We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“delightful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lilburn, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delightful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed at the King's Courtyard Inn for our anniversary. It was wonderful! Some reviews said the rooms were too small, but ours was fine. It had some antiques (or good reproductions) with a cozy historic feel. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate, and everything was clean.
The hotel has several small courtyards with fountains where you can sit and eat your breakfast or sip wine at the 5 o'clock tasting. The room price includes a continental breakfast- you can have them bring it to your room if you want. For more money, you can get eggs or french toast or a similar breakfast if you want. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. We also appreciated the free WiFi- we could research our destinations on the internet and make plans prior to going out each day.
The best part was unexpected- we ended up in Room 109, which has a small private courtyard. In the mornings they would bring our breakfast and we would sit in the courtyard and eat it. Not every room has it's own courtyard, so we were lucky to get it. Next time, I will definitely ask for this room again.
The location is another plus for this hotel. The front door exit is about 2 blocks from the Slave Market, and the exit off of the courtyard puts you directly on King Street. We parked our car on arrival and did not get in it again until we left. We were able to do all our sightseeing on foot. Be warned, however- the price of parking ($10/day) will be added onto your bill.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank outandaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    169
    38
    23
    9
See reviews for
92
264
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

We three 60+ ladies stayed here for Spoleto this year. We all thought it was one of the best places we've stayed - and we've been going for years. The staff is engaged, friendly and helpful and they make you feel like they are truly delighted that you're staying with them. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The location couldn't be better - right in the center of the historic district and walking distance to almost everything. We'll definitely stay there next time we go.

  • Liked — the staff really stands out
  • Disliked — the bathrooms are a bit small - but they're offset by the room and the overall experience.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

The staff was at all times considerate and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. I liked the choice of eating in the breakfast room or having your choice of foods brought to your room in the morning. I recommend this hotel to all who would like something centrally located and comfortable.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardennymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

Excellent Location Beauitful room with a fireplace

Staff was good
Breakfast and complimentary wine very nice touch

Only complaint heard street sweepers at 5 am every am

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank gator90gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

A great location with good parking. what more could someone ask for Charleston.

We stayed in Suite 505. It was super!

Two giant rooms, very comfortable.

Friendly staff.

Breakfast and papers.

Good coffee.

Wine tasting.

Priced is a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Colonelrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

We stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn for our 5th wedding anniversary. We were in the Azalea Suite, and loved it. This hotel is for people who appreciate history. It was a beautiful room with a gas fireplace, lovely furnishings. It is an older hotel, which is exactly what we wanted, a hotel that felt historic. If you are looking for cookie cutter, super modern rooms, this is not the right place for you. If you want to experience a piece of history, this inn is perfect. The breakfasts were delicious, the service was very friendly, and our room was beautiful.

  • Liked — Location and historic details, gorgeous room
  • Disliked — Noise from King street, pricey.
  • Tips/Secrets — we brought along a "noise maker" (sound soother) to block out extra noise, worked great!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazcat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

The Kings Courtyard Inn was built in the mid-1800s and refurbished in the 1980s, it is not like staying at your local Marriott Hotel built/renovated in 2006. In fact, there really isn’t any comparison. Our room at Kings Courtyard was well appointed with antiques and thus carried it own old world charm. But the hotel, like most antiques, shows the wear of years of use. Like Grandma’s house the hotel has been lovingly cared for, and cleaned regularly, but it is just not possible to combat some 25 years of frequent use since it‘s refurbishment. The hotel is what it is, a charming, aging antique. Yes, it absolutely could use some serious labor to bring it into the 21st century but for $150 a night (internet rate we paid for a non-smoking standard queen room) you can’t beat the location and character. Our room was very cute, with a four poster bed, fire place, and nice view overlooking King’s street. If you’re looking for a slick, posh, shiny, new hotel, you will probably not enjoy your stay. If you enjoy antiques, old world charm, friendly but relaxed service, and don’t mind a little discolored grout in a 1980’s bathroom you’ll be just fine. One has to be realistic, given its perfect downtown location if the Kings Courtyard was brand spanking new I know I wouldn’t have been able to afford it. In all I very much enjoyed my stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dizzy_Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing