around the corner from the open market. There are plenty of high quality, multi priced food locations all within a very short walking distance. Also, King Street shopping is only 2 streets over. At night a cab anywhere in the downtown area is $5pp flat fee. There is no parking, so a Valet will take your car when you check in and the cost is $11 per night.

As I mentioned, we were there for a wedding. We arrived at 12:30 and did all the check-in paperwork but the room wasn’t available yet, so we didn’t actually get in until 3:15pm. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Check in is usually at 4pm but they seemed to have a hard time getting rooms ready early. I called ahead and explained that we were going to a wedding and we needed our room as early as possible and that we would be arriving in town around noon. (check out is at 10am). All they said is that they couldn’t promise anything before 4pm. This was frustrating since I cant imagine it takes 5 hours to clean 1 studio room…(and the day we checked out, the cleaning person knocked on our door at 9am to see if we had checked out yet.) I would think that they would just do that room first and move on from there…but anyways…

Our room was on the second floor, facing East Bay. Hardwood floors, King bed, fireplace and tile bathroom area. Nicely decorated and very clean. Bedding was super soft and plenty of clean towels. Air condition was pumping and it was very cool and refreshing. There was coffee maker with coffee and a packet of lemonade (but nothing to make it it in…)
(TIP- there is much better coffee in the lobby with all the fixin’s, fresh all day)

Because of the location of the room, the street outside is very noisy until at least 2:30am when the bars close. Also, we were woken by the street cleaner at 4am. Our neighbors had problems with the room above them also, but we did not hear any of that…we knew that that room location was noisy going into it…but our neighbors did not and they were VERY ANNOYED!! We just snuggled deep into the covers and dreamed it all away 

Overall, we love this hotel and have already booked for our anniversary later this year. They only real drawback to these rooms is that it is noisy, but everytime we have been there it was been a high season weekend. Our next trip will be low season and a mon-thurs., so I anticipate it will be much quieter. I will update this review once we have taken that trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Appsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The resort is close to everything---restaurants, shopping, sightseeing. The staff is kind and helpful, and they offer sherry and cookies in the afternoon. Loved it. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location is one of the best in this terrific city. It is old and that is what we liked when we stayed there in 2005, but they need to refurbish some things and spruce it up, they have an analog TV in the bedroom, WOW. They did finally get WIFI. Some of the staff need a lesson on smiling.If it were not one of my timeshares I would probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not get the spiral stair case units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#33 of 61 in Charleston
599 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $229 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing