We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for our 15th anniversary, and it was just perfect! So romantic and a wonderful location! The service was great, and we especially enjoyed the evening wine & cheese and breakfast each morning. Anthony provided us with great service during the wine & cheese reception. We also received an anniversary note and champagne as a nice surprise! :)
The rooms are large and our bed had a beautiful canopy! The staff is very helpful and accommodating as well.
You can't go wrong with the Kings Courtyard Inn or any of the other Charming Inns, I'm sure.
Looking forward to a return trip soon with our daughter.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard that overlooked the courtyard which was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AReilly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Happy Anniversary! We are delighted to have been part of such a wonderful occasion as we love to give our guests little surprises to help celebrate. Our complimentary wine and cheese hour is a great way to wind down from a busy day exploring all that Charleston’s historic city has to offer. We appreciate your recommendation of the Kings Courtyard Inn as well as Charming Inns other historic properties. We look forward to spending many more special occasions with you and your family.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    180
    40
    23
    9
See reviews for
95
284
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I are planning a trip to Charleston, and made reservations at this hotel. We have not stayed there yet, but based on our initial interaction with Giovanna the trip will be amazing. She was extremely helpful booking our room, and was extremely patient with my many questions.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rach498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Kings Courtyard Inn. The inn and rooms are beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. The staff is excellent - very friendly and helpful. They were able to answer all questions and make recommendations on restaurants to try and sites to visit. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Our team strives to provide each guest with an excellent stay and a unique Charleston experience. We are thrilled to read that you had such a lovely stay. We look forward you your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed there with a friend during Spoleto festival 2014 - we wanted separate rooms but adjoining so their 2-room suite was ideal. Parking is reasonable and available and right outside the door. Breakfast is included and can be delivered to the room if you wish. All the room details were great - we each had a separate bathroom, there was comfortable seating for reading with plenty of lamps. Decor was old-fashioned Charleston style. Minor issues: the a/c in my room blew directly on the bed which made it chilly. Also had a slight hot water problem only the last day. No other complaints. They serve wine and cheese from 5-6 and sherry is available later, help yourself. Walking distance to the market and many fine restaurants in addition to several of the Spoleto venues including the Dock Street theatre. I did a ton of research to find just the right place and I would choose this one again. For 2 full rooms and baths in downtown Charleston the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotTooFussySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to take a quick trip to Charleston being our first time there we had no idea where to stay. We stumbled on the kings courtyard inn and loved it we would definitely go back. It's a little high on the rates but comparable to everything around it. The only thing we didn't like was the night time desk operator he always had his headphone's in and paid no attention to anyone that walked in and got a little upset if you asked him anything if they replaced him it would be a perfect place to stay all the way around. The rest of the staff was amazing and the rooms are very nice. They offer a complimentary cheese and wine on the weekend all in all we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown. Perfect location to walk and see Charleston. The staff was all exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Good wine flowed freely during the Happy Hour.
The hotel is old, but kept up. Not totally modernized (remember historic)
The 2 courtyards were really pleasant places to enjoy the wine or eat breakfast.
We definitely would recommend the Kings Courtyard Inn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madjack247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elliott House Inn
#32 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing