We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay when visiting Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A friend and I went to Charleston for a girl's trip. We stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn and it was perfect. The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable! The bathroom was updated and had a great shower. The continental breakfast is actually an order from the menu deal. It exceeded expectations. The wine and cheese reception was the perfect way to end a day of shopping. The hotel has an ideal location so that one can easily walk the shopping and historic sections of the city without having to worry about finding parking. This is a great hotel and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was quiet and away from foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TravelingGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Kings Courtyard Inn for your girls getaway. One of the best ways to explore Charleston is by foot and our central location makes for the perfect starting point. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and evening wine reception; they are two of our favorite traditions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel because the reviews on TripAdvisor rated it very high--we wanted an awesome historic hotel right in the heart of Charleston. We were celebrating our honeymoon and wanted an unique place to stay while enjoying the area. The hotel is located on one of the most popular streets, King Street, that's filled with great shops and restaurants. We were in great walking distance to mostly everything which was super convenient. The hotel itself is gorgeous on the outside, however the rooms weren't very impressive at all. There's "historic and charming" and then there is dated which our room felt like from the moment we walked in. It needs to be updated. Our bed was horrible in that the headboard creaks with the slightest movement and you can hear the people who share the wall with you. We could hear all sounds outside the room at night from people talking in the courtyard, slamming doors, and the staff rudely dropping newspapers on everyone's doorsteps at 6am. We had high expectations for the complimentary breakfast and wine/cheese cocktail hour that's included with the room. The cocktail hour in the evening is a great idea; it's a fun way to interact with other guests staying at the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very disappointing compared to what is available at a commercial hotel like Hampton Inn. They totally skimp by having you "order" it and they bring it to you as opposed to it being a buffet that allows you to select and choose the items you want. If you want a "full" breakfast they recommend you go next door to a restaurant that offers it--which is affiliated with the hotel. We chose to eat breakfast elsewhere for the remainder of our vacation so we could have a real meal. The staff who works overnight at the front desk is extremely rude. Two days in a row, my husband went for an early morning run and asked the staff to hold his key; she told him that they don't that sort of thing and was trying to brush him off. Eventually she took the key, but made it well known that each time she didn't want to do it. You have to pay for parking each day which is an added expense. Overall, we wouldn't stay here again--$200 plus a night, didn't feel like we got our money's worth and overall just mediocre accommodations. We paid for the location. Next time in Charleston, we will look in to the nearby inns and hotels which may offer better accommodations and amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our inn as well as our complimentary wine and cheese hour. I sincerely apologize that you were displeased with your room and I am sorry that other guests disturbed your stay. The situation with leaving your key has already been corrected. Be assured, we have followed up with your other issues so we can provide 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

While returning home to Florida from a road trip up north, we made a last minute decision to stop in Charleston. Went to the Travel Zoo website, where we found this amazing hotel at a great price. It is located in the historic downtown section of Charleston. Walking distance to many of the tourist attractions as well as the open-air market. Nice, clean room with a king canopy bed. WiFi worked well in the room. Free wine and cheese at 5:00pm was a nice touch. Continental breakfast is actually served to you .... no buffet line to pick through. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They booked a city tour for us, with pick-up at the hotel. Very convenient. Many nice restaurant choices in the immediate area. If we return to Charleston, we will definitely stay at Kings Courtyard Inn !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsander830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I got a special deal from travelocity for this hotel and went on a spur of the moment trip to Charleston. Our room was on the ground floor just off the courtyard but pretty quiet most of the time. The bed was a comfortable king so high up I had steps on my side!! The bathroom was very clean and the decor was SO charming.
The complimentary breakfast was light and pretty healthy served either in the small dining area or even delivered to your door. One of our two nights we went to the wine and cheese hour & I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The location was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see, but it was nice to know that the pay parking lot (which is in the back of the inn) allowed you to come and go as needed.
A nice place for a romantic getaway & a good deal for being in the center of it all!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCLibrarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed a relaxing, five-star stay, as that is exactly what our staff strives to deliver. The complimentary breakfast and wine & cheese hour are two things that we love to offer our guests. We are glad that you found our inn to be charming and romantic and we look forward to your future visits.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were in Charleston for a night in July and had no place to stay. Found this hotel by using the app Hotel Tonight. Decided to give it a try. When I walked in the door, I knew it was going to be special. Old, historic hotel. Room had a comfortable king canopy bed - just beautiful. A pleasant surprise was the wine and cheese that was served in the courtyard at 5 pm. There was also a wonderful Continental breakfast. The hotel is located right on King Street where there is lots of shopping and within walking distance to restaurants and attractions. This is the kind of place you want to stay in when you are visiting a historic town like Charleston!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Smert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The good: 1) the location is outstanding - right in the middle of everything, 2) the continental breakfast was more than adequate to meet our morning hunger pains, and a special shout-out to Takia who has an absolutely amazing memory for the orders of her breakfast customers, 3) the wi-fi worked well and was free, 4) it's a cool historic building with very charming courtyards and a European feel, 5) Thanks for the free wine and cheese hour! I'm happy the hotel provided that service -- it's something relatively easy for them to do, and it was much appreciated by this guest.

The not-so-good: I will preface this by saying that we were assigned to a ground floor room, so I can't speak for the upper floors, but in terms of our room, 1) the bathroom was not clean, and at times, I hesitated to use it because of the visible dirt/stains, 2) Our air conditioner didn't work as well as it could have, and we were alternately freezing or too warm, which created very uncomfortable sleeping conditions, 3) the ground floor was quite noisy at times, and 4) the entire room felt musty and a little rundown -- it needed a bit of renovation, love, and attention from the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Rugbythai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Imagine waking up in one of the country's most charming cities...walking out your door and being in the center of the finest street. Staying here was wonderful, from the served-to-you Continental breakfast to the 5 p.m. wine and cheese break, to the picturesque courtyard, stately lobby, and the friendly, helpful staff (callouts to Wyatt and intern Anthony). Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. That aside, if you happen to have furry family members that you travel with, that is the icing on the cake. A historic, pet-friendly place to stay that felt more like a travel back in time. I will definitely be staying here again upon our return to Charleston. Thank you, Kings Courtyard Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bondgirl007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
664 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
709 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $191 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing