We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Property in the Middle of the Battery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Property in the Middle of the Battery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times over the past years. It never has failed to impress. The courtyard in the center of the property is perfet to sit and relax any time of the day. Most units have at least a microwave and fridge, some with a small kitchen. Being so centrally located on the battery, I don't know why anyone would cook in their room, but the fridge and microwave is great for those leftovers:) Top shelf decor, flat screens in the rooms. Washer and dryer on site and valet parking (small fee) which is a plus on the Battery. Charleston is my favorite place to go for a long weekend, and this place is part of the reason why.

Room Tip: If your room is upstairs, you get less street noise on weekends. The Battery is "alive" q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    126
    47
    27
    25
See reviews for
88
181
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have been here many times. Always enjoy it. Really nice accommodations. Everyone is very pleasant and helpful. Valet parking is convenient since it is so hard to park in that city. It does cost $11/day. Well worth it though. Right in the middle of everything so you can walk off all the good food you dine on here. It is a timeshare property. You will be asked to sit in on an hour(+) presentation in return for a free meal or attraction. You do not have to do this. Unless you are really thinking about buying, you should just find other attraction discounts around town. I don't participate. Also close to folly beach and isle of palms for a good day trip

Room Tip: There is no pool. Can't figure out how to change that above. All rooms are good. Nice to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51Lynn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I had a one bedroom, one bath with a full kitchen. Our room had nice furniture, the bed was comfortable and it had a fireplace in the main room. The inn is beautiful and there is a lovely courtyard outside. From reading reviews we knew we would pull up unload and that we wanted valet parking. Valet parking for non-members is $11.00 per night. What we didn't expect was the ever gracious Rodney. He helped us unload, took our bags upstairs and was a wealth of information. Thank you Rodney! We did get our car and drive to the beach one day and it was very easy to do. We just called the front desk and by the time we got out front the car was there. When we checked in we were told that if we needed tickets or information about town to see the concierge. Even tho Rodney was helpful we thought we would get a few pamplets and ask a few questions. I grabbed the pamplets and the concierge walked over and we were talking about places to eat and things to do and out of the blue while we are still talking she stops me and tells me she is going back to her lunch. I understand about being on a lunch break, but not being so rude. She could have mentioned this before we started talking or she could have said excuse me, but then maybe I am just being picky. In other hotels I have stayed in the concierge is there to help the guest. Other than being left standing it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeKathryn5992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in a (1)br loft,bedroom and bathroom were upstairs,stairs were very small spiral type,no bathroom downstairs,alot of rooms had balconies,but ours did not,If you want a historic place to stay,this would fit,beautiful courtyard,free coffee all day,cookies served at 4pm everyday.There is no parking unless you can find a place on the street.Cars are Valet parking only for the resort and a fee is charged.We stayed 3 nights and never got the car out.Walking distance to everything.No name brand resturants other than Subway across the street.This is a beautiful town with beautiful mansions everywhere.Highly recommend horse carriage ride thru the town.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony,or a ground level courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in a two level suite with a beautiful loft with a king bed upstairs. I'm glad it was just two of us, there is no privacy between the bedroom and pullout couch. Interesting to have a formal dining room in this suite.We parked the first night in the midst of a TON of people. Downsides, we were told to park in the middle of the street and get our stuff out of the car (with no help) and leave it there. If we had the children with us, I would have been livid. The next morning we used the washer and dryer area. There were two of each, with one washer broken and the other in use. Waited until the washer was empty and it took over an hour to do one load. It literally stopped and flashed for 20 minutes. The second load stopped altogether. My husband gave the lid a "gentle nudge" and it finally finished spinning so we could at least remove the clothes from the machine. Upsides - We didn't touch the car until we left, walking all around the city. Beautiful area. Excellent food!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved this place. Quiet, private townhouse. Nice city for relaxing. Rainbow road is neat. Old cobble stone roads. Horse drawn carriage rides. Market is right beside the alley inn. are grits, first time w shrimp...ymmv.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catwamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our first time to Charleston and we stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn because my sister is an owner with Bluegreen Resorts. When the reservation was made, all they had left were what they call a "studio", so I was a bit apprehensive. I mean, we all know what comes to mind when I hear "studio"....small. I have to tell you, get that out of your mind with these studios. It was "fabulous". It is downtown Charleston and in the perfect location. Also, downtown Charleston is very historic and the Lodge Alley certainly fits in. We walked into our room and saw crown molding, exposed brick, high ceilings and what we thought was looked like original hardwood flooring. Amazing!! Yes, they will want to talk to you about buying into Bluegreen Resorts if you are not an owner, but that is just their job and it is not that big of a deal in the big picture. Plus, we had a small balacony which overlooked the courtyard. Nice. They offer cookies and sherry at 4pm every afternoon. The staff is amazing, so friendly and helpful. Consierge is available to assist with things you might want to do (great recommendations). You need to valet because the is no parking except in public garages downtown. (there is a garage a couple blocks away, but do yourself a favor....valet) I had seen reviews that the valet was slow, we did not experience that at all. If you give them about 15-20 minutes notice it is no problem. Bonus is you are so close to everywhere or anything you want to do. You can park and walk everywhere. In case you can't tell, I highly recommend Lodge Alley Inn if you can stay there.

Room Tip: I was told to either stay in the studio or the 2 bedroom. In the 1 bedrooms, the only difference is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Elliott House Inn
#32 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Property: Lodge Alley Inn
Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing